We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antica Pieve B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Pieve B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came in a party of 10 in June 2012 for a choir trip.
From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, with facilities worthy of a much more expensive hotel. There is also a pleasant lounge for guests.
The Antica Borgo restaurant with its shady courtyard was unmissable, and the food was very, very good indeed, and at a reasonable prices.
The pool, in a beautifully maintained garden, was used by all, and was, like the rest of the hotel well looked after and clean.
Tavarnelle may not be the most beautiful town in Chianti, but it has plenty of shops and restaurants, and good bus links to Florence, San Gimignano, Poggibonsi (with rail station) and many other villages in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the courtyard, which is a bit quieter, although the rooms on the road ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izola, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great location. We ('young' couple) had a fantastic 3 day tour of Tuscany, mainly in Chianti and Val D'Orcia, during last days of April 2012. We found Antica Pieve B&B ideal place to stay and starting point for exploration of this part of Tuscany. Lady, who joined Antica Pieve B&B team short time ago, was very friendly and helpfull, especially when she helped us using her experience as tourist operator to define the best itinerary for our daily tour. Spending all our time from morning to evening around visiting cities, villages and splendid nature we found the breakfast very good and we were not hungry till late afternoon (ok, we stopped for just few beers before). Damjan and Katja

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damjan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was just an outstanding room and location for our day trips through Tuscany. We stayed here for 3 nights and cannot say enough about Katia and Felippe. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfasts were great! We also had dinner there one night and it was one of the best we had in out two weeks in Italy. Thanks so much for helping to make our stay there memorable. Linda and Jerry (Columns and Walls)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Florence and Tuscany on a regular basis for more than ten years and we always seek out B&Bs because they typically offer the best service and the added benefit of true, local flavor. This is definitely true of Antica Pieve! Filippo the owner is a local from this part of Tuscany and has genuine recommendations for things to see and places to go and tips so you can immerse yourself in the culture of the Chianti portion of Tuscany. He is willing to make any arrangements you need from a dinner reservation to wine tasting at local wineries, many of them family-owned and off the radar of typical tourists so feel as though you are getting a more local experience. You feel as though when you leave you are part of an extended Tuscan family--at least we did after a few nights!

Many people make the mistake of choosing a big chain hotel in Florence and use that as a base for exploring the countryside, but Anitca Pieve is perfectly situated as an excellent home-base for exploring all of the beautiful hillside towns of Tuscany including Florence, Siena, San Gimagnano, as well as smaller, quaint towns such as Castellina and Greve. Plus, you don't need to fight the traffic in and out of Florence and you get the nice tranquility of the cool Tuscan breze and the panorama of cypress trees and typical Italian architecture. Antica Pieve is just minutes from the highway runing between Florence and Siena so they are truly very short trips to these cities. The B&B is well-maintained from the individual and spacious rooms to the pool area. If you're tired from lots of wine tasting and country walks, you can completely realx and enjoy the country scenery by the pool. At night after a long day, you don't even need to get back in the car or walk anywhere because the restaurant inside the B&B is delicious. The owner of the restaurant, Katia, makes an excellent "torta" so leave room for dessert!

After years of exploring Italy, and the Chianti Classico part of Tuscany specifically, I can say that if you are looking for a true experience of culture, skip the typical hotel and opt for Antica Pieve. The price cannot be beat and it includes a generous morning breakfast and is family-run so you know that you are being well-cared for and offers the bonus of Filippo who will truly go above and beyond to help you plan great day trips and ensure that you get the most out of your vacation experience. Just as an example, we have done everything from horseback riding, hiking, wine tasting (A LOT of that), private country lunches that last for 3+ hours, local shopping, outlet shopping (excellent stuff and nearby if you are looking for deals on designer clothing, bags, and shoes...everything from Ferragamo to Gucci), dancing, local festivals (we could not have found these without Filippo's help). We just booked our annual sojourn for July and will be returning to Antica Pieve! We cannot wait!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VineSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

We had a great time. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Really fantastic!!
The rooms are as expected and very clean.


Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maaike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

very friendly staff (Felipe-hotel and Katja -restaurant and breakfast). Very clean and spacious rooms in a small restaurated landhouse. good breakfast and good dinner in the evening. staff is very helpfull in giving information about places to visit in the area.
A free parking-place outside that closes automatically (We travelled with a group of 5 motobikers). The hotel has a nice garden and terrace.
Our room was located on the corner of the street and a bit noisy when we wanted to sleep. The main road passes just beside the hotel. I put in my earplugs the second night and than I slept very well.

Room Tip: ask if possible for a room not located on the streetside (a bit noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

This was such a welcoming sight when we arrived in Italy. We really wanted a place that would be clean and comfortable. We got both! The owner was incredibly helpful with getting us oriented and providing lots of maps and information about the area. The B&B is perfectly located if you want to do day trips throughout Tuscany. We loved it...not many tourists in the town, but located perfectly if you want to do some driving through the hills. The pool and the grounds are kept up beautifully and are private; so, it's easy to come home after a long day and sit outside with a bottle of wine. The rooms were really clean and comfortable. There was nothing too special about them, but they had a nice bathroom, large bed, and plenty of closet/dresser space. There is a restaurant there where you can get a very nice meal, but the waiter doesn't speak any English. I would suggest exploring the little town of Tavarnelle because it's cute and has everything you might need. Some of the restaurants are really good there and you can easily walk there. The breakfast at Antica is small, but it's okay. We knew that going in; so, it wasn't a surprise and didn't bother us. If we wanted something more, we could easily go out and get it. We are planning our return visit already. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chianti Village Morrocco
Chianti Village Morrocco
#2 of 15 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Pieve B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Pieve B&B

Property: Antica Pieve B&B
Address: Stradella della Pieve 1, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Pieve B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antica Pieve Bed and Breakfast is a typical Tuscan Villa, located in Tuscany on the hills of Chianti at half way between Florence and Siena on the famous "Cassia" ancient roman road in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa (Florence), in one of the most beautiful Chianti areas. The Antica Pieve B&B is a strategic location from which it is possible to visit the most important historical towns of Tuscany: Florence, Siena, Badia a Passignano, Greve in Chianti, San Gimignano, Volterra, Castellina in Chianti, Certaldo, Radda in Chianti, Barberino Val d'Elsa.During the day you can refresh yourself in the swimming-pool or sun bathe in the garden or in the solarium terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Pieve B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Pieve B&B Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing