We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat”

Su Barchile Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 53 Restaurants in Orosei
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Visited this restaurant in July 2013 and actually went twice during a 5 day stay in Orosei.

The first time we visited we found the food to be very good and we also enjoyed the ambience of the little roof terrace where dinner was served. Service was attentive but I feel the maitre'd may be a little like marmite - you either love him or hate him. Unfortunately we were in the latter group but that did not deter us from returning to eat there a second time when again the food was good.

Had S'hostera been in a better setting then we would have definitely gone there twice instead of this place. If you are in Orosei for a few days then this place is worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    87
    52
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
157 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little over-estimated”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Went there because of the reviews and though the experience was in no way bad, it was far from being one of our favorites in Sardinia.
Positives: Kind, funny & trilingual waiter. He was great. Creative food, I'll give them that. The Black Ravioli with bottarga was good. Great wine & Beer List.
Negatives: I am vacation and patient in general but the service was way too long. I didn't complain or anything but did wait 2h30 for two dishes. It did discourage us from trying the desserts.
The creativity was a little over the top for us - I guess it's not what we were looking for on this trip.
Finally: It was our most expensive meal by a big margin in ten days in Sardinia. Not yet Paris/London prices but 20-30% more than any other meals on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliep14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Found the servers snobby and annoying. When we asked about an appetizer the table over was having, we were told it was only for those who had reserved beforehand. Picked another starter only to be told they were out. Good food but the service left a bad taste in my mouth.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lar0chefoucauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orosei, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class in all senses”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I know Hotel Ristorante Su Barchile from 1986, had countless lunches and dinners there and it is still my absolute favorite regarding dining with style and a exclusive, exceptional creative cuisine in Sardinia.
Not only the Restaurant is beautiful done up, the terrace on the first floor is a relaxing space for dinner, whe wine cellar is filled with the best wines from Sardinia and Italy, Antonella and Peppe the owners are excellent waiters and councelors regarding the dishes and the wines.

Helpful?
4 Thank SardiniaDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service and people”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I met the owners when we arrived. This was our second night in Sardinia and after flying from the state we were exhausted. We stayed at the bed and breakfast and decided to dine their as well. The wait staff recommended some great food options for us. The seating outside is lovely!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yancyamm0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Su Barchile Restaurant also viewed

Orosei, Province of Nuoro
Orosei, Province of Nuoro
 
Orosei, Province of Nuoro
 
Orosei, Province of Nuoro
 

Been to Su Barchile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing