We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and enjoyed every minute. This place is very special. It was a very relaxing stay for us while celebrating our anniversary. They were very thoughtful by sending us champagne to our room! We spent all our time by the pool and lounge area viewing the sea and drinking wine which was from their vineyard. The rooms are simple but very tasefully done and the grounds are so pretty. We actually ate all our meals at the restaurant on their grounds where some guests chose to dine in town. We thought as foodies, the food was exceptional in their own restaurant and no need to look anywhere else. Very inventive and delicious sauces especially. Overall, We thought this place was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    44
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
20
175
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a treat to stay here! This place is a gem and appears to be the best place in Salina. If you're looking for a somewhat quiet island, look no further. We visited Panarea for a day and it reaffirmed our decision to stay on Salina. We spent three nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The property is set in a vineyard with spectacular views wherever you look. We stayed in Room 9 which was far enough from the restaurant and pool and was very peaceful. It had a beautiful terrace with views and was adjacent to the sun deck where no one ever sat but us. The food is wonderful. Enjoy an apertif on the poolside deck before dinner. And the service was great, too. The servers are young and their English was ok at best, but this added to the charm. When planning this trip we didn't want to go to a resort full of Americans and this fit the bill. The resort was full of Italians, mostly couples. If you're a bit of an adventurous spirit, I highly recommend coming off the ferry and renting scooters for the duration of your visit. They're small - 50ccs - and very manageable. The resort is about 5 miles (guessing) from the port and the road is windy and full of switchbacks but the views are spectacular. It's a little scary at first, but the scooters give you the freedom to explore the island at your own pace. Oh yea, and the wine - delicious! The resort offers wine tasting daily. Wish we could have gone, but we were too busy doing other things.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Seriously, we have friends who live in Catania who visit Salina every year and they recommended this place when we were booking. And I can say -- this is indeed the best "Resort" on Salina. We stayed there for about 5-6 days. I can tell you that the Service was great, friendly folks with an attitude to help. Rooms were spacious with great views of the Mediterranean. They truly make you feel welcome in this place. Great food, fantastic wine, awesome views, perfect swimming pool and my wife even enjoyed the spa there... We will most certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

our boat from Milazzo arrived with a 30 min delay but the taxi driver was still there waiting for us.Once we arrived, staff took over completely so that we didn't have to do a thing.We were driven in a golfcart to our beautifull suite : overlooking the deep blue see from a chalk wite terrasse; it was like a photo from a glossy magazine: perfection! We felt at home instantly
we spend a few days doing nothing but pleasant things:having lazy lunches, rent a boat and make a tour of the island: a steal at 80 euro/day , enjoying the granitas from Alfredo etc..
dinner at capofaro was excellent -we went for the tasting menue- and far better than what we had before in Sicily.
The one thing I didn't like was the (too) loud music that turned the pool area into some Buddha bar experience and the haevy bass sounds could be heard everywhere all the time We even heard the music when passing by the hotel on the sea !!(I kidd you not)

Room Tip: room 10 is really nice and far enough from the bar/resto area.There is though an odd smell of petrol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190bart190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

First of all, this was my second time, after a memorable dinner there last year.

Unfortunately I now have to overturn my review. In a nutshell:

1) Overall quality of the food was just ok, and definitely not outstanding as it was before and supposed to be;

2) While the quality fell down, prices have been increased unreasonably. Above all, the waiter warmed suggested us dishes off menu, which resulted to be far more expensive of any other on the menu (yet largely overpriced). Come on, that is a technique that just not fits a allegedly luxury restaurant;

3) Desserts were just insignificant (still priced like a lobster). A mortal sin in Sicily, world renowed for its desserts.

All in all, they have lost a frequent Salina guest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alecostantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived in Salina by boat and reserved a wine tasting and lunch via the beautiful (I discovered later) Jessica on the phone. A 10 euro (!) taxi ride from the main port up the hill and along the coast was great, then we got there and a nice young man from Rome very knowledgeable about wines led us, for 40 euros each, through a tasting (unlimited refills it seemed!) of 3 whites, 2 reds, and a dessert wine, all from Sicily (and one from this estate).

After we had a great lunch in the not crowded restaurant by the pool. Shady and breezy so we beat the July heat.

After we toured a room and they seemed discreet, quiet, but you better like white (floor, walls, ceiilings, and bed linens!).

Seems like a perfect place for a romantic weekend away from it all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel is sorrounded by vineyards and olive trees.
Located close to the cliffs, you will have a wonderful scenario of Eolian Sea,
I would recommend to rent a car ( 60 euros x day) and visit Pollara ( just this).
I would also rent from Malba a motor boat ( 12o euro per day) and have a picnic in front of Pollara's cliff.
Santa Maria, the main town in Salina island is very limited.
Woud recommend Alfredo's and Gamberoni for dinner, still the best option anyway is having dinner in the hotel.

Room Tip: There are only 20 rooms, Special rooms probable do not worth the higher price charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
11.5 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Quartara
Hotel Quartara
#2 of 9 in Panarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
1.3 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capofaro Malvasia & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capofaro Malvasia & Resort

Property: Capofaro Malvasia & Resort
Address: Via Capo Faro 3, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capofaro Malvasia & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Resort Capofaro is the best "zen" experience in Sicily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capofaro Malvasia & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capofaro Malvasia And Resort
Capofaro Malvasia Hotel Malfa
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing