We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“maybe teh best in town but poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Shangri-La County
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“maybe teh best in town but poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

we had a two night stay in the hotel while touring China. The hotel rooms were very good but after that everything else was disappointing, teh breakfast buffet was the worst we had in China and noone spoke enough English to be helpful in teh hotel. The a/c could not be regulated despite the fact it was below freezing outside so I ended up stuffing a twoel in the vent to stop
the draft. People tried to be helpful but were short of trainig and supervision

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    55
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel gives you a very good impression when you step into its lobby, very very spacious and nature-like.

The room is clean and comfortable. It is almost among the very few hotels that in the bathroom it was outfitted with a wonderful take away convenience package, one each for lady and one for man! So thoughful. They also provide detergent for washing your clothes (I almost mistook it for bathing salt and poured it into the bath tub thinking I'd have a wonder bath!!).

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the cafe on the ground floor very much. Different kinds of food are located in separate areas so there won't be congestion when too many hotel guests show up at the same time. They also serve very good ginger tea (in area outside the cafe closer to the swimming pool). This is especially nice in winter and wet weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwcng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We traveled from Lijiang via Shugu and Tiger Leaping Gorge to Shangri-la, better known as Zhongdian. (A few years ago, we understand that the Chinese decided to promote tourism in this area and designated the town of Zhongdian as "Shangri-La". I believe there is competition for this designation though!)

Checking in, we thought the lobby novel, particularly the floor. We were assigned a nice room that was situated around a large atrium with lots of plants (and a swimming pool with water that looked green so we didn't try it). The room was modern with a nice bathroom with a separate tub and shower. The hotel provided lots of thoughtful amenities and touches, which impressed us both. The construction is not 5-star though with a large crack above the sink, etc.

After dropping off our luggage, we headed to the old town, which was within easy walking distance of the hotel. The old town is touristy and fun and influenced by the Tibetans and other minorities who live in Zhongdian. We especially enjoyed visiting the Tea-Horse Museum to look at the photos and read about the Tea Horse Road, which for years was the main link between China and Tibet.

One of the highlights, among many, on our walk around Zhongdian was seeing the locals exercise in front of a big red building that will soon house a new museum. They moved around in a circle, all performing the same moves to local music. We had seen this elsewhere but the display in Shangri-la was charming and the best. We must have watched them for at least an hour.

We had stopped at a local bakery to pick up some treats, and when we arrived about 9pm at the hotel, we noticed that they offered complimentary tea. We sat down with the intention of having a single cup of tea, but the ginger tea was so amazingly delicious that I must have had three cups. Wish we could do that again, especially with the same goodies from the local bakery. Walking around Zhongdian, wandering around the streets of the old town, watching the locals exercise/dance, and drinking ginger tea with local bakery treats made a memorable afternoon and evening. And it was nice to return to our very pleasant room where we both slept well.

Breakfast was buffet-style with a large variety of food. Service was gracious and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Paradise hotel is on a main thoroughfare in Shangri-La in an area referred to as new town. It's near to colorful but shabby shops that cater to the local population. It is very convenient to old town and about 20 minutes drive from the Buddhist monastery. The rooms are spacious, and have a lounging area under the window, where you can enjoy in-room tea or coffee. Unfortunately it does not offer king size beds. In our room there were 2 twin-sized beds, which fit snugly between the room walls, and there was a rather peculiar raised platform, about 12 inches high, between the beds, making it difficult to get into and out of bed. There was a rug on the platform, so one might assume that this was a step to get into bed, but I found it a hindrance rather than useful, and had to use the foot of the bed to get in and out. There were a number of English channels on TV including HBO. There was also a safe, a blowdryer and a small refrigerator in the room, obviously intended for our use, as there was no mini bar stock inside. They also provided lovely plush bathrobes and bathroom slippers. There were at least 4 outlets for guest use, and they were configured for all plugs without the need for an adapters. The bathroom was outfitted with a wonderful take away convenience package, like the ones you get in business class on international flights, with a toothbrush, toothpaste, Q-tips, an emory board, comb, razor and shaving cream, lip balm, sleeping mask, and a shower cap. The one fail grade was that the shower floor was treacherously slippery you had to be careful never to step off of the rubber mat. On the plus side, this hotel has the distinction if being the only place I have ever stayed that provides laundry soap powder so we can wash our unmentionables while on the road for an extended period. Kudos for their thoughtfulness. While we were there the daytime temps got up to the high 70's. The AC was on, but not at all effective. I opened the window at night and enjoyed the fresh crisp air, but not the noise from the busy street below and the locals who seemed to think that their loud 4 AM conversations in the parking lot below couldn't possibly disturb anyone. The hotel's common areas are large and spacious, and in the lobby there is free wifi and a delicious complimentary ginger tea that is good for adjusting to altitude. Breakfast fare is both Asian and Western and I thought it was pretty decent. The menu for lunch/dinner is extensive. We tried the roasted yak with mint, the spicy Mapo tofu, and their house fried rice. It was truly delicious, but we needed our interpreter to do our ordering as the wait staff understand only rudimentary English. After the meal we had to pay in cash as they do not allow you to pay with a credit card or charge the meal to the room bill. In the lobby there is a nice gift shop with pretty reasonable prices... Be prepared to pay the price on the tag, as it was fix pricing with no bargaining. The hotel has a beautiful indoor pool at the back oft the lobby areas but the water was cold ...though some hardier Europeans braved it and swam. I didn't. This hotel is truly delightful place to stay. The location is a pleasant place to stay if making your way to Tibet and looking for a location with an intermediate altitude to get slowly acclimated.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool. Rooms that overlook the parking lot or restaurant are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kafayolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean and staff was great.

We arrived at night and the heaters were on throughout the massive lobby. In the room, which was lovely, the room was very hot. Now in November it was minus Celsius outside. The bathroom looked like a fish tank. It was all glassed in. The bathroom only had a shower. Interesting toiletries, I thought the jar of soap was for humans it was detergent for your clothes. They had a nice pouch full of anything you need. Rooms were very clean.

There was oxygen in case of emergencies. You are at a very high altitude so you may feel ill. They say not to take a hot bath or shower at this height. Try to take warm to cool. You can tell if you are severing from the altitude by looking at your finger nails. If they look blue you have it. Avoid alcohol, slow your pace, drink lots of water and eat a piece of chocolate.


The breakfast buffets were massive and had a choice between Asian or western. Only problem was the rooms were so cold. No heaters this morning. Being so cold the food was not very hot. Also lots of tourist the food run low. I should have got there a bit earlier.

The neighbourhood was quiet and you can see lots of stars at night.

A wonderful experience!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luciab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I fell in love with Shangri-La, so I feel like I was in a honeymoon stage with everything I encountered while here. The Paradise Hotel, was a pleasant stay, but I could see why some people would have higher expectations. The hotel is a little rough around the edges, yes, the carpet had some stains the view out our window wasn't the best, but other than that, it was clean and very welcoming. The pool was ice cold - so no chance of anyone taking a swim. The breakfast was HUGE. I don't know how anyone could have tried everything. The little touches the room had made a big difference. We would stay there again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herzeliyal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel gives a special nice feeling in its public areas , wich most of them are covered with a high transparent ceiling .We got a room on ground floor , wich was very nice and comfortable ,with generous equipment for everything needed to please the guest . the only minor comment regards the bathroom door that can't be closed perfectly , so it might be unpleasent for those not familliar enough with teir partner . The room maintanance service us excellent .
Breakfast was diapointing in quality and service as well .
Wifi is free but it's available only in public areas .
Unfotunately my wife needed a number of oxygen supply wich she got in the " oxygen - bar " ' close to our room. the service was available 24 hrs , and due to a charge of 30 yuan ( 5 $ ) , for 20 minutes .
The hotel is very well located at the city cebter/

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerzeliyalJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.3 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#1 of 159 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#2 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.5 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-la Old Town Hotel
Shangri-la Old Town Hotel
#25 of 159 in Shangri-La County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Property: Paradise Hotel
Address: No.165 Changzheng Avenue, Jiantang Zhen, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing