We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find the sort you dream of”

La Cantinetta di Passignano
Reserve with
La Cantinetta di Passignano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il locale sorge sui vigneti piu belli del Chianti, esercita orari di apertura molto ampi con uni giorno di riposo il lunedi , caratteristica costruzione Toscana con un arredamento piuttosto moderno, potrai gustare il miglior pesce fresco di tutta la zona, non vi preoccupate, la carne , gli ottimi salumi e formaggi, funghi e tartufo saranno sempre presenti da noi , come da tradizione in cucina
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic find the sort you dream of”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were staying a few minutes away from this restaurant and had driven past a few times. It was always busy so we could not believe our luck when they managed to fit us in. One of the best meals in Italy. The children each had pizza, I had the best pasta with truffles and my husband had the tbone steak. Maybe a little pricey at the top end of the menu but other than this a truly brilliant experience with an excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    89
    35
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Seafood Pasta...”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Starters were average but once we reached the main course for the seafood pasta it was unbelievable.

my wife ordered the clams spagghetti and it was the best she has ever had.. i ordered the lobster tagitelle and it was exceptional.. even better all the food comes in the pan it was cooked in so you can really soak up the sauces!!

unfortunately no space for deserts since portions were quite big...

nice change to tuscany food that is centered around the steak... amazing views and service was spot on! definatley come here again..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faisaljamal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent "diversion" in Chianti”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We discovered the Cantinetta by chance (during an easy tracking in the hills there around), and we thought it would be a very nice option for a well deserved lunch after our walk. We did so and were very happy (as many said a real reflief to eat some fish in a place where Tuscan cuisine - very good by all means - is the undisputed queen of the table (and I don't eat meat...). We had a very tasty lunch (fish-based!!) while admiring the stunning views of the vineyards and hills.
It was so good and the location, the style of the place (lounge-style), the kindness of the staff, clearly the quality of the food made us decide to come back for dinner.
Dinner was also really good, and all we experienced during the day (without the help of the sunlight this time!) was confirmed.
A place to definitely suggest!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuganoTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, with great food and wine!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We had a long lunch here and enjoyed it immensely. We shared a gnocchi starter (quite large servings!) and then a Florentine steak (with sides), washed down with a Chianti Classico Reserva- all of which were superb. The waiter was on his own, but did a great job to serve at a good pace. They also serve seafood, which we did not have but looked great as it was served to other tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borzi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed and hip, will visit again”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our party of nine came in a bit late, but no problem: they fixed an extra table for us to their already full restaurant in front of the bar.

The place has a really nice loungy feeling with good audio and deco, good vibes. There is a nice separate sofa area on the hillside to have an aperitif with friends. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional, and there is nothing to complain about food and drinks: everything was well prepared and very tasty. Will gladly visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantinetta di Passignano also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cantinetta di Passignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing