We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Union City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wow.. what an experience we had at Castello del Nero. I surprised my wife with booking the large suite. She was very happy to have this luxury after two weeks traveling through Italy from hotel to hotel. From the moment we arrived the service and attention to detail was impeccable. The hotel is a little hidden, but once you finally find it, it does not disappoint. The surrounding area is lush with vineyards and local farms. We will definitely repeat this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    69
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
118
356
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a place! We arrived not knowing quite how amazing this place would be!
Surrounded by a 300 hectare valley filled with the hotel’s own olive groves, vineyards, paths, villas and forest, the Castello del Nero is quite possibly one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! Among its highlights in addition to its setting:
• Large, luxuriously appointed rooms with comfortable beds and huge bathrooms
• La Torre, a gastronomic restaurant that turns traditional Tuscan recipes into gourmet works of art
• Excellent Chianti Classic wine and olive oil made from the hotel’s farm in the valley
• A spa with master masseurs, innovative water treatments, including the “Heat Experience,” which combines steam, hot tub with the most unusual massage streams and a shower that rains warm and cold water in different directions.
• A staff made up of mostly people who grew up in the region and who provide caring and attentive service
• A huge swimming pool overlooking the valley
• Daily shuttle buses to either Siena or Florence, so that drivers do not have to deal with the chaos and expense of parking a car in those wonderful cities

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We absolutely loved every minute of our stay and every single interaction with members of the staff. This castle, nestled in the heart of Tuscany, made a perfect home base for us as we drove throughout region to visit as many if the enchanting towns as possible in our 5 days. The place is gorgeous, rooms wonderful with divine beds, clean and exquisitely maintained in general and throughout our visit. The patio breakfasts overlooking hundreds of acres of vineyards being harvested were the best, until we'd have a late bite in the bar. Sadly, we had so much to do that we didn't have enough time for the spa or even a swim, but all aspects of the grounds were meticulous and that'll be our focus next time we spend time there.
Oddly, we left Castello del Nero and went to another LHW hotel in Florence where we had a far less enjoyable time: quality of the breakfast did NOT compare, nor did the rooms, the bathrooms nor the internet service. All of which emphasized how fortunate we were with our choice of Castello del Nero!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

With one or two reservations (see below), we had an excellent stay. The hotel has a beautiful setting in the Tuscan countryside. Our room was very well appointed with an excellent bathroom and a panaramic view. The swimming pool is huge.

The staff could not have been nicer....very friendly and cheerful and extremely helpful with directions, suggestions etc.

The dinners at their signature restaurant, La Torre, were delicious and the dishes artistically presented.

A huge plus is the shuttle service they offer on alternate days to Florence and Sienna; this removes all the hassle of driving and finding parking. In fact if you don't want to drive at all, they can arrange all transfers and excursions.

The negatives were the position of our room in the separate wing: all the floors including the corridor are tiled and the noise levels are awful.

They also presented a "Tuscan" evening in a separate dining room and hadn't got their act together. Our starter took 65 minutes to arrive ( how difficult is cold cuts of meat and soup?!) and the main course a further 30 minutes; the food was awful and we walked out. The room was understaffed and the chef clearly gave all his priority to the main restaurant. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid room 212. The bedroom strangely backs onto the bathroom of the adjacent room and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
We are very sorry to hearing that your dining experience in our Tuscan Taverna Restaurant did not match your expectations as much as we did in the Torre Restaurant. I can assure you that our Chef pays equal attention to all the food he prepares with a very high dedication, he personally does apologies for the inconvenient. That evening was successful and we received the congratulations from all the 57 Guests we had but the fact that we were not able to make it for you as well make us feel frustrated and unhappy, we really hope you will offer us a second chance as soon as your travel plans will allow you to do so.
We also hope you appreciated that the total bill for that dinner was on our own.
We wish you a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just returned from a backroads bike tour of Tuscany and this was our first stop. What a great first impression of what was to come. the hotel is beautiful and the grounds are breathtaking.
I went down to the pool after a long day of biking and it was serene and peaceful. Magically a waiter appeared with water and ice and welcoming words. My husband had a wonderful hot stone massage in the spa and reported it was great and really helped with his cycling the next day.
Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent as well.
All together a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The best property we have ever stayed at! We were greeted by wonderful people who knew our entire schedule. The room was beautiful; the bathroom was five steps up and had a sitting room. The restaurant is outstanding; stay with the house wine. Cooking school with the chef was extremely enjoyable and the fruits of our labor were great. The private wine tasting was superb. The spa is unequalled. The staff will do anything for you and are truly genuine. Have them arrange a wine dinner at Casa Emma. Cannot wait to go back. It would be hard to find a better experience.

Room Tip: Our room was 201 which is in the front and has a great view of the Tuscan country side. Take a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our service level, quality and mostly our Staff which is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the moment you arrive, you are graciously welcomed and given a tour of their beautiful hotel and pool. The views are amazing. Just what you see in pictures and in movies. Our room was wonderful, the staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating and the breakfast buffet was perfect. They were always available to give you recommendations and maps and make dinner reservations. You do have to drive everyplace as there is nothing within walking distance but that was not a problem. I was sorry we did not have time to use the Spa as there was so much to do and see, we didn't want to miss a thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyjz407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
10.4 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing