We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local eating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gramola

La Gramola
Reserve with
La Gramola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good local eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I ate at this restaurant twice and had good experiences with each visit. I fully enjoyed the ravioli, and yes there were four pieces, yet each was a generous 4x4" stuffed, hand made pasta! My husband, missing his US fare, ordered their version of a hamburger and declared it to be one of the best he has eaten. We found the staff to be friendly, but a little slow, as there were only two servers. We also found this to be commonplace in most of the family owned eating establishments in Italy. I would recommend this to friends and hope to be back some day to visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmax00, Proprietario at La Gramola, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your review finds us really happy to know that our guests understand what we try to do is really rewarding for us and our work.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    100
    38
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Food was very good, staff outstanding and very helpful. Ambience great. Pasta dishes good. Enjoyed eating so close to where we were staying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmax00, Proprietario at La Gramola, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
A very warm thank you.
We are really very pleased to receive these reviews. We hope to see you again.
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner last night after it was highly recommended by our hotel. After sitting down, we ordered our mains. My wife got ravioli and I had the sausages with peppers. The ravioli plate had 4 pieces of ravioli on it! I got 1 piece of sausage with some capsicum. We also ordered a side of potatoes and got 4 thin slices of potato - less than half a potato in total!

We asked the owner about such small portion sizes and the fact that we were both still hungry. All we received was a shrug and an explanation that in Italy all meals are split over 2 courses. We have been travelling across Italy for about a month now. From Amalfi coast up to Chinque Terre and are yet to see 4 pieces of pasta being served as main dish.

We were obviously unhappy and asked for the bill and they chose to ignore us. We got up and paid at the counter and left. Ended up going to the pizzeria down the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Varun301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmax00, Proprietario at La Gramola, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Certainly a customer goes away unhappy is not something that we like. On this there is no doubt.
Think, however, that a portion of 4 ravioli with ricotta cheese and walnuts for a total of 150 gr of pasta with 100gr of sauce is little seems truly outrageous to us.
Of course, I'm sorry, but the fact that ours is a light cuisine and despite you have eaten almost 300g of food (including pasta and vegetables) and you still had hunger remains a milestone for us and we thank you for pointing out this feature of our cuisine.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as nice as it was before”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We ate at this place before and had two wonderful evenings at this restaurant. Now we returned after a year and nothing was left of that.

The place was busy and all the tables were waiting for there orders but the staff was more busy to fill more and more tables. We got no attention from the staff whatsoever
The apertizer was nice, but the main course was cold, tasted very dry and was not nice. They also forgot almost all the side dishes with the main course.

We paid directly and left the place without dessert or coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmax00, Proprietario at La Gramola, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
A single review! Strange! That does not sound very objective!
I would like to point out that if the review had made it all the time that there had been 2 were positive and a negative!
I am very sorry that you have not felt good, but found the same people and the same managers and the same cook last year, maybe if he had returned the next day he would have realized that it was also the same room. You'd be glad to see vacancies in the room and I could hear you say that you do not to seat because otherwise the room would be full?
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant, tucked away on a corner in Tavernelle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived a bit early and the staff was a bit surly but once service started they were very friendly and helpful with meal choices and options. The food was very good on the whole but not fantastic. In my opinion it was a little too al dente but not enough to be considered under cooked. The tomato bread soup was the star meal with lovely soft, slightly chewy pieces of bread with each mouthful. All in all a recommended spot, worth seeking out, for some delicious food in the Tavernelle Val di Pesa area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gramola also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Gramola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing