We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Il Dolce far niente” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Signum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Signum
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Malfa
Certificate of Excellence
Sprague, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Il Dolce far niente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Getting to Salina, Sicily requires dedication. Usually planes, trains, ferry and taxis or buses. But the effort is rewarded. Very private, quiet and secluded. A perfect place to taste "the sweetness of doing nothing." Not a place for travelers on a budget. But for those who can afford lux, for those who do not need to be entertained, for those who wish to quietly explore an island, Signum is perfect. My wife and I spent six days unwinding and relaxing. There are not many places that so completely capture "Il dolce far niente."

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apoquag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    63
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
253
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

One of the few places where reality exceeds the expectations raised by the website. A true gem on a beautiful island. It's more than a hotel, it's a place that made us feel at home away from home - less like customers, more like guests "nella casa di famiglia". Most tasteful owners, very sympathetic and helpful staff, unique outdoor spa, excellent restaurant and a sensational sommelier. Il Postino would find it hard to find a metaphor for this place. Actually, the place itself is a metaphor for a glimpse of paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dornbirn, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Arriving here you feel like visiting a friend with the most fabulous home. The service is exceptional and the staff very helpful. Most wonderful was the view from my room. I really enjoyed my stay and even spent two nights more than planned. Very recommendable is the photo workshop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Hotel Signum is a pleasant combination of home and hotel. You can really relax here. The panorama is lovely, the service familial, the rooms as nice as anyone needs. You'll be thinking you'd like to just move in and live there. I would.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenncheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaslo, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just come back from wonderfull holiday in Italy..not a lot of people maybe knows about this paradise islands close to Sicily called wyspy liparijskie...
south of sicily..we choosed Salina and this hotel and we were so happy of our choise.
The hotel has a great position , in the heart of the Island and the stuff is very, very helpfull.
We had wonderfull summer weather so we could still enjoyed the sea , pool and wonderfull SPA. We had special treatment made with pirkly pear - the best on the world.Also the outside wellness area is like i never saw before- just perfect.
We aslo enjoyed the dinner with candel light, we can reccomended all dishes and for wine ask the sommelier. Always gives you the right one.
We want thank you to all the Staff for a great holiday. For sure we will see you again some day....

Room Tip: my room is 12..... deluxe with private terrace...but in the low season it is easier to get upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronikak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly, Salina is stunning and the location of the hotel is wonderful. The views to Stromboli are fabulous from the terrace. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was great. Ask for espresso though as the coffee otherwise is not good.

A few gripes - we called ahead as weren't sure whether to bring our hire car or leave it on Sicily. In the end, we went against the hotel's advice and brought our car on the ferry and we were glad we did as we used it to buzz around the island to the starting points of different walks. We felt that they had really advised us to leave it behind because there is no parking at the hotel, just the local supermarket parking lot.

Like other reviewers, we found that the rooms were a little disappointing - we had decided against paying extra for a terrace or balcony and we definitely made the right decision as their definition of 'balcony' more accurately describes a waist height iron window railing. Our room was spacious and clean, but nothing special for the price tag.
And little things like no complimentary bottled water in the room drives me mad in a high end hotel.

I think my main reservation about this place is that it reeks a bit of resting on it's laurels. The staff can be a bit snooty and pleased with themselves and it annoyed me that there was constant pressure to have dinner in the restaurant. The fact is that dinner is very expensive - we had some lovely food there, but it has Michelin star prices and the dishes are inconsistent - 34 euros for a mediocre lobster pasta is a bit galling just as an example. To be fair, the wine list was very reasonable. We also enjoyed a lovely Campari spritz on the terrace before dinner.

We had a lovely time here all in all - met some other guests who were great people - I just think the management needs to shake itself up a little.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have spent 5 days here late September and had a wonderful time. The hotel is charming, has an unpretentious and elegant atmosphere, the pool area is quiet and relaxing, the people most appreciative and respectful of the place and each other, the restaurant a delight and the views amazing! The aperitif terrace offers amazing views of Stromboli which you might catch erupting multiple times a night, the cocktails are a feast. We had a blast, the staff was extremely professional and friendly. We have also tried the 5 star Capofaro on our trip but it doesn't come close to Signum, this is the only place to be if in Salina.
The time of the year offered the opportunity to experience the hotel not being overcrowded and the price was reasonable. I believe in high season this can get quite crowded and pricey (with 450eur a night!), the pool and dining areas are quite small for full load of 30 rooms.
One thing I would suggest is offer a complementary shuttle to and from the port.
Thank you for a great experience!

Room Tip: the pool side rooms are great for views, the garden rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malfa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
13.6 mi away
Hotel Quartara
Hotel Quartara
#2 of 9 in Panarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signum

Property: Hotel Signum
Address: Via Scalo 15, 98050 Malfa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Malfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malfa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Signum 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Signum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signum Hotel Malfa
Hotel Signum Isola Di Salina, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing