We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on our trip to a few islands in the Aeolian archipelago.

The setting is really pretty with a great vineyard feel. The lighthouse, the pool, the different bungalows surrounded by prickly pears and Bougainvillea.

The two things that made us happiest though were the restaurant and the service of all staff in the resort. Young , energetic, caring, kind guys and girls that not only seemed well-trained but also caring about their customers.

The food at the restaurant was also quite good, even if breakfast needs slight improvements on variety and cooked eggs options.

It's a place that we would definitely recommend, especially now that prices seemed to come down a bit.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

WOW! I am typing this whilst sitting on my balcony being totally mesmerized by the views of Stromboli, Panarea and the calming ocean. A tranquil resort amongst vineyards, with breathtaking views as a backdrop! The rooms are minimal, but clean. Breakfast is simple but nice with a choice of pastries, cold meats, cereal or a hot cooked meal. Coffee is great. Lunch at the resort has unfortunately been more miss than hit, and somewhat overpriced for what you get. Malfa or Santa Marina are a 5 minute taxi ride away, but at15€ each way, a night out can become quite expensive. We haven't had dinner here based on the lunch experience. All in all, a memorable experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived for 3 nights and was very excited...Great views very well maintained gardens,rooms minimal and clean. Not sure why with all the land around they didn't make the bathroom a meter wider as you can hardly open the door! You are positioned between the main port and Malfa a little isolated without a car and taxis one way either side for a 5 minute drive 15-20 euro so it makes it an expensive dinner or lunch.... You can eat at resort but it is outrageously expensive and everything is over salted and I love salt! On the other hand the breakfast is wonderful with great coffee! I think if the lunch/dinner wasn't so pricey people would say and enjoy this amazing resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing place with an incredible view. Bedrooms are a bit small but cute. The terrace with the view on the stromboli makes it magical. The food of the restaurant is expensive for what it is. Really nice staff. Gorgeous swimming pool. There is a shuttle service to go to santa marina and the beach of the hotel. U can play tennis just in front of the stromboli ;-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Raphael75011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The tasting of a most elegant Malvasian wine with its bouquet of raisons,candied fruits and hints of citronella and pepper,led us to enquire where this gem of Sicily was made. The owner of the bottle shop,gave us a card bearing the name of this resort,which lies at the edge of the vineyards and has an incomparable view across the sea to Panarea and fulminating Stromboli.
When the neighbouring islands shimmer pink and orange at sunset and the volcano spits glowing lava after dark,the sight is quite simply spectacular.The cottages,too,which are scattered around the estate have flat roofs and terraces with blinds made of rushes,boast panoramas fit for a king and queen,or a painter's canvas.
The interior of the room do not try to steal the show from the overwhelming beauty outdoors.,but are white,minimalist and wonderfully soothing.
The restaurant follows the same philosophy by concentrating on essentials,which is why it serves such excellent island dishes.Seafood,glorious seafood is the maxim here,Taste-buds and your soul are equally satisfied .By the way,the beautiful pool makes up for the lack of a beach.
We flew into catania,transferred to Milazzo harbour and boarded the ferry to Salina which journeyed for 90 minutes of great relaxing sunshine,salt spray and de-stressing.
The estate with its backdrop of hills and sea are the only experience one needs. Simply an extraordinary heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband, my 2 daughters and myself have just spent 8 nights in Capo Faro and what can I say that has not already been said...........
What a stunning and beautiful place.
We got up graded to a junior suite because it was my birthday. The views are outstanding and the staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful.
I would say that the food is expensive for what you get and also drinks around the pool can start to add up after a few days.
Also I do feel that for the price of the stay the hotel should provide a shuttle bus from the port of Santa Marina to the hotel as we waited for the bus which never arrived..........
If you stay a car is a good idea.
Altogether this has to be one of the best holidays I have ever been on.

Room Tip: All room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HIPPO331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and enjoyed every minute. This place is very special. It was a very relaxing stay for us while celebrating our anniversary. They were very thoughtful by sending us champagne to our room! We spent all our time by the pool and lounge area viewing the sea and drinking wine which was from their vineyard. The rooms are simple but very tasefully done and the grounds are so pretty. We actually ate all our meals at the restaurant on their grounds where some guests chose to dine in town. We thought as foodies, the food was exceptional in their own restaurant and no need to look anywhere else. Very inventive and delicious sauces especially. Overall, We thought this place was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
11.5 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,035 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Principe di Salina Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
12.2 mi away
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
Hotel Mari del Sud Resort
#2 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capofaro Malvasia & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capofaro Malvasia & Resort

Address: Via Capo Faro 3, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
Price Range: £176 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capofaro Malvasia & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capofaro is a refuge, an oasis, inspired by love for beauty, expressed by the owners the Tasca d’Almerita family. The classic Eolian style whitewashed buildings, adorned with bougainvillea flowers and the fresh water swimming pool stand among six hectares of Malvasia vineyards; which produce both dry and sweet wines. Before guests the horizon stretches out, broken only by the silhouettes of the volcanic islands of Stromboli and Panarea in turquoise sea. The twenty-seven rooms all have a private terrace with either a sea or garden view. They are divided into five types – standard, superior, junior suite, exclusive suite and imperial suite. From 2018 six rooms with their own garden will occupy the hotel's lighthouse which overlooks the Capofaro cliff and the splendour of the Aeolian sea, with the twin mountains of Salina behind it. The chef at Capofaro leads guests on a sun-drenched gastronomic journey, infused with the salty and sweet flavours of the produce grown in the property's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capofaro Malvasia & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capofaro Malvasia And Resort
Capofaro Malvasia Hotel Malfa
Capofaro Malvasia & Resort Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing