We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay but a couple of niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Overall, Capofaro is beautiful. The setting is spectacular and we had an enjoyable stay but there were a couple of things that grated, certainly for a 5 star hotel. The main one for me was the bed which was arguably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! The mattress was super firm (we had to request blankets on top to try and make it more comfortable) and this meant that I didn't feel especially rested after our visit. Admittedly I was 7 months pregnant at the time which wouldn't have helped but have never been woken up hourly before by a bed being so firm. Another niggle was the music by the pool. It was the same CD on a loop for the whole 4 days we were there, round and round..... As the pool was right by the bar and restaurant I can see they were trying to add to some sort of 'Ibiza chill-out vibe' but it was so much nicer by the pool whenever the music went off. The food in the restaurant was largely very good though the staff had been chosen according to youth and good looks and not language skills so we had some well-intentioned but occasionally clumsy service, though the reception team were fabulous. Finally, the rooms are very minimalist, clean, island-living, white and quite glamorous but lack privacy if you want to sit outside as there is a very thin bamboo screen separating your outside space from next doors and you can clearly here their conversation when in the shower as our bathroom window opened to their outside space. Having said all that we had a nice stay but, mainly because of the horrid beds, I don't think we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

The island of Salina is a very special place which is effortlessly cool and typically Italian. We arrived at Capofaro and couldn't believe how lucky we were to have found this beatifully located boutique hotel. The staff gave us a warm welcome and were extremely helpful throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is situated on a beautiful vineyard with views out to sea of two nearby islands.The pool and general restaurant area is stunning with a perfect pool, comfortable loungers, stylish biege and white linen table cloths, gorgeous fresh flowers and romantic hurrican lanterns. We'd heard that the food was meant to be incredible (the olive oil is to die for!) and although it was very good, we were a little underwhelmed and it wasn't what we'd expect for the price and quality of the hotel. The rooms are stunning, stark white, very clean and restful with a lovely terrace area outside where you can watch the world go by. Unfortunately the weather was a bit patchy so we did a wine tasting which was really enjoyable as it helped match food to wine and we sampled all the locally grown wine which was great. The desert wine was a particular favourite!

All in all a great stay, stunning hotel and incredible location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A little piece of paradise on earth. Beautiful resort, extraordinary service and amazing food. Must visit in Salina.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettaHarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

There's not much else I can add, other than to say that this resort is something special, and this has more to do with the staff and the surroundings than anything else. The setting is spectacular and we liked the very minimalist rooms and bathrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean, especially the pool and surrounding lawns which were hosed down every day. Attention to detail was also excellent, with the genuinely friendly and attentive staff wanting to make our stay memorable. However, my only criticism is to do with the restaurant. It's true that this is a 5-star resort, but we could not afford those prices! Furthermore, the Nouvelle Cuisine belongs more in the era of London 1984: tiny portions combined with extremely high prices. I believe that the cuisine at Capofaro needs to mirror the essence of this resort: youthful in spirit, hip, cool and in touch with what discerning holiday-makers like to eat and spend on holiday. A buffet bar offering salads and vegetarian options at lunchtime would have hit the mark for us. If people want to spend huge amounts in the evening for their dinner, then fine. Those who don't can eat in the nearby villages. But the restaurant definitely was the low point for us in what otherwise would have been a faultless stay. I hope this won't put anybody off from visiting because Capofaro truly was one of the best holidays me and my partner have had! And we miss all of the staff especially.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the lawns and pool and it was absolutely quiet. I did not hear the A?C in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fairbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night and this was supposed to be the highlight of our week long stay in Sicily. The resort is very beautiful and isolated. However, the room we stayed in had no windows and the shower had a very strong smell of mold which spread into the entire room. We tried our best to air the room but we did not succeed. When we told the reception they were not surprised at all and they said that the stone in shower has this smell and there is nothing they can do about it. We asked to switch rooms but were denied. So basically our romantic night was accompanied by a terrible smell. Furthermore, the restaurant staff was very unpleasant and unprofessional (they were not helpful at all when we asked for help in choosing a wine). The restaurant was good but overpriced. We were also surprised that we were charged 30 Euro for the transport from the port and back (other hotels we stayed in on the islands did not charge for the transportation from the port and back). All others hotel we stayed in on the islands were charming and friendly. Oh, and there is no access to the beach (it was closed 5 years ago).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ziv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capofaro, Direttore at Capofaro Malvasia & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Customer,

We are very sorry also because this year is the first time we criticize the rooms and service.

I would only make a single objection concerns the wine. We are producers of wine from 1830 and is really very important for us. Capofaro is a resort in the middle of the vineyard and our customers can experience all the processes including the harvest.
Which, according to the customer, we have not helped to choose the wine during dinner at least it sounds strange.

however, this review will stimulate us to improve our customers even further, hoping to welcome them next year.

thanks for the chance to reply

Luigi Pavesi
Hotel Manager
-----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stay at the Capofaro Resort on the island of Salina in June 2011. We had a taxi take us to the hotel on the day we arrived. We were greeted by the friendly staff. There are one story bungalows on this property. The room was spacious with a shower. All the bungalows have a full view of the islands and the ocean. The landscaping on this property is picture perfect . Nothing is overlooked. There is a large room with a fireplace to read, use the computer or meet-up with friends. There is a large pool with plenty of lounge chairs. There is another area on the grass with lounge chairs and there is plenty of privacy at this resort. The restaurant is outdoors and the food was great for breadfast and dinner. There is a bus at the main road that will take you into town. It is a 2 minute walk and cost about 2euros.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I don't know what else can be said about Capofaro We just spent 4 days of our honeymoon here and were actually bummed to leave to go to Sicily! While the natural setting of place is phenomenal, the level of hospitality and quality of food was top notch. From the always accomodating reception staff to the knowledeable, non-intrusive restaurant staff, we were blown away by the quality of service. As we are both foodies, we were very impressed with the food along with the attention to detail during our meals. I'll have to admit some of the reviews had us a bit concerned regarding the food/price, but I can assure you that the food was some of the best we had in our 10 days in Sicily. On one occasion, we had dinner in a nearby town (recommended by one of our waiters) which was good but non way near the experiences we had at Capofaro. One other thing to keep in mind. We are big breakfast people and the Italians are not. However, the breakfast at Capafaro (which is included as customary in Italy) were fantastic with al la carte options available like omelletes fresh squeezed orange Juice, etc. We also took advantage of wine tasting with Corrado, the father of their famous Malvasia wine. What an experience that was! Anyway, if you're looking for a place to get away from everything in a stunning landscape with excellent food and service, Capofaro is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
11.5 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,035 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Principe di Salina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
1.9 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
415 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capofaro Malvasia & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capofaro Malvasia & Resort

Address: Via Capo Faro 3, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
Price Range: £177 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capofaro Malvasia & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capofaro is a refuge, an oasis, inspired by love for beauty, expressed by the owners the Tasca d’Almerita family. The classic Eolian style whitewashed buildings, adorned with bougainvillea flowers and the fresh water swimming pool stand among six hectares of Malvasia vineyards; which produce both dry and sweet wines. Before guests the horizon stretches out, broken only by the silhouettes of the volcanic islands of Stromboli and Panarea in turquoise sea. The twenty-seven rooms all have a private terrace with either a sea or garden view. They are divided into five types – standard, superior, junior suite, exclusive suite and imperial suite. From 2018 six rooms with their own garden will occupy the hotel's lighthouse which overlooks the Capofaro cliff and the splendour of the Aeolian sea, with the twin mountains of Salina behind it. The chef at Capofaro leads guests on a sun-drenched gastronomic journey, infused with the salty and sweet flavours of the produce grown in the property's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capofaro Malvasia & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capofaro Malvasia Hotel Malfa
Capofaro Malvasia And Resort
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing