We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castello del Nero Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster
1 review
“Castello del Nero Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From it's incredible location in Tuscany, the beautiful vistas, this impeccable hotel and it's friendly and efficient staff the hotel is one of the finest we have stayed in. It has my unequivocal recommendation. Don't forget the spa!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starcrossed53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    71
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
120
366
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great place to spend few days going around Tuscany. The hotel resides on a hill and rooms have fantastic views over valley with vinyards all around. The SPA run by ESPA is magnificient with great hot zone, outdoor hote tube and good selection of treatments.
Rooms are quite spacious and it cools weel in the night so you can enjoy Tuscan air without a/c.
There a small lake under the hill - good 15-20 minutes walk trhough the vinyards.
The dinner experience at La Torre was not the best - the Terrace is great but the food was not smth to wite home about. The only dish which was really delicious was risotto

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property, I am sorry that your food exeprience was not at the expected level despite you enjoyed the risotto dish, we hope to have another chance to positively surprise you at our Restaurant which is one of our unique selling points and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kampala
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

All I can say is this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. I'm usually nervous about rooms and food!!! when we arrived it was pouring with rain and as a result the rooms for cold. For this time of year it was quite unusual for the region and they explained they could not increase the hear as everything is controlled from one place. So they offered a a heater which I kept for
our stay. Service is really up there with the best hotels. Everyone is friendly and knowledgable!! They recommended only the best restaurants and villages to visit. The restaurant is just up there
with a Michelin star. We are at a 5star Michelin in paris and we must conclude that in comparison the restaurant at CN was rating 8/10 for almost eveything compared to the 6/10 we were giving the paris resto. This was a good choice for our first night! The breakfast was out of this world! quality ingredients and a good variety!!! Sitting on the Terrance for breakfast felt like being in a romantic movie. The pool area is just fantastic and a must when staying here. Service there is also excellent! overall I would give this place 10/10 for service!!! we were given attention all the time. We did an olive oil tasting in the cellar and the gentleman Fabio was just charming and passionate about his job. we enjoyed it so much that it was all worth it even the price of the olive oil. The whole experience was so much fun for a couple...I'm inlove with olive oil...more so than ever before! an unforgettable experience!!! Close to many villages we needed to visit! Close to Florence! took us 3hrs to Rome. Close to restaurants! Easy location.
Romantic place!!! In conclusion this is the only place to stay in Tuscany for us!! Will be back hundred times if they keep up the standards. Thank you Castelo Del Nero for making our stay in Tuscany as comfortable and relaxed as we expected! I would recommend it to honeymooners ;) even though we were not on our honeymoon it sure felt that's way for a couple who's been together forever!!! ;)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeratoAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the stops that my wife and I made during our two weeks in Italy celebrating our 20th Anniversary...after spending time in Venice and Florence we rented a car and headed south...deep into the Chianti region of Tuscany. We took the S2 rather than the Chianti Trail (they run "parallel: to each other) switchback roads through the beautiful countryside...either way, stay off the highways...the drive is incredibly special. We headed to Tavarnelle...home to this SPECTACULAR hotel. Honestly, there is not one thing about this hotel that was not A+.

1) Staff - could not have been friendlier and more helpful..suggested towns to visit, restaurants near and far and sites to see.
2) Rooms - clean, spacious, well appointed...comfy bed (sheets/blankets), large soft towels, comfortable furniture..all you need. Make sure you ask for a suite with a view out of the back of the hotel so you can see the grounds from every window...just keep saying WOW!
3) Grounds - WOW - green as far as you can see, manicured gardens, walking paths, lake, the patio and seating around the pool is perfect...one spot more beautiful than the last.
4) Restaurant - After a day of travel we settled in for a late dinner one of our nights - was excellent! Service, setting, food were all first class, Morning breakfast buffet is terrific with outdoor seating on the patio.
5) SPA/Pool - make sure you take advantage of both...setting, staff, treatments...A+ (gym was small, but had elliptical, treadmill and weights...if you are a runner use the grounds)
6) Location - Perfect! We used the hotel as our base for trips to Volterra (a must), San Gimignano and Siena...close proximity to roads you need - country and highway. Hotel provides directions and maps...or make sure you have your own and/or GPS.
7) MUST SEES - Casa Sola Winery and Vineyard - ask the hotel to make a reservation and let 3rd generation Wine maker Matteo give you the tour and tasting...fantastic! and then go to Antica Trattoria "La Toppa" for dinner - in San Donato in Poggio...Luigi the owner seats you and then will feed you a memorable meal...the food is authentic and very special..BEST Tiramisu I have ever had :)

Can't say enough great things about this hotel...it is a wonderful way to enjoy the Chianti region - treat yourself to a little slice of heaven...It's quiet, romantic and incredibly special..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of five (three teens 18,16,13) stayed at Castello del Nero for three hot sunny July days.

The Good: As discussed by TA reviewers, the property is amazing. Hotel is perched atop a hill with a beautiful Tuscan view right out of a movie. Rooms were great. Some of the most comfortable beds, best showers of any 5 star hotels we stayed in. Pool is beautiful and had plenty of lounge chairs to relax in when we were there. Good thing given the 90 degree heat during the day. The temperature each evening cooled down 20 degrees or so. Nice. Dinner at the hotel was delicious and lunch by the pool enjoyable as well.

The Maybe: Castello del Nero definitely has more of a Spa feeling than that of a fun vacation spot. The whole property was extremely quiet. The vibe seems more akin to a rehab facility (although I haven't been to one.....yet). No music or really any conversation anywhere. If they had played music, I imagine they would have chosen Nurse Ratchet's "pill time" music from One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest. Entertainment options at night at the hotel are nil. You probably need a car here which we didn't have. They did arrange cars for us to neighboring towns, restaurants but you really need to book everything in advance and stick to the plan. Not a go with the flow place (it's not like you can just call a taxi in 5 mins given the rural location). And honestly when we did try to change times, (who can know exactly what time you want to do everything weeks in advance) the lady at the front desk seemed a little bit annoyed with us. They did provide free shuttles to florence, but we had just come from 3 nights there. We did go to Sienna, but that is a day trip only kind of place. Would be a nice spot to launch a Chianti wine tasting tour from but that is not exactly a teen activity either. Bottom line -- my teens were bored.

Conclusion: If you are a couple looking to renew your love or a stressed out person looking for complete relaxation, this is a great choice. But if you asked my teens what hotel they liked best after three weeks of European travel in 7 different cities, castello del nero would be at the bottom of the list. But then again, maybe that is exactly how CDN wants it to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero
thank you for dedicating your time to review your experience with us, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property despite we have not been able to make your stay 100% happy.We really look forward to welcoming you again soon and to have the opportunity to conquer your hearth at full and to really make sure you will bring back a happy memory.
Have a nice day

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is probably my favorite hotel of all-time. We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon, but if we'd known how much we would enjoy it, we would have stayed longer. Our room was upgraded to a loft suite, and it was outstanding, large with very nice furnishings and without a doubt my favorite hotel shower of all time. Management left us a complementary bottle of champagne and a picture frame as a wedding gift, which we thought was very nice.
The grounds and view from the hotel are...gorgeous. The views of the countryside are amazing. The pool is amazingly relaxing and we very much enjoyed the accompanying bar.
We went to the spa for a couples massage and to used the facilities. The staff there were very talented and it was extremely relaxing.
Finally, the staff of the hotel were professional and extremely accommodating, very helpful with our various requests.
Our only slight qualm with this place is that there's no where on the grounds to just have a relaxing meal that won't cost a few euros, and the staff were a little slow to recommend such places. The restaurants on sight, however, were elegant and the food was outstanding.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

5 unforgettable nights in Tuscany with family. Unbeatable location, short drive to many beautiful towns, absolutely beautiful setting, gorgeous hotel, beautiful rooms, bathrooms, restaurant, bar, patio, pool, excellent service, food, etc., everything you want in a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLtraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Have a nice day

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
5.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
336 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa

Property: Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLO DEL NERO HOTEL & SPA - Tuscany, Chianti Castello del Nero a XII century castle, now a 5 star luxury hotel member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is located in the heart of Tuscany. 20 minutes from Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start exploring the Chianti Wine Region. Original frescoes, vaulted ceilings and fireplaces are located in common areas and guest rooms alike, exuding the charm and history of the noble estate it was. The 50 rooms and suites are unique and painstakingly restored, furbished with elegance and completed with state of the art technology. The hotel main restaurant La Torre (1 Michelin Star) offers a unique gourmet experience where guests are pampered by attentive and discreet service while savouring the signature dishes of our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca Di Pirro. At La Taverna restaurant guests can enjoy typical Tuscan flavours and during summer lunches by the Pool. The Bar located inside the castle is a cosy venue where guests may sip on one of our many reserve cognacs, grappa and whiskies. The unique wine cellar is housed in the castle's oldest part and it is the perfect location for wine tastings. The SPA branded ESPA is over 1000 square metres and offers personalised treatments, heat experience, vitality pool, relaxation area and the Fitness Suite with the most modern and sophisticated equipment. The outdoor heated Swimming pool boasts a magnificent view of the valley and lakes below. Two Tennis courts, illuminated for night play, are available. Complimentary shuttle bus service to and from the centre of Florence or Siena at scheduled times are available all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing