We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently close to Arlanda and Stockholm city.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Jarva Krog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Jarva Krog
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to Arlanda and Stockholm city.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is a good place to be for businesses in Solna and Frosunda Port. I really like the act I can walk to my company's offices from here. A taxi to the same place will cost anything from 70 - 110 SEK.

I've had three stays and on each occasion had a comfortable, pleasant room. You get a flat screen tv, working space and two single beds. The bathrooms are basic, with only a shower (ie no bath) in 2 of the 3 rooms I had. Enough space to hang and store clothes, and ironing facilities seem to be standard. There is some road noise and if you need a window open it would probably be too noisy. I didn't find it intrusive. Wifi is free and I always get plenty of bandwidth for laptop and iPad. Your login works anywhere in the hotel.

The people are all wonderful, and willing to take time to explain stuff in English.

There is a small gym, with only two CV machines (bike, treadmill), free weights and a basic multi-gym. There's also a sauna and hot tub.

The restaurant is nice enough, but if you're staying regularly you might find the menu a bit limited. Not much for vegetarians either. You will find that a single course dinner and a beer will set you back between 180 and 280 SEk.

You can also get snack food (salads, sandwiches, coffee, cold drinks) at a shop in reception. But there is no room service.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a Buffet service. Masses of yoghurt, fruit, cereal, breads plus a hot option if you need it.

If you want luxury, forget it. If you want gourmet dining, forget it. If you want endless facilities as home from home, also forget it. But as a place to rest between working days, it's good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosher1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    124
    95
    40
    19
See reviews for
86
60
13
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Listen if your a light sleeper in anyway and you are in a room facing the motorway forget about it. It is now 05:33am and I have not being able to get any sleep. The windows do not fit correctly or they are of an old design thus allowing a large amount of noise in, apart from that, the room is clean, the staff are nice but the road noise is just not worth it. They did not have any other rooms free so I am stuck here. It will be a long day tomorrow.

I am giving the bad review due to this awful noise level.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the motorway and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solna hotels

Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Pros: the hotel suited for my purposes very well. I stayed in a very quiet corner room in the 9th floor, the room did not have any neighbors and I could not even hear the lift "bling". Good breakfast. It also had quite good jogging routes nearby.

Cons: the room temperature was quite hot.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Nothing good to say about this hotel. My room was on a floor that was being refurbished, so there was bare concrete in the corridor and lift areas. I waited 1 hour to get a meal in the restaurant and I am still waiting for the second beer I ordered. The rooms are dull and very noisy, I enjoyed the sound from the TV set in the next room most of the evening and first thing in the morning. (the walls are very thin!)
And to top it all it cost around €180.
I am not picky about hotels, but this is one of the worst I have stayed in. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

The one and only drawback about this hotel is it is outside of Stockholm centre and the walk to the station is a little dodgy. We have two seven year olds and we did it fine in about ten minutes everyday. You have the option of walking along a main road or through a forest. However, the a strip of tickets into the centre is so cheap that it is worth it and the kids are free on the transport at the weekend.

I booked direct with the hotel and got a fantastic rate of around 500 kroners a nights so it was a bargain for a family of four. The room was a little on the small side with two beds and bunk beds for the kids but it was clean. Since most swedish television is subtitled the girls enjoyed all their disney programmes in English.

The breakfast was superb, lots of choice, plenty of places to sit, very high standard of food and drinks.

I would recommed people bring swimwear which we forgot to do so we didn´t get he chance to use the jacuzzi/pool facility which is free for guests.

We ate in the hotel restaurant everynight which was handy after a long day sightseeing with kids. The menu was great, with a kids menu too and the prices were reasonable, it was never more than 600 kroners for the four of us.

The hotel staff in the reception and the restaurant were friendly, helpful and polite.

We would definitely stay here again. We loved Stockholm and the girls loved Junnibacken and the Vasa was absolutely awe inspiring.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bargainflitefinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I spent one night at the Scandic Jarva Krog on a business trip.

Location:
Outskirts, directly at the motorway. Easy to get here by car, terrible views though.
I had some time and went with the tram, indeed 8min walk from Ulriksdal station; not really nice, lots of construction, would not want to do this with a lot of luggage.

Rooms:
No frills, reminded me of IKEA. Looks good on the first glance, but on the second glance you get the feeling that everything feels "cheap". Bed too soft for me.
Internet access (wireless) was free, fast and stable, which is a big plus for me. Bathroom clean. You can hear the cars from the motorway as well as noise from the corridor.

Public Areas:
24h store in the lobby provides a good choice for reasonable prices. Bar is nice. Breakfast was good (free), again, it reminded me of an IKEA restaurant. Single PC with printer available for free - good.

Staff:
Overall absolutely OK, no issues.

Other:
They overdo it a little bit with environmental protection. Only one small and one large towel in the bathroom (as others mentioned, you would need a 3rd one to clean up the mess after showering). Heating not sufficient - it was cold in the room. Ridiculous waste separation in the rooms dustbin. Not a big issue (apart from the heating), but slightly annoying.

Summary:
This is a place for business travellers only - I would never recommend it for leisure travellers. However, if you need to stay in the area on a business trip and a no-frills place is fine for you, it is OK, especially if things like free internet & breakfast are important for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHH_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here for several nights in late August. The hotel is about a 15 minute taxi ride outside the city center.....about $25 one way by taxi....in Solna. there is a train station in Solna that will get you to Stockholm, but I never did look for it. It appears to be a couple km away on the map, I do not know if there is local bus service to get you there or if you need to take a taxi.

From the hotel to the airport is a 430 SEK taxi ride (about $60). there is also an airport bus that stops at a shelter on the frontage road along the E4 highway at the exit near the hotel. It is 5-10 minutes walk or so, but did not look like fun if you had bags....a flight of stairs with 15 steps or so. Was about 100 SEK, credit card only, on the bus.

Scandic hotels are no frills. Room was clean, bathroom was clean. Linens were cheap. Furniture is uncomfortable. There is no AC so if it is warm you will have to leave your window open and deal with the traffic noise from the E4. Wireless internet was free. Breakfast is included in the rate and was fine. Dinner at the hotel restaurant, a la carte, was ridiculously expensive for the caliber, so I settled for the buffet on my last night. Cheap but completely lackluster pasta with chicken or pasta with salmon and a salad bar.

Reception was friendly and helpful. Services in the lobby include snacks/drinks/coffee. Did not have time to try any amenities like pool or exercise room, however the hot tub is out of commission right now and is being redone.

At $220 or so a night, not a great deal, but not a terrible one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solna
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Stockholm Jarva
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Friends
0.3 mi away
The Winery Hotel
The Winery Hotel
#2 of 10 in Solna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Solna
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Park Hotel, Stockholm
6.0 mi away
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Jarva Krog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Jarva Krog

Property: Scandic Jarva Krog
Address: 2 Vallgatan, Solna 170 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Solna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Jarva Krog 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel located on Highway E4, 5 km north of city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Jarva Krog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Jarva Krog Hotel Solna
Scandic Jarva Krog Stockholm County/Solna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing