We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Wynn's fabulous cooking and hospitality”
Review of Ristorante Al Macereto - CLOSED

Ristorante Al Macereto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 5 October 2011

If you're in the Tuscany area and want some tasty Tuscan food for dinner, go to the Al Macereto Restaurant in San Donato! Mr. Wynn, the owner, an Englishman who has lived in Italy 41 years was our host recently during our Italian visit in September 2011. From the sparkling wine he greeted us with, the main courses, Pork for me and Veal for my wife, to the savory Strawberry Cream Cake we shared at meal end, everything was good! Mr. Wynn was kind and provided intertaining pieces of information about the food wewere enjoying in his rustic but charming former Hunting Lodge Restaurant. When all was said and done, the price of our great meal, which included a bottle of local white wine was a very reasonable 70 euros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our first visit to Al Macereto was in October 2010 and everything from service to food was so wonderful that we returned in September 2011. We were not disappointed! Wynn the owner had beautifully set tables ready for our group of 14, and since we had reservations, he had planned the menu from start to finish which included handmade pastas, roasted suckling pig, and fabulous tiramisu. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in the area. It is worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank katkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I'm of Florence and I go often Al Macereto, since 2001! The quality is always high and the prices are very good. I suggest this wonderful place to everybody! Francesco

1  Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After a lovely day in chianti we decided to have dinner in a restaurant recommended by tripadvisor, looking forward to a good experience. Unfortunately it turned out to be a disappointment:
the interior was out of date and tired, food quality was average, the waiter was not friendly and did not smile even once, on top of this we found a surprise on our final bill -- for two bottles of water we had to pay 44 euros!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

First, if you rely on GPS, you will get lost. Do not fret, head about 1/4 mile up hill and restaurant will be on right. Set back off the road, there is a nice patio for dining. The host is codial, but service started a little slow. A little proseco, then some fried sage. Nice idea, way too greasy. We had pasta with tomato and pesto, and pasta with curry and duck sauce...both delicious. Then a lemon sorbet infused with sage. Guess chef has thing for sage.
Roast suckling pig, and veal with a creamy artichoke sauce were tasty. House chianti was good. Overall a good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JOHN1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Al Macereto also viewed

San Donato in Poggio, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing