We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
25
85
56
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
85
56
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooked this hotelyogurtfree parkingbuscarbarcelonaairport
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

When we came, we where served by a wery nice and helpful younger woman. She helped us ordering food, and she really tried to give us the best service. Also she could speek english! The room is ordinary, but they also come with a distinct smoke smell. The AC was not in function, it was terrible hot in the room. Of course we should have reported this but it was late and we didnt want to change room in the middle of the night. Also this is something the cleaningstaff should see and fix before customers come to the room.

The breakfast was a complete joke! It is absolute not a hotel breakfast. Almost everything was empty, and we have to tell the staff to fill up, bad service! Also the older one of the two had a bad attitude and looked liked she hated her job. It was a complete mess around thebreakfast, dirty, wet on the floor and blood. The staff didnt cleaning this up, it was absolute the worst breakfast experience we have on a hotel! At the end the older woman give us a trail and said something in spanish, she obviously wanted us to clean up ourselves, you pay for hotel service but it is more like cheap hostel. The older staff lady should not work with customers at all, she does not understand the meaning of service!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jörgen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Abakus99,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad you had a good experience at check in. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. I will follow up with the staff to ensure incidents like this won't happen again.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked this hotel as the hotels in Barcelona city were way to expensive, plus you can't go wrong with a holiday inn right? wrong!!
Don't get me wrong the hotel was spotless & exactly what you would expect from a holiday Inn..
The staff that were prepared to help couldn't do enough for us..but 1 or 2 soo let the side down. Maree was the most helpful, she not only gave us a bus & train timetable, but organised taxi's from Granollers to get us home when we got stranded in montmelo.
The absolute worst thing about this hotel is the location..Yes it's quiet, but thats because its in the middle of Nowhere & would definitely benefit from even an indoor pool.
There's a bus, that runs every 30mins costing 2 euros to montmelo town, where you catch a return train to Barcelona, for 4.40 euros, although getting back after 10.30 pm at night is a hike as the taxis & bus from montmelo stop at 10..so realistically I hope you enjoy walking Alot!!
The breakfast is a cold spanish continental, it basic but very fresh & you can have as much as you like..Yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, bread, tomatoes...Perfect for us, but hey we didn't go to eat English food.
Normally we gain weight on holiday, but because of walking back & forth to the hotel almost every day...well

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible (at least floor 5) on the south of the hotel for a great veiw of the Grand prix Track.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

10 MINUTE WALK to train that takes half an hour to barcelona

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bairdy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear bairdy1985,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the overall cleanliness and value of our hotel. However, we are sorry to read that you did not find our hotel in a convenient location for your needs. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

To be honest, the only reason I stayed at this hotel was to get the Priority Points! Don't get me wrong, the room was fine. No problem there. It was everything else. The only food available for late arrivals was from a vending machine & as it is located in an industrial estates, there was nothing close to. However, we (I was witha coleague) did manage to find an Austrian theme restaurant about 15 minutes walk away.

Next morning was even worse though. HI Express hotels have the worst breakfasts - bar none! It's included in the price of the room, of course, which means they think they can get away with serving any old crap. Apart from the minimal & cheaply-sourced choice, the little fridge meant for yoghurts was empty & there was no fresh fruit,at all. I mentioned these to the person on reception when checking out. All she could say was, "Oh, you should have asked someone & they would have brought some for you"!

Unsatisfactory customer service, poor value for money... & just not good enough, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear GreenGuy101,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the breakfast during your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694501

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We flu to Barcelona for 5nights. Hotels in Barcelona are very expensive so we decide stay outside the city. We found Holiday inn in Montmelo which is 30minutes by train from Barcelona city. Excellent train communication. From airport El prat do montmelo is direct train, single train ticket is around 7euro. From montmelo train station to the hotel is a bus number 510, single ticket 2euro. Good idea is to buy T10 ticket (10 journeys for 1,5h each), which will allow you to travel for 1,5h (this time will cover your bus from the hotel, train to barcelona and metro if you want to go farther then passein de gracia station)
Don't take a taxi cos is very dearly, unless you have to like we took it to get our morning (5am) train on sunday where is no public transport
Hotel is situated next to Circuit de catalunya, where F1 takes place
Staff is excellent! Very helpful people.
Rooms are very clean
Breakfast included, fresh and tasty, great coffee but takes time to make it one cup ;)
We would recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews