We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hang on to your money whilst you are in the Poolside Bar !”
Review of Antares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antares Hotel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hang on to your money whilst you are in the Poolside Bar !”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Blueboy

The reason for staying in the hotel was to attend a football tournament. The Hotel has six football pitches at it's disposal. Ideal for a tournament, which I and my friends were participating. My Wife & I found ourselves upgraded to superior suite with a seperate Jucuzzi room & lounge. We found the room extremely good, with all the facilities needed. In regards to a standard room, none of my friends indicated they had any issues. Daily room service was infrequent, if you were in the room when they wanted to make the beds. That was it, you lost your chance have your bed made. We had no problem with the quality of the breakfast or dining facilities. Staff were generally helpful & polite. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, prefering to eat out as a group and see the sights. Swimmimg pool facilities extremely good, catering for a cross section of people. However on the Sunday the Pool is a available to the locals for a small fee and was busy but not rammed. You will definitely need to have your own transport if you are staying independantly and you would like to visit Verona itself

On downside my Wife had her purse stolen in the Poolside Bar and all the cash was taken. Surprise surprise the Bar Manager, was lucky enough to find it less the cash but the credit cards untouched. Taking this in consideration and the fact my friends and I were subject to a very high number of the attempts by the miserable and unhelpful Bar Staff to short change us. All I can say is 99% of the Staff are robbers & thieves, It is imperitive you have your wits about you when you enter this so called friendly drinking establishment, or you will be stripped up or robbed !!!

By the way we lost the footie by default, to put another downer on the weekend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Blueboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    272
    257
    193
    197
See reviews for
191
458
22
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel i have ever been to. The air conditioning was not functioning, so we switched rooms only to figure out it was off in the entire section of the hotel. Instead of upgrading us, the hotel staff demanded us to pay extra in order to get a better room in which the air conditioning was working. SHAMEFUL. Not only that, but the bathroom curtain was also broken, so the entire province had a chance to watch us take a bath. A little extra- even the pole that hangs the shower head was broken. Not that the staff minded, Or even apologized.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore2012, Direttore at Antares Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear guest during you stay most of the guests asked to turn on the heating, with 13 celsius degrees during the day and 9 during the night how we can turn on the air conditioning? It's the coldest spring that we ever seen since 20 years and you asked for the air conditioning? You didn't payed any extra money for the upgrade and you had a larger room, we know that you complaining only because you're coming from a special country that every one knows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Villafranca di Verona hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

What a dreadful hotel this is. It's not a chance 4 start. Firstly the transport linked to Verona are pointless with a bus running irregularly so not recommend for a Verona stay.

So our welcome was the start of a bad 'stay'. Rude and unpleasant. The foyer is dated and grubby. We had booked a suite room on the third floor. On entering the room the smell was awful. Old smoke and musty. However, this was nothing compared to the dirty bath, couch, bedding and marks all over the walls. The pool area was full of local children not staying at the hotel which was anything but relaxing.

In fairness to the hotel, we didn't even bother complaining neither did they ask why we where checking out early. After 4 hours decided to checkout and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I am not generally a fussy traveller. I've been around the world as a backpacker.

This hotel was awful.

The hotel is about 20km outside of Verona, it is fairly close to the airport. The buses to and from Verona run infrequently (we arrived on a Sunday and there were none at all). A taxi to Verona costs around 30 - 40 €.

The marketing for this hotel is very good and does not at all resemble what we found in the hotel.

On arrival the receptionist was rude and abrasive.

We booked a "suite" because it was my birthday. There was a living room with a sofa facing a wall less than a foot away and a tiny TV which you couldn't wash. The sofa was dirty.

The bathroom had a shower and a jet-bath. The bath had not been cleaned and had dirt marks all over it. I've stayed in backpackers hostels that were cleaner.

Our room had the view of a nice swimming pool (there are two). We found a couple getting intimate (granted not the hotel's fault).

The other pool was full of children who did not seem to be staying at the hotel.

We ate lunch - which wasn't great and again some attitude from the waiting staff.

We arrived at about 2pm and had checked out by 6pm. No apology was given by the receptionist. We moved to Hotel Bologna in the centre of Verona - supposedly a 3 star hotel but was heads and shoulders above this place and far cheaper.

Complete waste of money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codge85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel is so perfect, we stayed here for about 4days and 3nyts, our room is big,(not expected) very comfy bed.The bathroom is perfct wid bathtub.buffet brkfst is prfct. Alot of choices.. Close to villafranca, and 20mins fr. City verona. The s.pool is so likey and the sauna etc..bar. Billiard table etc.... Super like..a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portoroz, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

..really did; very easy to find (in the suburb of Villafranca, close to the airport), on the left side, comming from Verona towards Villafranca
If you are lucky you may find a parking spot in the garage, (limited places, I guess there are few places for cars )
very spacious reception hall, 2 young and sypatic girls at the reception,
quite wide range of food at the restaurant (I had breakfast buffet) for italian standards (I was very surprised at the morning) and polite stuff
The room was cosy, bathroom with shower and bathtub, I found complementary shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpast, and cleaning sponge for shoes - never seen/found in any hotel room visited so far!! sleeping quality was very good
When I entered into the room, it was very heated..even too hot to sleep
Behind hotel there is a horse stable, you can watch horse breeding from your room window!
Near hotel is wellness center with saunas, massages and etc...I didn't see it, but I saw a sun terrase on the hotel roof..on the outher side is outdoor swimming pool which was closed (it was in December 2012)
If you are looking for a night or two to stay outside Verona, I definitelly recommend antares hotel in Villafranca di Verona...few steps from hotel are restaurant with pizzeria (La greca), shooping center, clothes stores and self gas station...
Generally speaking my experience is positive and would come back....

Room Tip: there are 3/4 floors (elevators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucijaSlovenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Thankfully, the bus to and from Verona (Number 156) picks up right outside the hotel gates. It runs from 6:04am to 19:14pm at hourly / half-hourly intervals depending on the time of day (timetable available at reception). Finding a seat on the bus never proved an issue. The bus to the city takes just over 20 mins and drops you about a 5 minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre and the heart of the old town on the corso P.Nuova. The last bus from Verona departs at 19:55pm, on the opposite side of Corso P. Nuova, about 2 minutes walk past McDonalds.

As for the hotel, I stayed for two nights on business as the location was convenient, but would not recommend the place to leisure travellers - room maintenance is lax and corners are clearly cut to keep costs down. On the plus side, in room wi-fi was free with no log-in required and signal strength was consistently excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the hotel, as the curtains were not effective in reducing light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeSmyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villafranca di Verona
3.3 mi away
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
#1 of 1 in Caselle di Sommacampagna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
#1 of 4 in Dossobuono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Expo Verona
Hotel Expo Verona
#3 of 7 in Villafranca di Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Point Hotel
West Point Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dossobuono
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.0 mi away
AirportHotel Verona Congress & Relax
AirportHotel Verona Congress & R...
#2 of 7 in Villafranca di Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
4.7 mi away
Montemezzi Hotel
Montemezzi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vigasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel

Property: Antares Hotel
Address: Viale Postumia 88, 37069, Villafranca di Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Villafranca di Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Villafranca di Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antares Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Verona
Antares Hotel Province Of Verona, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing