We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vacation at the Castello Del Nero”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation at the Castello Del Nero”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at the Castello Del Nero for 6 nights in Sept., 2012. It is a very impressive hotel, restaurant and spa. The service in all areas and spa were outstanding. The views from the large heated swimming pool of Tuscany were spectacular. We enjoyed many visits to the welcoming bar. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts at La Torre restaurant. Castello Del Nero is located a short distance from Florence and Siena. We also enjoyed the trips we took to San Gimignano for touring and dining and the incredible medieval upper town of Colle val d'elsa. We would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Tuscany. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    67
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
112
349
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon to Italy starting 9/18 - 9/23. The hotel is stunning and the grounds are spectacular. The service and staff were incredible and extremely accommodating in providing places to visit, restaurants in nearby villages, and things to do. This hotel is very difficult to top - truly a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is an exquisite property, within a short driving distance from most major attractions in Chianti. But be forewarned: you may not want to leave the hotel at all! There was nothing about our stay (four nights) that was less than perfect. Everything I can think of was extraordinary.
The hotel upgraded us and our friends each to a glorious suite with an additional shared and huge common area in between. Internet,room service, spa, House keeping, restaurants, bar, pool etc. were all beyond first class. The staff was courteous, solicitous and accommodating throughout.
On two different days they arranged a driver and vehicle for us at what we regarded as a moderate cost. Fresh fruit, wine and water arrived in our suite daily.
There is nothing more I can say except "GO"----- but remember, you may NEVER want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Outstanding service to EVERY detail. The most beautiful location in the world. At the moment you walk through the door you feel as though you've walked through time. Loved the original flooring and frescos on walls. Attention and flexibility at the spa was superb. Treatments were the best we received throughout Italy in the two weeks we were there. The bar area was quaint and friendly, keeping the original feel of centuries past....unlike one of the comments, I wouldn't change a thing. Laundry and dry cleaning prices were too high, I agree and suggest either offering use of iron and ironing board or lowering theses charges. However, traveling to 5 star hotels you must expect 5 star services and prices to go along with it. I will return to Castello del Nero and spend longer than our past 4 day stay. Wifi and 3G access could be improved, however, you are on vacation!

Room Tip: Go on line to their website. Pick a room that suites you and request that particular room. We rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Castello del Nero for our honeymoon and had a fantastic experience. Everything is absolutely top notch. The grounds are beautiful and perfectly designed, the staff are extremely attentive, hard-working, and very knowledgeable, the rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. In addition the pool is great, the food is very good, if a little pricey, and the spa was really superb as well (we got a side-by-side massage that was great). The only two negatives I have, and these are both minor, are: first, there is no wifi in the rooms, and only a short ethernet cable for connecting a laptop. For a 5 star hotel in this day and age of tablets and iphones, this is really a shame. However, they do have wifi around the rest of the property (so why not have it in the room?) Second, I would agree that the laundry and some of the extras (food, etc) are expensive....but it is a 5-star hotel, and the service is of that caliber. I would also note that this is a retreat, located in the countryside, and the roads are difficult to drive at night and navigation is also difficult at anytime. This is not as easy as getting around Napa.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekoppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Good day from the Chianti Wine Region,
we are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and we really hope to have the opportunity to greet you again soon at Castello del Nero.
Warmest regards
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had the pleasure to spend two nights here. We only wish that it was longer! What a wonderful hotel and spa. The views are spectacular, the building is exactly what I hoped for in Tuscany, how can it get any better? Our room had views over the patio in both the bathroom and in the room. Brushing your teeth in the AM while looking out over the scenery was just splendid! We used the spa services as well. Very pleasant experience and considering the services, reasonably priced. I also found it nice that they did not push their products at the end of the massage, very nice. The other spa aspects such as the large spa pool with all of the massage jets was great too. The aromas in the steam rooms were just wonderful, very relaxing........
We would come back here in a heart beat with hopes to stay longer!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Good morning from a Sunny Castello del Nero,
how important it is to me and my Staff to receive such nice reviews after our clients departure?
120% as this is fuel for us and helps to keep following our road to Excellence in delivering quality both in service and in professionalism.
Grazie!
Warmest regards
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Castello del Nero is a wonderful hotel in the Tuscan countryside with panoramic views of the valley, vineyards, etc. If you want to escape to the countryside for a few days, the hotel offers a beautiful retreat…however, at a price.

Hotel: The hotel itself is sparsely furnished and has a more rustic feel. The restaurant with its beautiful terrace is a highlight, however. Beautiful views of the country-side made breakfast and dinner at that restaurant a particularly delightful experience. The bar area is rather barebones and not particularly inviting. Hotel management should consider redecorating that part of the hotel. Other facilities like the spa and gym were of a great standard.

Service: The hotel’s staff were most professional and friendly, particularly the pool attendant Daniel who proactively followed-up on any needs of his guests by the pool. The waiters at the restaurant were also most courteous, and served guests with the utmost professionalism.

Rooms: The rooms are very spacious with a beautiful modern country-style décor, accompanied by a generous en-suite bathroom with a classic-style bathtub just like the photos. Excellent housekeeping staff refreshes the rooms 2 or 3x a day to ensure you have clean towels, and go out of their way to even fold any scattered laundry.

Getting there: We spent the night in Florence the day before, so we took a 20-minute taxi ride for Euro 65 to the hotel. That is cheaper than the Euro 115 limo ride the hotel can arrange for you. But the hotel has a complimentary daily shuttle to/from Florence and Sienna. If you want to do day-trips and visits to nearby cities, you may want to consider renting a car as getting a taxi is expensive and cumbersome.

Prices: We paid $385 + tax on Expedia mid-August 2012 when we booked the hotel. For a 5-star luxury hotel in this beautiful country-side setting, this was an absolutely fair price to pay. Dinner was also reasonably priced at around Euro 120 to 150 per meal with alcohol, considering the quality of the food, wine and setting. I only thought the prices for service by the pool were too high – even for a 5-star hotel. Euro 8 for a small Diet Coke and Euro 14+ for a small salad are a little bit exaggerated for a mid-day snack. A day by the pool could easily run into Euro 100 for 2 people, and I find this too expensive – just imagine what a family with young children would have to fork out for a day by the pool. Also laundry service at Euro 14+ for a pair of trousers or t-shirts is too expensive. I would have thought that half the price would be still expensive, but fair for a 5-star hotel. Hence, my rating for the hotel is 4 stars to penalize them for rather unnecessary high prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubai_Adventurer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanGlobeTrotter, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Good day from the Chianti wine region,
along with my Staff we would like to thank you for a so nice and detailed review, we are so pleased to see that our daily dedication to excellence in delivering great quality and great service is so well appreciated but there is always room to do things better and to analize our daily decisions, thank you also for pointing about some of the costs we have applied, we really feel that they are perfectly in line with our category of 5L Hotels but we will dedicate time for a further investigation.
We look forward to welcoming again at Castello del Nero.
Best regards
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
10.4 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing