We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic place to stay while visiting Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic place to stay while visiting Tuscany”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently visited Tuscany and stayed 4 nights at the Borgo di Cortefreda Relais. Paying a bit more for a balcony with a view is definitely worth it. Very comfortable hotel with great service and a very helpful staff. Food served at breakfast and the hotel restaurant was excellent. Parking is available and practical if you drive and need a place to park. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the hearth of the Chianti region, 40 kms from Florence, 25 kms from San Giminiano and about 25 kms from Greve in Chianti. We will certainly stay at the Borgo Cortefreda Relais again during our next visit.

Room Tip: - Take the train in Poggibonsi to go to Florence - Do not miss visiting San Giminiano - Greve in C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDN_Xplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    168
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
134
288
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a beautiful place, with a nice view. Rooms are spacious, however bathrrom not ver comfortable, only one towe per person and no place to hang clothes or bags. The food was good, but the service in the restaurant was relapsing. We have stayed set in a table for 40 minutes until we have our order taken. One of the waiters was snoby and unpolite. The next day, despite the good food we did not want to go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fabulous restaurant and lovely staff. The Hotel is set in pleasant well maintained gardens and is in a good central location for visiting a host of interesting towns. The countryside is very pretty. The Hotel is quite shabby and is nowhere close to 4 stars, however it is comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda for seven nights and it was most enjoyable. We ate dinner in the restaurant on four nights and it was of a very high standard. Emanuele was warm, enthusiastic and knowledgable and shared this with diners. He has the the right touch. But all the staff, from the waitresses at breakfast to the room cleaners, were friendly and efficient, though never 'familiar', which is testament to their training and the hotel management. The range of choice at breakfast was extensive and everything of high quality. Local wine, olive oils, meat and produce featured in the restaurant. A three course a la carte meal with wine cost around 65 euros per person. There some excellent alternative restaurants locally, within walking distance. The hotel is set on hill amid wonderful countryside, with spectacular views at every turn, both from the room windows and beyond. The pool is quiet and relaxing and big enough to get a decent swim. It has superb views and sunsets. Bar prices are very reasonable. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about this amazing hotel! My wife and I stayed there for a few days during our honeymoon in Italy, and it was definitely the highlight of the entire trip. Perfectly nestled in the Tuscan hills, the location is gorgeous and secluded. The restaurant is delicious, and the free wine/olive oil tasting offered is great as well. What really sets this hotel apart, however, is the staff. Every single employee we encountered was simply wonderful and went above and beyond in every way to ensure that our stay was memorable. They were definitely the nicest, most accomodating staff I have ever encountered at a hotel, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is very nice, very nice location, nice rooms, nice pool, nice view.
There is only one drawback: the food. We had lunch, and was not good, very basic; breakfast is also basic, service is poor. Restaurant needs to be drastically improved, sorry to say.
Apart from this, a very nice hotel, that I would go back to willingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very nice location with easy access to Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, etc. The restaurant there was fantastic! Food and service were wonderful and the staff was very knowledgeable about local wines. We ended up canceling another nearby reservation to get in a second wonderful dinner there. Also, great breakfast buffet w/ multiple cappuccinos included with hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
0.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
478 reviews
14.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
483 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Property: Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Address: Via Roma 191, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 units (double rooms/Junior suites) with bath, telephone, TV satellite, safe, frigo-bar, conditioned air, Internet, american bar, restaurant, hall for conferences from 10 to 100 persons fitness and sauna, parking, swimming pool, idromassaggio Jacuzzi type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Hotel
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing