We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dolce farniente”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

our boat from Milazzo arrived with a 30 min delay but the taxi driver was still there waiting for us.Once we arrived, staff took over completely so that we didn't have to do a thing.We were driven in a golfcart to our beautifull suite : overlooking the deep blue see from a chalk wite terrasse; it was like a photo from a glossy magazine: perfection! We felt at home instantly
we spend a few days doing nothing but pleasant things:having lazy lunches, rent a boat and make a tour of the island: a steal at 80 euro/day , enjoying the granitas from Alfredo etc..
dinner at capofaro was excellent -we went for the tasting menue- and far better than what we had before in Sicily.
The one thing I didn't like was the (too) loud music that turned the pool area into some Buddha bar experience and the haevy bass sounds could be heard everywhere all the time We even heard the music when passing by the hotel on the sea !!(I kidd you not)

Room Tip: room 10 is really nice and far enough from the bar/resto area.There is though an odd smell of petrol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 190bart190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

First of all, this was my second time, after a memorable dinner there last year.

Unfortunately I now have to overturn my review. In a nutshell:

1) Overall quality of the food was just ok, and definitely not outstanding as it was before and supposed to be;

2) While the quality fell down, prices have been increased unreasonably. Above all, the waiter warmed suggested us dishes off menu, which resulted to be far more expensive of any other on the menu (yet largely overpriced). Come on, that is a technique that just not fits a allegedly luxury restaurant;

3) Desserts were just insignificant (still priced like a lobster). A mortal sin in Sicily, world renowed for its desserts.

All in all, they have lost a frequent Salina guest.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank alecostantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived in Salina by boat and reserved a wine tasting and lunch via the beautiful (I discovered later) Jessica on the phone. A 10 euro (!) taxi ride from the main port up the hill and along the coast was great, then we got there and a nice young man from Rome very knowledgeable about wines led us, for 40 euros each, through a tasting (unlimited refills it seemed!) of 3 whites, 2 reds, and a dessert wine, all from Sicily (and one from this estate).

After we had a great lunch in the not crowded restaurant by the pool. Shady and breezy so we beat the July heat.

After we toured a room and they seemed discreet, quiet, but you better like white (floor, walls, ceiilings, and bed linens!).

Seems like a perfect place for a romantic weekend away from it all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel is sorrounded by vineyards and olive trees.
Located close to the cliffs, you will have a wonderful scenario of Eolian Sea,
I would recommend to rent a car ( 60 euros x day) and visit Pollara ( just this).
I would also rent from Malba a motor boat ( 12o euro per day) and have a picnic in front of Pollara's cliff.
Santa Maria, the main town in Salina island is very limited.
Woud recommend Alfredo's and Gamberoni for dinner, still the best option anyway is having dinner in the hotel.

Room Tip: There are only 20 rooms, Special rooms probable do not worth the higher price charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have been meaning to get around to writing a review for Capofaro for several years now, because I am always remembering it with happiness. I'm not sure why it took me so long to put pen to paper.

I must admit that my experience of Capofaro might not be typical. We still had no accommodation on Salinas as our ferry approached the island. Capofaro was out of our price range, but I called hoping there might be a last minute vacancy on which we could strike a deal. We were in luck! We got one of the bungalow suites near the main office for a little less than half the standard rate, still at the top end of our budget but worth the experience.

Our bungalow was simple, but refined, airy and comfortable. All of the furnishings and fixtures were top notch. The view from our veranda featured vineyards and a whitewashed vineyard in the foreground, then the sea, then the volcanic island of Stromboli in the distance, which at night shot red sparks of lava into the sky.

Capofaro may have one of the best pool atmospheres I have seen at any hotel. It is elegant, long enough for exercise swimming and situated perfectly, with the open-air restaurant on one side and panoramic views of the sea and hills from other vantage points. As I recall, a few welcome drinks and snacks were part of the package, and there was nothing more relaxing that having a drink at the end of the day as the sun set, looking over the sea and watching Stromboli erupt.

The food was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I believe they had a Michelin-rated chef at the time. The staff was friendly to us and helpful in arranging activities, which is essential given Capofaro's location a bit outside of town.

The only downsides: We did witness the hotel staff not sufficiently assist a honeymooning couple from the UK who appeared to be being scammed by the owner of a boat they had rented. The owner/staff did not side with the rental provider, but they did little to help the couple either, who were hotel guests. The experience left us wondering if Capofaro could do a better job screening who they recommend for tours/rentals, etc., though we had a great experience with the people they put us in touch with. We also noted that, perhaps because of the price, the rest of the guests seemed to be either honeymooners from the UK or older Italian men with women who seemed to be 20 to 30 years their junior. They all seemed nice enough, but these two camps somewhat understandably kept to themselves most of the time, so the place is quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

It is worth undertaking the long trip to arrive on the island of Salina, usually encompassing a plane to Catania, a bus or private driver to the port of Messina and a hydrofoil to the islands. Once you arrive at Capofaro you are immediately exported to another dimension. The hotel complex is situated among a malvasia sweet wine vinyard jutting out to sea. I say complex because this is no ordinary hotel rather a collection of independent traditional white washed bungalows. Each luxury bungalow has its own terrace and is very private. The pool which adjoins the restaurant. The restaurant is top class and among the best in Sicily, try the fish dishes and the local wines. We had an excellent local organic wine. Breakfast offers plenty of home bakes and natural juices which you can enjoy gazing out to sea and over to the volcano of Stromboli. Staff cannot do enough for guests and when you eventually leave you will do so reluctantly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eibhlin031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

All round excellence at Capoaro.
rooms are big and with beautiful views.
the service is great and the food is amazing.
Delicious breakfast and dinner
Great pool and superb atmosphere!
Proper holiday like you used to nave

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalli78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
412 reviews
11.5 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,026 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
1.8 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#6 of 6 in Malfa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capofaro Malvasia & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capofaro Malvasia & Resort

Address: Via Capo Faro 3, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
Price Range: £164 - £713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capofaro Malvasia & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Resort Capofaro is the best "zen" experience in Sicily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capofaro Malvasia & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capofaro Malvasia Hotel Malfa
Capofaro Malvasia And Resort
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing