We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lengthy waste of time in our opinion.”

Potatso National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lengthy waste of time in our opinion.”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Maybe it was because we didn't opt for the boat tour or do more hiking by foot, but for all the hype and promotion of the many species here, all we saw were Yaks. Also the bus that carries you around the massive grounds is blasting Mandarin music so loudly that even those who understood it seemed annoyed. They also drove so fast around curves we were worried we would flip over. It is a nice park, but if you've been to other national parks anywhere in the world, it's beauty is nothing notable. The explanation for our dismal experience may have been that we weren't there at the peak season for either the floral blossoms or bird migrations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharif_K_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    105
    46
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurants inside park closed”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Lovely scenery. Reminded me of Scottish highlands - but think that may have been due to the time of year. It was off-season, flakes of snow and food only available at park entrance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chicoofruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Price Deter You”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

190RMB!!! What?? The price is high, but the park is absolutely beautiful and worth it. Seasoned hikers may be put off by the flat and "touristic" trails, but these exist because they really want to preserve this place (gutting the lake boat would help too). If you aren't too put off by the "organized" travel involved inside this park eg hopping on and off a bus provided in your ticket, then this place is worth it. It is quiet, serene, and absent of tour groups with loud speakers.

We got a taxi to the park and back for 120 including some stop overs on the way back. When they ask you if you have oxygen just say yes its in your bag. If you really feel the need to join this oxygen scam your hotel has some or you can buy it cheap in Shangrila town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do not go in the Winter if it's not snowing”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We went in Jan and it's really sad scenery to see if it's not snowing.

Very expensive and not worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great park at high altitude (3000+)”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One thing that will never stop to amaze me: the tibetan plateau looks very much like the alps, but the alps 2000m higher than they are in Europe. This national park is a great place to spend a day to see the gorgeous scenery. Lakes, hills, herds of yaks, it all looks like the european alps... just that it is well above 3000m where in Europe you would not see trees anymore but just rocks and small vegetation. Here it is very fertile and wet terrain, with beautiful mountain flowers, trees and in autumn you gonna get the great colours of autumn. Lovely for a day, there is a service of bus in the park (it's unrealistic to consider walking through it without the bus) but there is already enough to walk. You'd better take food and water with you as there is little available in the park (though that might change in the future as they were some work going on when I was there).
You should be aware of the high altitude which might cause altitude sickness to some.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potatso National Park also viewed

 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Potatso National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing