We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A countryside retreat in a beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is countryside retreat, it is not Florence: the hotel is 21 km away from Florence ring road, almost half way to Siena. We used rental car; a free bus to Florence is, apparently, also avaiable. The good side: beautiful scenery, quiet, excellent setting for walking in the Tuscan countryside. Chianti region is nearby, with all its attractions. Two Michelin restaurants within reach, good own restaurant. Very helful staff, friendly service.

Rooms quite basic given how expensive the place is. No wifi, and a EUR20/day charge for internet surprising. Palestra building is more like a country house, be prepared to swat an occasional centipede.

Spa area is nice, but limited capacity. Again, facilities are fairly basic for the price.

In summary, very pleasant, but expensive. By Florence standards value for money is average, but would probably disappoint most international travellers. Still, a very good choice for a short trip to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local_expatAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Now this is a true 4 star hotel. Exceptional service, spotlessly clean, attention to every detail. From housekeeping to the waitstaff, this place did not disappoint. Breathtaking views. The spa and spa services were great. The food is excellent. Close drive to Siena, Florence, and Chianti. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VACATI0NG0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful place in Tuscany, this is THE place. As most have said, the service at the hotel is outstanding. Rooms very comfortable and nicely appointed. Ample parking. Amazing spa. Tennis court and heated pool. We stayed three nights and ended coming back for a fourth night at the end of our trip. Can't wait to come back to Castello del Nero.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

excellent front desk, service, room, housekepping, breakfast and so on. we did dinner once that we arrived and menu is ok. acceptable for the value. location is perfect. only difficulty is that mobile phone and wifi is no strong even in the main building. no more cable wifi should be in the room. anyway the hotel is really god.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What an amazing visit We had! The hotel is a unique blend of old castle and fabulous 5-star resort. From the moment you walk through the double doors you feel like you've been transported to a different world. The mysterious little hallways and stairways throughout the structure stirred my imagination- what must it have been like so long ago? The concierge staff was unbelievably helpful, the attention of the staff in the bar and dining room made us feel like we were the only guests there, housekeepers, grounds-keepers, everyone was so attentive. The room was beautiful- pristine and comfortable. The views from everywhere were magnificent! Breakfast was delightful complete with an amazing view, and dinner in the dining room was absolutely delicious! The visits to the spa were heaven- another incredible staff! The spa was beautiful and relaxing and the body products like no other. I will definitely return to Castello del Nero and recommend it to anyone who asks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The hills of Tuscany ARE just as beautiful as their pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

There is no bettr place to stay.... Everything from the way you are greeted to the rooms and the food was first class. Chef Giovanni was the highlight of the trip.......If you want to find a little bit of heaven this is the place........

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca sends his personal regards.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Castello del Nero was one of the best finds ever! The property is beautiful. The entire staff was very attentive to our needs and called us by name. My boyfriend was celebrating his 50th birthday and was treated like royalty. The services provided was well worth the price. This is a "must stay" if you are visitng Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
654 reviews
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range: £373 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing