We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternate to Milano hotel”
Review of Residence Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Principe
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Brockway PA USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alternate to Milano hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

On a bicycle tour ending with a flight back to the USA from Milano's Malpensa Airport. I chanced upon this small city and very handy hotel.
Hotel is reasonably priced and just 150 meters from the Saranno train station. This station is on a major regional rail line with frequent direct service to Malpensa Airport and in the other direction numerous hourly trains directly to Milan. Oct 2012 the 2nd class fare to Milan is €2.75 one way. The one draw back is that a bit of back tracking would be needed if arriving on InterCity or international services at Milan. Not a problem. Just take the Malpensa Express towards the airport with a ticket for Saronno.
Hotel has excellent breakfast and nice evening restaurant. Staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetrudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
8
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

So, in general I'm sharing another reviews about this hotel, as a middle-class transit hotel for a temporary staying for a couple of days..In the past it was a famous restaurant with a fantastic food,where all people around were coming for a dinner...Also it was a problem for us, living in the hotel, to find a place for dinner in the restaurant..Then the stuff in the restaurant was changed and the food quality decreased..What I can say more ? The room quality depends on it's location - somewhere it's better, somewhere is worse...Internet connection - same situation...Service, cleaning, reception - at acceptable level..No other options , like gym or billiard, are forseen there...But....the ladies - both sisters owning the hotel ( this is a family business ) are very smart and charming..Usually they help at the reception or in the restaurant , and, honestly,I'm ready to excuse half of the discomfort there for their nice smiling....You can ask, if I'm still prefer to stay in this hotel in Saronno ? The answer you can find in my review about the Starhotels Grand Milano residence..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_mow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel on our last night in Italy since it was very convenient for early morning train to Malpensa next morning. Hotel is a 3 minute walk to train station where train ride is 15-20 mins to Malpensa. We arrived early afternoon and were not happy with the room. Room was not in main hotel building but rather in an annex across the courtyard on the road. Room was on first floor and felt unsafe because someone could have walked in from street without going past front-desk. Other than the toilet, the room was not up-to-date or well maintained. Old curtains, bed spread and furniture made it look and smell very dungey. There was a bad odor coming from the bathroom (had to sleep with bathroom door closed and windows open) and there was mold in tile grout. We asked to see another room but were told hotel was fully booked and all rooms were already occupied. When we ask about a better room, they said to not book through the internet and contact the hotel directly to request room in main hotel. We could not confirm the condition of other rooms. Breakfast was early (6:30am) and more than adequate.

The main drag near the Duomo is nice but small. Didn't see too many restaurants that were open or appealing so we headed to Como (30-40 min train ride) for our last evening meal and to be away from the room as long as possible. I would be willing to try out a room in the main building hoping it's much nicer because of the ideal location (can quickly get to
Malpensa, Como or Milan), however, I don't think my wife would be coming along.

Perhaps someone can comment on the quality of the rooms in the main hotel building in their reviews.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFdaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saronno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was a good, basic hotel with friendly service. It was very convenient to the train line and far away enough from Milan to be quiet and reasonably priced. It was also nice to have an on-site restaurant where we could get a nice meal without having to travel more while being jet-lagged to the max! The restaurant was a bit on the pricey side for the food, but it worked well for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel at the beginning of the trip and another 2 nights at the end of the dolomites Motorcycle Tour with CIMT. The hotel is pretty decent and just 3 minutes walk from The staion. A trip to Milan is only 20 mins away by train. Town centre is another 3 minutes walk away in the other direction. The bed is comfortable enough with working AC. Toilet is tiny but clean. Staff were friendly. There was a computer connected to the internet in the lobby for guest use. It was extremely hot and humid outside in July. The rooms were about 70 Euro/night which is a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokhtars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saronno
0.3 mi away
Starhotels Grand Milan
Starhotels Grand Milan
#1 of 6 in Saronno
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cyrano
Hotel Cyrano
#5 of 6 in Saronno
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pioppeto Saronno
Hotel Pioppeto Saronno
#2 of 6 in Saronno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Della Rotonda
Hotel Della Rotonda
#3 of 6 in Saronno
221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Concorde Fiera
Hotel Concorde Fiera
#1 of 1 in Gerenzano
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fourooms Le Camere Del Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Principe

Property: Residence Principe
Address: Via Caduti della Liberazione 18/22, 21047 Saronno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Saronno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Principe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Principe, welcoming and familiar hotel, is in Saronno, in a strategic position, just 2 minutes walking from the rail Station and the city centre.To reach Milan, Rho fair, Malpensa airport, Como, Switzerland is easy by car or by train.The shuttle to the Rho fair is free.The rooms are comfortable and have free wireless internet connection.Rich buffet breakfast and dinner in its amazing restaurant finish the offer. Special half board rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing