We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name (Paradise)”
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Reviewed 6 June 2007

This hotel's English name is Paradise Hotel, and it does live up to the name. I was a plush option before going to Tibet.

ROOMS: Rooms are spacious and decorated in a modern, minimalist style. They are also extremely clean, including the bathrooms. The bathrooms even have a nifty glass shower door that doubles as a bathroom door. Bathrooms come with both showers and tubs.

My only complaint is that if you're not traveling with your spouse, the bathroom situation can be awkward since the glass door doesn't provide much privacy.

LOCATION: This hotel is about a 30-minute walk, 15-minute bus ride, or 7-minute taxi ride to the Old Town.

There are a lot of small restaurants and shops nearby.

STAFF: I had only limited interaction with the staff, so I didn't notice anything particular good or bad about their service.

FOOD: The hotel restaurant is really good. We had dinner and breakfast there, and the dinner was one of the best I had in Yunnan. The dishes have interesting twists to them that you don't see in standard hotel restaurants.

MISC: You might experience some altitude sickness in Shangri-la, so be sure to rest up and drink water.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madridtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2006

Judging from the interior deco, Tian Jie is indeed a 5-star hotel. Greenery abound in this enclosed garden set around the hotel. Very pretty. I only spent a night there and did not manage to try the oxygen bar (sounds like a god-send for many who suffer from altitude-sickness there) The breakfast isn't that great (perhaps our appetites are affected by the altitude)
Generally a nice hotel with friendly staff. I remember smiles wherever I go.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tseblevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 重其 吳
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank タビスキーレディ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 9 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 11 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
1.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 177 in Shangri-La County
84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 177 in Shangri-La County
349 reviews
6.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 177 in Shangri-La County
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#7 of 177 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#5 of 177 in Shangri-La County
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
#6 of 177 in Shangri-La County
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Address: No.165 Changzheng Avenue, Jiantang Zhen, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing