We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique bolthole”
Review of Hotel Signum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Signum
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boutique bolthole”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a three and a half hour ferry journey we drove through the winding roads of Salina trying to find Hotel Signum. This wasn’t that easy, we arrived in the little village of Malfa wondering where a hotel could be hidden... after enquiries, we finally found the small sign pointing down a small alleyway, dumped our car and went exploring. A left and a right turn later we eventually entered a small reception with glass doors onto a stupendous terrace full of tables laid up for lunch and surrounded by plants and flowers. We were obviously quite high up as the sea stretched out below us and as we gathered our breath back and wondered how on earth we were going to get our bags of luggage here someone appeared, gestured for us to sit down to lunch and said they would fetch someone to go and retrieve our bags. Within 5 minutes all was calm again, we had a bottle of cold water, a bottle of wine, a menu and were pointing the direction of the car to someone advising them to take a trolley...

Leisurely lunch done and bags in sight, Isabelle came over to welcome us, tell us about dinner and offer her services for anything we may want while we were there. An upgrade to a new suite went down as well as the bottle of Aeolian wine we had just quaffed and we were soon ensconced in our suite and heading back through the terrace to discover the infinity pool. The pool was probably the thing we liked the least, don’t get me wrong it is a lovely pool but there isn’t a huge amount of room around it and therefore not enough sunbeds for people. Most of the beds are in full sunshine and with no umbrellas this can be taxing (oh the hard work we must endure sitting in the sun..). The next day we went down to the small garden area near the pool where there is shade and this solved this problem of incessant sun whilst still being close enough to the water to cool off. These are however small issues in the grand scheme of things but with the sea being a way down and there not really being any beach to speak of, are things to consider.

A good way to deal with this is to hire a boat and get away from everyone else whilst looking around these gorgeous islands and stopping wherever you feel like it to jump into the crystal clear sea and hang out with the fish. Isabelle recommended a fantastic boat www.barcajost.it The captain is an affable fellow called Pierre and he has a beautiful boat with a great sun deck, all the snorkelling equipment you may need and he is also a fantastic cook and will cook up lunch whilst regaling you with stories of his life before he took to the open seas.

The food at Signum is fabulous, wine list extensive and reasonable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    63
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
45
261
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe this spectacular hotel in Salina. It's a travel experience never to be forgotten. From the fabulous rooms, spacious with modern amenities but oozing original charm , we could see across the ocean to Stromboli and Panarea. Sunrise sent a golden glow through our shutters bathing the whitewashed room in glorious soft light. What a way to wake up. The staff were exceptional.....first name basis , nothing too much trouble. The terrace and outdoor dining area are sublime, the food amazing , and to top it off a pool and day spa. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WKoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A charming hotel in a wonderful spot with a terrace to admire the sunset with Panarea and Stromboli on the horizon while emjoyimg a great aperitif, to die for. The building is a renewed old construction with probably 20 rooms or so, surrounded by great trees, flowers (the pleasant jasmin was nice), grapevines, little birds, etc. Super relaxing. The restaurant is gorgeous, a tad expensive , there was no "light dinner" or room service option but several little restaurants around.
Our room was big with a great bathroom, full of amenities except a body cream (my wife always appreciate it), it was slightly noisy in the morning as it was too close to the breakfast terrace (yet the guests were generallly very noise conscious). Fresh juices could be added to the breakfast otherwise great. Very good SPA (my wife did a treatment) but with no complimentary pools use for guests and a bit noisy at times (eg some mobile ringing, staff talking by phone)
The swimmng pool was great with a good view and peaceful except many kids (with distracted parents) were around.
For the daylight entertaining forget the few beaches of the island and go with small boat tour ...it is a destination for sea but not beach lovers.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This provided the central stay for our Aeolian tour between Panrea and Vulcano. This place wins on location alone, delightfully subtly located in some pretty backstreets of Malfa. The views from the hotel are exceptional, especially from the sundowner terrace from which pre dinner drinks and canapés are served looking out to Stromboli and Panarea. Had a lovely room with terrace looking down over rooftops to the sea away from the main hotel communal areas. The room was large and nicely fitted. There was a delightful garden with ornate sun-loungers, in which you could have an afternoon drink and read. Staff throughout were bright and friendly and remembered your requests for next time. Had dinner for three nights because it was so easy! Presented and served very nicely. My only niggle ( and its a very small one) would be that the Menu was fixed (even the 'specials' didn't change) and the fish was presented in a nouveau cuisine manner; would have loved to have seen a whole fish! That said the whole experience every evening was delightful. Breakfast was a pleasure too with a fruit salad to die for!
Putting the hotel in context now of Panarea and Vulcano makes you realise how special it is!
Aside; would recommend the day boat trip from Malfa to Filicudi and Alicudi by boat; really completes the Aolian experience

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Signum is a family-owned hotel and restaurant on the Aeolian Island of Salina. Lucca is the son, and a constant, caring presence at the hotel and in the restaurant. His attentiveness and care are reflected in the staff, as well. Isobel and her colleagues at the front/reservation desks speak English fluently and are extraordinarily helpful. We loved our room (#19) overlooking the pool and the sea beyond. Though not huge, it was nicely laid out and had a modern, efficient, very attractive bathroom with a view. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the staff's attention to detail is reflected in the wonderful baskets that protect the various items on the buffet, as well as the tiny raffia ties on the hard-boiled eggs. We particularly liked the fact that the hotel is located a good distance away from the road and the motor scooter, car, truck, and bus traffic that, for some reason, permeates the town. Now about the food at dinner and the wine -- do not leave the hotel without the experience of dining there. And be sure to have either the four or the six-course "tasting menu." The chef is very creative, and the sommelier, Vincenzo, will pull out a fabulous wine for you.

Room Tip: Room 19 suited us well, 'though one with a terrace could be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you want a truly peaceful, relaxing break, this is the place. We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June and it was perfect. The rooms are simple but comfortable and seemingly very dispersed around the complex making it feel very private. The pool (infiinity) is cold, but they all are! The restaurant food is superb and the wine list is extensive to say the least. We ate there every night and weren't tempted to venture elsewhere, although we did find a nice bar in the town square to have a drink before dinner. We hired scooters which were very reasonably priced and toured the island which we would recommend as there are some breathtaking views and beautiful, secluded beaches all set against a backdrop of the two volcanos.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellingtonia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Possibly because we stayed here a bit off-season and mid-week, when we arrived we were upgraded to a room beside the pool, which was light and spacious and had a nice terrace to sit out on and enjoy the view of the sea. It's a real pleasure to arrive in a room and find that everything is just right. We couldn't fault it any way. Staff were warm and friendly. We had planned to stay only one night and (after a wonderful breakfast) travel to Stromboli the next afternoon but the weather was a bit rough and the ferry wasn't sure it would be able to dock. If it couldn't then the next stop for that sailing was Naples! The staff took pity on us and offered us an upgrade for a second night, this time in a different, slightly smaller, but also lovely room with lemons growing all around the private terrace and windows. I really loved this and would love to go back if I'm in that part of the world again. (I suspect I will be).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
438 reviews
12.3 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
951 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mamma Santina
Hotel Mamma Santina
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Scario
Hotel Punta Scario
#4 of 6 in Malfa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signum

Property: Hotel Signum
Address: Via Scalo 15, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Signum 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Signum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signum Hotel Malfa
Hotel Signum Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing