We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook In The Heart of Chianti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Yolo, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cook In The Heart of Chianti”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The International Kitchen partners with the Hotel Borgo di Cortefreda to provide an excellent cooking class: Cook in the Heart of Chianti.

This is an excellent blend of cooking classes and daily excursions to other towns and wineries in the area. The schedule for the week is very well planned to make a perfectly balanced day of cooking and touring. Chef Luca is an excellent chef and teacher.

The hotel is beautiful, quiet, excellent views of the Tuscan Valley and the staff makes every effort to accommodate all requests from guests.

This was my first trip to Italy and I got the best of both worlds - cooking classes and sightseeing!
I would take this class again.

Norma Berrettoni

Room Tip: Request the first floor with a little patio. Also, the swimming pool area is beautiful - looks out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    165
    26
    12
    2
See reviews for
129
286
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I spent a month traveling around Italy, and my brief time here was one of my favorite experiences. My family and I were staying elsewhere, but wanted to try what they offered for dinner. The staff was accommodating even though we showed up without a reservation, the service was perfect, and the food tasted absolutely amazing.

Then we saw that they offered a four-hour cooking class and signed up for the next week. When we arrived, we had more fun and learned more then I would have ever expected. The chef was waiting for us in their teaching kitchen. We started with some coffee and then dove right in, working alongside the chef to make two different types of bread, several varieties of pasta, tomato bread soup, balsamic glazed filet, and almond biscotti. Through the whole experience, the chef took time to answer any question we had. He taught every element of the recipes with patience and skill, let us work hands-on as much as we wanted, and just made for a fun and memorable experience. They brought us wine to enjoy while we worked, and several other friendly staff members came in to interact with us from time to time.

After the class portion, they prepared a table for us to sit and have lunch, which included everything we had just made. The chef took all the food we'd prepared and turned it into a stunning five-course meal. It was so delicious that we ate until we couldn't manage another bite, and had to ask them to box up the last course. They also sent us home with the aprons they'd given us, as well as a book of recipes covering everything we'd learned.

I can't say enough about how awesome our experience was. Next time I'm in Tuscany, I will definitely come here and take another class.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanDWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraty, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great place, beautiful setting, surrounded by olive trees, wonderful view. Good connections in public transport to Florence. Spacious rooms, nice terrace. Dinner was delicious! Very friendly and absolutely attentive staff, gave good information on the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gudireise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived at Barberino after three hours of continuous rain odyssey through the Tuscany. It was midnight and we were greeted very nice and friendly. We were very hungry after the long trip and the hotel manager has personally led, that we were prepared to spend the night time or tomato / mozzarella. We have yet to get served a delicious red wine from the house. Our room was directly overlooking the mountains. It was great and friendly. The internet was free, it was pretty slow. The staff was nice and friendly, sometimes it takes a little longer at breakfast was served until the coffee. We stayed at this hotel ten days it has unfortunately nothing, absolutely nothing changed posturing at the breakfast buffet. It is a pity that you can not bring into more variety in the buffet.
Otherwise, Tuscany really liked us

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our first time in Italy and the travel agent we hired suggested we try a cooking class at a local hotel and Borgo Di Cortefreda was the place we were sent. The chef was Tommy, a young sous-chef and we had the best time. He showed us how to make home-made pasta, ravioli, focaccia (amazing!) home-made tomato soup and of course, biscotti (we made it with chocolate and sambucca. We had so much fun. Tommy was great, and we got to eat the food afterwards with wine. One of the best days we spent in Italy !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Buongiorno!

Thanks for your comments we are happy you enjoyed our cooking class and Tommy, the Chef,
thanks you as well!

We hope to see you again we have some new dishes to prepare and to taste... with a good glass of wine!

A big hug from Tuscany!

The Borgo's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After Rome, Rimini and Verona we were going to the heart of Italy and were not disappointed. This is a great hotel in beautiful scenery, great service and food.

The room was big and nice, and it had a balcony with amazing views. The outdoor area of the hotel was also great with a pool (which I didn't use since I got a cold before arrival) and a lot of space to walk and sit. Especially the many seating options were nice to just relax and read.

Inside the hotel is also one of the best restaurants of the region so we enjoyed our dinner there every evening.

They also have a wine cellar where you can do wine tasting and can buy wines from the region (they specialize on promoting regional food which is great).

What could be improved:
- bedding (mattress and linens) are sufficient, but could be better for the class of hotel
- internet was for free, but too slow. Get faster internet or offer slow/free and fast/paid.
- TV had a lot of channels, but most in Italian, would be great to have a few more international channels

We will definitely come back next year and will also try out their cooking lessons.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mr. Jan-Hendrik,

we are happy to hear some good words about Borgo di Cortefreda and we appreciate your suggestions:
- about bed linen we are going to change and to have high quality products.
- wi-fi is low because we are in the countryside and we don't have a good signal but we provide to
improve it using a different phone operator.
- For TV channels we follow your suggestion.

We hope to see you again soon and you can check our new services!

A big hug from Tuscany!

The Borgo's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Borgo di Cortefreda on our first trip to Italy. We were there for our anniversary. I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel and how friendly and helpful they all were. Special thanks go out to Massimiliano for arranging a special anniversary dinner for us in the wine cellar, and also arranging our cooking class with chef Luca. Thanks to Luca for all of his tips on how to cook Toscana style. The cooking lessons were a lot of fun and being able to prepare food in a real Italian kitchen was an experience you don't normally get. We learned a lot and then had a wonderful lunch of the food we prepared.
The hotel was easy to find following the instructions from their web site and google maps. Check in was quick and easy was greatly appreciated after a long overnight flight followed by a 3 hour drive. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the views breath-taking. Our room had a wonderful view of the Tuscan hills and valleys and the gorgeous sunsets. Our room was well equipped and spacious. The bed was a bit on the firm side compared to what we're used to in North American hotels but having said that we slept well. The friendly maids did a wonderful job of keeping our room clean and well stocked. The mini fridge had two large bottles of water that were replaced when we used them. There is a charge for the water if you use it.
The restaurant at this hotel is superb. We had three dinners there including our special anniversary dinner which was amazing. The menu had lots of choices and we enjoyed all the food we had here. The wine selection is quite large and includes many very good local wines. We bought a couple of bottles to bring home with us since we can't by that quality of Chianti wines here. The breakfast buffet was quite good with a varied selection of fruits, cereals, breads, cold meat, cheese, along with scrambled eggs and bacon. I enjoyed the morning coffee which was far better than what passes for coffee on this side of the Atlantic!
The location of this hotel is ideal for touring the Chianti region and is a short drive from Sienna or Florence. There are shops and restaurants close by in Tavernelle val di pesa, and Barberino val d'elsa.
We drove to Sienna and parked at the free underground parking at the train station. From there you can walk to the main historic areas of Sienna. It is a fairly long walk, though so don't do this if you have mobility issues. We took the bus from Tavernelle into Florence twice. It was 3 Euros each and took about 50 minutes. It was nice for me to be able to see some scenery instead of having to concentrate on driving all the time. The bus station is centrally located in Florence a short walk from all the main historic areas. The bus schedule is posted at the hotel. We also drove to some interesting smaller places that were within a short distance. Thanks to Luca for recommending we visit San Gimignano! There are also wineries you can visit in the local area as you might expect!
The facilities at this hotel were top class. We had nice weather so were able to spend some time lounging at the pool taking in the scenery and cooling off with a dip in the pool. We got drinks at the bar in the lobby which is open all day. I recommend the Birra Grande!
I can't think of any negative things about our stay. If you are from North America be aware that not as many things are complimentary as we are used to here, although the wifi was free and worked well.
As I said at the start, it was the staff here that made our stay so enjoyable. Max was always around making sure everything was ok and we were well looked after. We will go back to the Borgo di Cortefreda!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
0.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
464 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
11.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Property: Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Address: Via Roma 191, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 units (double rooms/Junior suites) with bath, telephone, TV satellite, safe, frigo-bar, conditioned air, Internet, american bar, restaurant, hall for conferences from 10 to 100 persons fitness and sauna, parking, swimming pool, idromassaggio Jacuzzi type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Hotel
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing