We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing evening out”

Ristorante Cortefreda
Reserve with
Ristorante Cortefreda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing evening out”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I dined at this great restaurant after reading previous reviews.

We ordered entrees, mains and desserts all were fabulous.
Cheese platter ( forgot name but in truffle section of menu) & risotto
We both had the steak rapped in bacon with a side of vegies and roast potatoes
Affagato and Creme brûlée
Complimentary mascato

The meal sizes were great and it was the first time we were able to eat and finish all 3 courses

We received the best service in all of our stay in Italy (3 weeks) the wait staff made you feel very welcome and explained your meals and suggested the best wine to suit.

Ambience was great we sat outside and were thankful we made a reservation as the restaurant became full very quickly

Great service and great food seem simple but many restaurants can not offer this. It was great that they nailed it for us

Thank you for an amazing night

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    79
    26
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely uneven”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

While the truffle carpaccio was one of the best dishes I've ever had, the calamari gnocchi was quite a disappointment. Overall the food was good but the wobbly service left more to wish for: none of the dishes were presented and at the end of the dinner empty shot glasses were placed on our table with no explanation and no contents. When asked what they were for we learned that they were for moscato a sweet Sicilian wine but still the glasses remained empty (as the other guest did). However the staff was friendly and dinner was good so 3/5

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanelkotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tuscan meal!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a wonderful meal in this restaurant, adjacent to the hotel where we were staying. Fantastic Tuscan food using a variety of local olive oils, vinegars and truffle oils, most of which they also sold in the hotel wine tasting room. The waiter was very helpful, explaining which nearby villages the various ingredients and wines came from, and he was extremely knowledgeable on the wine list. We enjoyed it so much that we came back and ate there again two nights later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine, service, and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We happened upon Ristorante Cortefreda as it was near the villa where we were staying. The menu looked interesting, so we made dinner reservations, and were surprised by a private table in the wine cellar when we arrived. It was one of the best experiences of our trip to Tuscany. Daniel and Max made us feel very special.
The food was excellent. A couple of highlights were the grilled pecorino cheese with truffles and the beef filet wrapped with Italian bacon and topped with fresh herbs. The wine choices were excellent and reasonably priced. Daniel and Max had excellent knowledge and recommendations. We were also offered tastings of special olive oils, balsamic vinegars, flavored salts, and jellies. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pvowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Very good service, food very good . Easy to find and in pleasant surroundings. No view from the courtyard. Staff well trained and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Ianandrews57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Cortefreda also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Cortefreda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing