We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Orosei, Province of Nuoro, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anne9911
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Accommodation with great potential but... disappointing”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had a disappointing experience at Case Vacanza Gli Ulivi overall. This is rather unfortunate because this accommodation has great potential. It's in a fantastic part of Sardinia with lovely beaches a short drive from the accommodation. The owner and manager, Sergio, means well and certainly works very hard, but perhaps needs to be a bit more organized regarding the management of the property and needs a bit more attention to detail.

To paint the picture, here are just some of the things that happened while we were there:

1. We didn't have a great start. The apartment we had booked was unavailable when we arrived due to damage by the guests before us according to Sergio. We were relocated to a smaller, temporary apartment in the complex on arrival with one less bedroom, which meant having a camp bed by the front door for one of our guests. We were told that the apartment we had booked would be available on Monday. Then, the next day, we were told there was a mistake - Sergio got the other guests' departure date wrong - and we would be in the temporary apartment until Wednesday. We didn't have a lot of faith we were going to receive the accommodation we had paid for. We couldn't even unpack properly because we were in the temporary 'holding' apartment. To be fair, Sergio tried to make it right for us, but we missed out on the equivalent of two days of our holiday with having to move twice and sort out what was happening on a daily basis.

2. The chairs on the balcony in our 'temporary' apartment were in a bad state of repair on our arrival, one of them was clearly falling apart. On the first day we were there, one chair broke when an elderly gentleman in our group sat on it, causing him to injure his leg and his back. When we reported this to Sergio, he said this was a known problem with the chairs and this had happened to someone before. We were surprised that, knowing this, the chairs were kept in the apartment.

3. The kitchen in the second apartment was not well provisioned. For example there were not enough bowls and cutlery for a group of six people.

4. As soon as we moved to the second apartment, the lift broke down. We selected the apartment specifically because one of our group is elderly and needed to avoid stairs, but then we found ourselves on the second floor of the building with no other option. Sergio had it repaired as quickly as possible, but it was out of action for nearly two days.

Points about the property to know:

A. The actual building is divided between two companies, the other company is Holiday Residence Rifugio. Specifically, the pool area is shared between guests from both holiday apartment companies. This wasn't a problem for us, just a surprise. The pool opening times were 9.30 to 13.00 and 15.30 to 19.30 while we were there.

B. The wifi times out every 15 minutes at this accommodation. This was a unnecessary annoyance and restricted the remote work we could get done while we were away.

C. The apartment we stayed in was not the one pictured here. We had the apartment next door with a much smaller balcony. Felt like bait-and-switch. Worth confirming the actual apartment in the booking process.

D. The description here says that the apartment is 800m from the sea. Not sure how they are measuring this! We measured the distance to the nearest beach with the car (Marina di Orosei), and it agreed with the Google maps measurement of 1.7km. When we inquired about the "shuttle to the beaches", Sergio basically said we would need to drive, so if this is important, it might be best to clarify this with him in advance.

E. The nearest beach, Marina di Orosei, is not very suitable for young children as it drops off quickly (very little shallow area). There are two beaches near Orosei which are great for young children though, Cala Liberotto and Cala Ginepro, but these are about a 15 minute drive away.

F. It's not possible for an adult to stand up in the upstairs/mezzanine bedroom of the three bed apartment.

Having said all of this, this property does have a great deal going for it. Some of the good points:

1. Great beach towels
2. The apartment comes with beach chairs and umbrellas for you to use
3. Very comfortable beds
4. Well-located for Orosei (walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets, and the town center)
5. Underground car parking
6. Washing machines in the apartments

With a bit more attention to detail, this may be a very nice place to stay in the future. Very good luck to Sergio and our thanks to him to try to make our holiday as pleasant as possible under the circumstances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beaches north of Orosei, Cala Liberotto and Cala Ginepro, and the pool
Liked least: The stress and surprises
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fahealy
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently stayed in one of the apartments in Gli Ulivi as a family and had a great holiday there. On arrival, the proprietor Sergio gave us a warm welcome and presented us with a bottle of wine and biscuits.The apartment was clean and well equipped, overlooking the swimming pool as described on the website. Towels and beach towels were provided which meant that we didn't have to bring our own. The nearest beach is within walking distance of the complex, it is great for swimmers as it is deep but not recommended for young children. We bought locally grown fruit and vegetables daily from a little shop next door. I would like to mention that there are underground garages for cars and plenty of car spaces opposite the block of flats. We highly recommend Case Vacanza Gli Ulivi and were sad to leave it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and swimming pool
Liked least: the mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heyMa611
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Orosei. From the moment we arrived, we were very impressed with the brand new facilities and the effort of the staff to make us feel comfortable.

We stayed in the Via del Mare location which was newly renovated and well kept, from the lobby and elevator to the entirety of our apartment unit. We loved the charming but simple deco!

We also appreciated all the included conveniences which gave us less to worry about and allowed us to get on with the business of vacationing!: underground parking garage, free and reliable Wifi, ample supply of beach and bath towels, outdoor balcony, and a small outdoor shower on the terrace to rinse off. We were even greeted with a welcome bag that included a bottle of local wine, some sweets, and fresh fruit in the kitchen.

Communication was excellent. We landed in the morning and asked if there was a possibility to check in early. We were told that there was a family checking out that morning, but they would make sure to have the room cleaned and prepared for our early check in. Sure enough, we received a phone call on our drive down from the airport saying they were ready for us.

Because of the mild May weather, we didn't take advantage of the pool or the beach in Orosei, but we did walk to the nearby supermarket and local restaurants almost every day. Otherwise, we had some excursions booked in Cala Gonone, about a 35 minute drive away.

Thank you, Sergio! We highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhalkjaer
Aarhus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice appartment”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely stay with Case Vacanza Gli Ulivi. Very nice location, an excellent balcony with plenty of room for all seven of us, good restaurants nearby. The pictures show the place as it is. Only minus for our family was that the beach in Oresei is not very child friendly, but we quickly found a nice beach in Cala Ginepro - a 10-15 minute drive away.

Holidaylettings says this is not a child friendly appartment, but this is a mistake. It is very childfriendly - it is even possible to borrow a childrens bed and chair without extra charge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BengaliBi...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTICO!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as a couple in June and stayed in Case Vacanza Gli Ulivi at Via del Mare in Orosei for 1 week. We hired a car from Hertz at the airport and found the experience very good and it took us over an hour to reach our accommodation. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Sergio who owns the apartments and were shown where to park (your own garage space) and where our studio apartment was. My partner was a little worried on arrival due to the lack of air conditioning however the rooms are so cool and with a sea breeze that we didn’t miss it. If anything we were pulling the sheets up to our necks whilst sleeping! The studio was very clean, quiet, bright and had everything we could need. Fridge/freezer, pots, pans, cutlery, toaster, and much more were supplied. We were treated to a bottle of wine, olive oil, fruit and a selection of delicious Sardinian biscuits. Sergio told us that a beach umbrella, beach loungers and towels were provided which was fantastic. We used them for our daily trips to the beach. There were so many beaches that we could go to but we returned to our favourite, Cala Osala, approximately 6k from the apartments. The beach is beautiful; crystal clear water perfect for snorkelling and is mainly where the local Sardinians go. The busy periods at the beach are on Saturday and Sunday when the locals enjoy their weekends. There is a beach closer than Osala with a stretch of fine sand and is only 10 minutes walk from the apartments. It is manned with a lifeguard and restaurants.

There is a small fruit and veg shop immediately next to the apartments in which the lady sells her own produce. The fruit was delicious! We ate watermelon, apricots, nectarines, cherries, plums and figs for our lunch every day. The fruits are so meaty that we didn’t need much more! In the evenings we enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and drinking local Sardinian wine. After dinner we walked into the centre and soaked in the atmosphere and ate lots of gelato! The streets are very safe with friends and family enjoying the warm evenings.

The Sardinian people are super friendly none more so than Sergio. He was so welcoming, answered all our questions, phoned places to get correct information for us and made us feel like we were right at home. Sergio, his wife Alessandra and his staff’s personal touches made our holiday very special. We will definitely return to Case Vacanza Gli Ulivi. We visited Cala Gonone, Olbia and Costa Smerelda and feel that Orosei is the best location in the East coast of Sardinia.

Tips: Have lots of gelato and local fruits and veg. the wine, beer and the whiskey is fantastic as is the amaretto biscuit. If you plan to visit different beaches and places then you definitely need a car (petrol prices are expensive though).
We would recommend to go April-June and September- October as it is quieter without mass Italians holidaying from the mainland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sergio's service and hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDini
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply amazing - this is the place to be!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot rave enough about the Gli Ulivi where my boyfriend and I spent an amazing week. Gli Ulivi has three different houses with apartments. I have seen two of them which both were absolutely stunning (Via del Mare is their newest location with pool and close to the sea while Piricone is a 5mins drive from the center in the countryside). We decided to stay in an apartment at the Piricone location which located in the middle of a field of olive trees. The setting is beautiful and it features a huge grill and a big veranda with a table and a couch. The apartment is newly renovated with beautiful furniture in the Sardinian style. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. Sergio (the owner of Gli Ulivi) is extremely helpful and friendly; he takes great care of his guests and anything they need. If you look for an apartment for your vacation, you found the place to be in Orosei! We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing