We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking at its best”

Ristorante La Fattoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were recommended this restaurant as we were looking for the best wild boar and suckling pig, it was very good very tasty food and large portions so don't over order, good attentive service, we were made to feel very welcome by the staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    172
    62
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“dream about their steak”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we were just visiting my sister at their nearby family farm corzano e paterno last week
over 5 nights, we went here twice just to consume the best biggest badest steak florentine
we went with our sister and toni who is famous from her cheese making featured on jaime oliver and anthony bourdain
they know food and wine!!!!
this is where they, who have both been there 40 years, go for authentic local food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We drove past this restaurant on our way back to our rental in Tavarnelle and decided to try it. We started with the antipasti dish, we were amazed by the great taste of the small (vegetarian) dishes we hadn't had before in any other restaurant.

The four of us decided to have different meat dishes: wild boar, rabbit, veal and steak. All the meat dishes were to die for and perfectly cooked. But we all agreed that this was the best steak we've ever had. The meat was incredibly tender and tasty. The Rosso di Montalcino wine was a perfect choice with all the food.

This was definitely the best dinner on our trip through Tuscany. We were really happy that we decided to try this place on a whim. Service was very friendly and overall atmosphere is great. The only thing we felt sorry about is that we did find this restaurant on our last night in Tuscany. How we would have loved to try the other dishes. This is certainly a place to come back to. And as other reviews suggest well worth a detour!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, genuine Tuscan food - worth a detour from anywhere in the world!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Such a wonderful place. I have been coming to La Fattoria for over 20 years and have decided it's time to review it, as the food, service, hospitality and warm ambiance is so incredibly impressive and it has retained the same high standards since my first visit and it only seems to improve with age. The hosts Gino and his son Riccardo are warm-hearted and extremely friendly, and despite the restaurant always being busy, mostly with locals and Florentines, the service and food is always impeccable. I have lived in Radda in Chianti for 25 years, I am also a chef and food writer and know all the local restaurants really well, some of which are embarassingly awful, despite good reviews! La Fattoria however, is in my opinion, one of the best restaurant in Chianti, an absolute MUST. The Antipasto di "Fattoria", with warm crostini sauces, fried polenta, stuffed sage leaves, truffled crespelle roll, vegetable timbales, stuffed tomatoes and other locally cured meats and delicacies is outstandingly delicious. The ravioli with white truflles, the home made pasta, the Porcini mushrooms, the famous Bistecca alla Fiorentina, the roast suckling pig and meats cooked over a wood burning fire are all amazing, together with lovely home-made desserts and an impresssive wine list. If it's the only restaurant you go to, make sure it's the rustic and charming La Fattoria, it will make your gastronomic experience to Tuscany a memory you will hold in your heart forever. Make a detour from Florence, it's only 20 minutes away. I cannot recommend it more highly. Doogie

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eat here and die !”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The fact that around the corner on a rural road, you can stumble into the best food you've eaten ? only in Chianti. The warmth, the friendliness, the DELICIOUS home-made cooking. Spinach ravioli in a sauce of white truffles, asparagus and porcini mushrooms (and I hate mushrooms usually, but remembering this dish has me drooling right now!). This is like eating in your neighbour's garden when he\she cooks like an angel. Highly recommend this place for charm, warmth, and amazingly delicious food. It was also a great pleasure to be the only foreigners there, the place was packed with locals who know their food. Also the wine was inexpensive and fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Fattoria also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing