We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to relax and enjoy. I wish I could live there.”
Review of Hotel Signum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Signum
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Hotel Signum is a pleasant combination of home and hotel. You can really relax here. The panorama is lovely, the service familial, the rooms as nice as anyone needs. You'll be thinking you'd like to just move in and live there. I would.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenncheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just come back from wonderfull holiday in Italy..not a lot of people maybe knows about this paradise islands close to Sicily called wyspy liparijskie...
south of sicily..we choosed Salina and this hotel and we were so happy of our choise.
The hotel has a great position , in the heart of the Island and the stuff is very, very helpfull.
We had wonderfull summer weather so we could still enjoyed the sea , pool and wonderfull SPA. We had special treatment made with pirkly pear - the best on the world.Also the outside wellness area is like i never saw before- just perfect.
We aslo enjoyed the dinner with candel light, we can reccomended all dishes and for wine ask the sommelier. Always gives you the right one.
We want thank you to all the Staff for a great holiday. For sure we will see you again some day....

Room Tip: my room is 12..... deluxe with private terrace...but in the low season it is easier to get upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronikak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly, Salina is stunning and the location of the hotel is wonderful. The views to Stromboli are fabulous from the terrace. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was great. Ask for espresso though as the coffee otherwise is not good.

A few gripes - we called ahead as weren't sure whether to bring our hire car or leave it on Sicily. In the end, we went against the hotel's advice and brought our car on the ferry and we were glad we did as we used it to buzz around the island to the starting points of different walks. We felt that they had really advised us to leave it behind because there is no parking at the hotel, just the local supermarket parking lot.

Like other reviewers, we found that the rooms were a little disappointing - we had decided against paying extra for a terrace or balcony and we definitely made the right decision as their definition of 'balcony' more accurately describes a waist height iron window railing. Our room was spacious and clean, but nothing special for the price tag.
And little things like no complimentary bottled water in the room drives me mad in a high end hotel.

I think my main reservation about this place is that it reeks a bit of resting on it's laurels. The staff can be a bit snooty and pleased with themselves and it annoyed me that there was constant pressure to have dinner in the restaurant. The fact is that dinner is very expensive - we had some lovely food there, but it has Michelin star prices and the dishes are inconsistent - 34 euros for a mediocre lobster pasta is a bit galling just as an example. To be fair, the wine list was very reasonable. We also enjoyed a lovely Campari spritz on the terrace before dinner.

We had a lovely time here all in all - met some other guests who were great people - I just think the management needs to shake itself up a little.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have spent 5 days here late September and had a wonderful time. The hotel is charming, has an unpretentious and elegant atmosphere, the pool area is quiet and relaxing, the people most appreciative and respectful of the place and each other, the restaurant a delight and the views amazing! The aperitif terrace offers amazing views of Stromboli which you might catch erupting multiple times a night, the cocktails are a feast. We had a blast, the staff was extremely professional and friendly. We have also tried the 5 star Capofaro on our trip but it doesn't come close to Signum, this is the only place to be if in Salina.
The time of the year offered the opportunity to experience the hotel not being overcrowded and the price was reasonable. I believe in high season this can get quite crowded and pricey (with 450eur a night!), the pool and dining areas are quite small for full load of 30 rooms.
One thing I would suggest is offer a complementary shuttle to and from the port.
Thank you for a great experience!

Room Tip: the pool side rooms are great for views, the garden rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We've been to Signum twice this year. It's wonderful. The best food I've tasted in Italy. Exceptionally good service. A divine spa with thermal waters offers various therapies & treatments. Fabulous views across to Stromboli (some evenings it's natures fireworks display). It's a very unspoilt village and you can explore the island easily by walking, cycling, scooter or car. All of which are easy to hire near hotel. Take a boat out for day alone or with captain. Find stunning bays in which to swim in crystal clear water where hot bubbles jet under you from the earths crust. Bath in sulphur baths at nearby Vulcano. Climb Stromboli and stare into the mouth of a live volcano! Taste the most delicious Malfa and Sicilian wines. You miss the Signum the moment you leave.

Room Tip: We love room 34 with its splendid terrace & views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJS4464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fantastic decor, great pool (not huge but not overcrowded), great restaurant and fantastic food, incredible view for cocktails and did I mention what has to be an award winning spa?
The rooms are very comfortable and yet very simple and natural. The staff is accommodating and professional.
We loved it and will definitely aim to go back.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room by the pool or overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimmersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The moment we arrived on Salina, we basically feel in love with this island. We hesitated a long time between Hotel Signum and Capofaro resort. Having been to Capofaro resort for dinner (see review) we definitely made the right choice!

Hotel Signum is not in the main town but in a pretty part of the island in Malfa. Taxi ride from the ferry to the hotel cost 20 euro.
The Hotel is hidden away after a lovely path. Very pretty communal part, very boutiquy. Does not feel corporate in any way shape or form. I’d like to stray straight away that the staff was absolutely adorable, very helpful, especially Marina.

We booked a luxury room/Deluixe, with balcony and sea view. Our first room was a small room overlooking the swimming pool and facing a wall with no balcony (my definition of balcony is somewhere you can actually get onto if not, its French doors!) Quite rightly people were having fun in the pool hence it was very noisy. When we complained, we were told we could only be moved the next day. We were woken up at 7 am by kids palying in the pool. New room, much, much nicer and much, much bigger, still overlooking the pool but from higher and direct view of the sea, still French door. But this room was modern, crisp, great bathroom. To this day I don’t believe that the two rooms were in the same category…. We asked and they said yes…
We ate there 3 night, food is very nice indeed but the menu does not change much. For some unknown reason the maître D’ is very concerned about sitting plan. Instead of just giving tables on a first come first served basic as some of the table are directly onto the balcony, he gest very directive about sitting you where he wants. We did not agree and changed table ;-)
We went to the spa one day. Because we booked via Mr and Mrs Smith we had a voucher to use the sap. The Spa is fabulous, old spa, very well kept with lots of different outdoor baths. It normally cost 25 euro to use it (which is expensive!). We booked to have two massages but were told that we still needed to pay 25e to use the spa. Management really need to change that rule. In all the spas I’ve been to, the fact that you book a massage or any other therapy gives you the right to use the sap itself, the pool, hamman, etc. It really feels wrong top pay 110 euro for massage and have to pay on top of that. When we complained, they graciously agreed and allowed us to use it without paying.
I would still recommend the Hotel Signum as it has a great location and a very nice feel, just need to be very careful about the room you will get. A lot of the rooms have no view at all as they are below in the garden (I guess these are the classic ones) . The best ones I believes are overlooking the main terrace where cocktails are served before dinner. Getting the right room here will make all the difference as there are huge differences between them within the same category..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#6 of 6 in Malfa
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Scario
Hotel Punta Scario
#5 of 6 in Malfa
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signum

Address: Via Scalo 15, 98050, Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range: £140 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Signum 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Signum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signum Hotel Malfa
Hotel Signum Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing