We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
25
85
56
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
85
56
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooked this hotelyogurtfree parkingbuscarbarcelonaairport
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

To be honest, the only reason I stayed at this hotel was to get the Priority Points! Don't get me wrong, the room was fine. No problem there. It was everything else. The only food available for late arrivals was from a vending machine & as it is located in an industrial estates, there was nothing close to. However, we (I was witha coleague) did manage to find an Austrian theme restaurant about 15 minutes walk away.

Next morning was even worse though. HI Express hotels have the worst breakfasts - bar none! It's included in the price of the room, of course, which means they think they can get away with serving any old crap. Apart from the minimal & cheaply-sourced choice, the little fridge meant for yoghurts was empty & there was no fresh fruit,at all. I mentioned these to the person on reception when checking out. All she could say was, "Oh, you should have asked someone & they would have brought some for you"!

Unsatisfactory customer service, poor value for money... & just not good enough, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear GreenGuy101,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the breakfast during your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We flu to Barcelona for 5nights. Hotels in Barcelona are very expensive so we decide stay outside the city. We found Holiday inn in Montmelo which is 30minutes by train from Barcelona city. Excellent train communication. From airport El prat do montmelo is direct train, single train ticket is around 7euro. From montmelo train station to the hotel is a bus number 510, single ticket 2euro. Good idea is to buy T10 ticket (10 journeys for 1,5h each), which will allow you to travel for 1,5h (this time will cover your bus from the hotel, train to barcelona and metro if you want to go farther then passein de gracia station)
Don't take a taxi cos is very dearly, unless you have to like we took it to get our morning (5am) train on sunday where is no public transport
Hotel is situated next to Circuit de catalunya, where F1 takes place
Staff is excellent! Very helpful people.
Rooms are very clean
Breakfast included, fresh and tasty, great coffee but takes time to make it one cup ;)
We would recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I booked this hotel for a short stay, without a car. It is a very clean, quiet hotel and of a good standard. However, if you are staying here to go into Barcelona, it isn't easy. The hotel is in a quiet area surrounded by factories and business premises, no shops etc to speak of. We took a taxi to the nearest train station then the train into Barcelona which took about half an hour.
If you have a car this would be a lot easier, or if you are there to see the forumla 1 racing, then it's a great option.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We had been staying around Spain and this one was the easiest to get downtown by train once you found the train station. Being from Canada. we're used to seeing a train station. Well it was more of a metro stop but it is near the municipal parking lot which was free we think. At least the car was still there when we got back. It was 3.90 Euros return and took us to the downtown and all the metro stops in half an hour. The hotel is within walking distance of a restaurant and a gas station which has a very large selection of food including pagaged lettuce. A short drive or a long walk is a restaurant called Viena and it is sort of a fast food place. I had a nice salad with chicken and my husband had a hot dog and fries. it was reasonable. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful, the parking free and breakfast was included. My husband commented it was the best sleep he had had. Only downside was a pickpocket tried to get into my husband's front pocket. He caught her hand and bend her fingers. She seemed outraged by him....tough!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I've given this hotel a 3* rating, reflecting the average rating of the two visits we made to this hotel.

The hotel is about a 30 minute (easy) drive to/from Barcelona. It is a great place to stay if you are on your way to/from the city. We stayed their twice: once on our way to Barcelona for a cruise, and the other on our way home. (We are currently ex-pats in France).

The hotel is relatively new, the bedding is comfortable, and because of the relatively remote location, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms are more American-sized than European-sized, which was nice for a change. The rate is a fraction of what you would pay to be in the city center of Barcelona - especially when booked in advance via the Internet for the Internet only rate. They also have a connecting "family room" which has two twin beds, one pull out couch and a double bed. This was perfect for our family of 5. There's a few English news channels on the TV, but no premium channels available. The hotel is in an industrial area, but you can still walk to a couple restaurants and a really neat park that my kis loved.

On our first stay, we found the room to be very clean. The breakfast was very good with a varity of pastries, juice, coffee, tea, cereal, milk, lunchmeat & cheese and yogurt. The biggest negative was that the towels were extremely thin (and there's no indoor pool, but we knew that when we booked.) Based on this stay alone, I would have awarded the hotel 4*s.

Our second stay was quite different. When we walked in to the non-smoking room, we noticed a cigarette odor. When our daughter went to go to bed, she pulled back the sheets and they were dirty. They obviously hadn't been changed. There was cigarette ash on the sheets. Towards the bottom of the bed, there was a bit of dark lint (like when you wear newer black socks during the day and the fuzz between your toes rubs off on the sheets). And it looked like someone had picked their nose and wiped it on the duvet. When my husband went to the front desk to tell them about it, they didn't believe it. They did hand him two clean sheets, though. We didn't get a clean duvet, but we improvised.

When we went to breakfast the next morning (about 45 minutes after it opened) we found fewer options than previously. The milk was warm, the refrigerator of yogurts was empty, and there weren't as many pastry/bread options. It wasn't a bad free breakfast, just disappointing compared to what we were expecting based on the previous stay.

Even after the problems with the sheets of the second visit, I would still book this hotel again as it was just such a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews