We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing break”
Review of Torre Antica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torre Antica
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a relaxing break”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for a week at the beginning of April in the Belvedere apartment. Lovely views from the terrace and gardens across the Tuscan countryside. Lovely swimming pool with wonderful views. Ideal location for discovering Tuscany (equidistant from Siena and Florence). We were made very welcome by the owners who were always available with good hints about best places to go and how to get there. Tavernelle 10 minutes away ( with a very good ice cream shop!). We arrived late with a very hungry daughter and were gratefully provided with some provisions to keep us going. Lovely holiday and owners discrete, helpful and laid back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have had a wonderful week at Sergio and Maria Antoinetta in Torre Antica!

The views from the garden was never-ending, just like the generosity and kindness of the owners.
The experince is that you live in the countryside, anyway it is just 10 minutes walk to the village with good restaurants and shops.
The night when we enjoy Maria Antoinettas dinner in the garden together with the other guests is a great memory.

We hope and look forward to return to Torre Antica!

Mirjam & Leif

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiLeYdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We, a family of 4, visited Torre Antica late April, early May. What a great vacation we had.The appartment was spacious and clean. The owners were very friendly. They had a lot of good suggestions for day trips and restaurants (do try the restaurant suggestion for Sienna, we liked it so much that we went twice). The kids loved the swimming pool, although it was rather cold this time of year. The location between Sienna and Florence is great. A perfect base for a host of daytrips. We are ready to book for next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0chem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently got back from Torre Antica where me and my family (10 adults + 8 children) spent an absolutely fabulous week. We rented the whole house and Signora Maria Antonietta cooked for us almost every evening. Do try that, what a treat!
Torre Antica has it all, beautiful apartments, gourgeus countryside landscape and the most kind and helpfull hosts you could ever imagine, Sergio and Maria Antonietta. And within easy reach loads of cultural treasures, such as Sienna, Florence, Lucca, Perugia etc.....
I strongly recommend!

All the best, Kina & family
Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Where to I begin! First, the villa complex is incredible. As previous reviews have mentioned, the villa only has 5 apartments, and so, it is not crowded with tourists. It is a true sanctuary where you can go and let all of your worries go away!

The view from the pool is amazing; stunning view of San Gimignano. The rest of the garden is beautiful and very well kept, Sergio (owner) is out every morning careful and meticulously taking care of the many flowers.

We stayed in a larger apartment with a great view of the surrounding valley. The furnishing were typical Tuscan and it was nice not to have a TV; who goes to Italy to watch TV?!?!

The location could not be better: 45 minutes from Florence and Siena; 30 minutes from San Gimignano; 45 minutes from Volterra; 1 hour from Pienza; 25 minutes from Castellina in Chianti...I could go on and on.

Lastly, and most importantly, Sergio and Antoinetta made the experience unforgettable. Sergio is a well of information on Tuscany and makes the experience feel truly Tuscan. What makes this place so different than anywhere else is the feeling you get in your soul; you feel as if you now Italian living the Tuscan way of life.

Antoinetta is the BEST cook. Period. She made the most amazing lunch, and it was the best meal I have ever had. Every meal after the lunch simply did not compare.

In all, I would highly recommend Torre Antica to ANYONE looking for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrpepperdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Torre Antica was all we expected - and more. We were in the smallest of the five apartments - 'Loggia', which is studio-style, in a building dating from the 15th century. While our studio was small and simple, it had the best access to the garden and swimming pool. The only downsides - a rather firm bed, we could have used more storage space (we were staying for two weeks), and one of us would have appreciated a dressing table. But the upsides more than compensated. Meals in the garden outside Loggia were idyllic - plenty of trees, so you can choose sun or shade. And from in the pool, you can see the towers of San Gimignano across the valley!

We did not see the other apartments - they are all bigger, and probably smarter. For much of our time there we were the only guests.

Tavarnelle itself, just a 10-minute walk away, is not Historic, but we found it pleasant and attractive. It has at least five restaurants - we went to three, of which two were first class and the other quite good too. The great thing is that there are not too many tourists around - you get a genuine Italian experience, and the restos have to be good to attract and keep local custom. Also, it is well placed on the road network to get around the surrounding area.

Saving the best to last - the owners, Sergio and Maria Antoinetta, live on site and take great pride in keeping their guest satisfied. Sergio is a fund of information on restaurants, places to visit, and the Tuscan way of life. We learned a lot, particularly about olives, vines, and food.

Definitely on our list for a second visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BampaOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have stayed at Torre Antica on three separate occasions. On one occasion, we stayed at the villa for over two weeks.

First, the location. It is situated a short distance south of Florence and north of Siena so it is ideally located for visiting all of the fabulous destinations in this area, including being comfortably close to many of the Tuscany hilltop towns. From Torre Antica, you can walk to the main part of the little town of Tavernelle Val de Pesa. The village has a wonderful owner-run restaurant with authentic Italian dishes and homemade wine. The village also has on of the better tasitng pizzerias in all of Italy.

Second, the lodging. Torre Antica has several rooms as part of the main building which is well over 300 years old. It sits on a hilltop overlooking olive groves and grape vineyards. The rooms are clean, attractively rustic, comfortable and spacious, charming and relaxing. They include a small kitchen area so you can make coffee and enjoy dining in your rooms after a busy day of sight-seeing. There is also a pool.

Third, Torre Antica's owners, Segio and Antionetta, are the most caring and wonderful people whom we have considered friends for over ten years. There is nothing they will not do for their guests. They are very Italian (read gracious and accommodating), they know everything about the area and Italian food and wine, and they are fun and lovely to be with.

Can not say enough about Torre Antica, its owners, and Tavernelle Val de Pesa. We can not wait to return to our favorite Italy destination again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavarnelle Val di Pesa hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Antica Pieve B&B
Antica Pieve B&B
#4 of 15 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Podere San Filippo Vacation Homes
Podere San Filippo Vacation Home...
#4 of 31 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Podere Vigliano
Podere Vigliano
#2 of 31 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Antica

Property: Torre Antica
Address: Via di Magliano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Antica 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Antica holiday homes for rent in medieval tower in Tuscany. Swimming pool with panoramic view of Sangimignano and Chianti. All pets allowed. Cooking classes with home owners to learn traditional italian recipes. Chianti wine and olive oil tasting with home owners. Romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Antica Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing