We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arnage
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This chain hotel is unusually for this type of hotel situated in a very pleasant, quiet spot near to a lake used for leisure purposes. It is typical of its type, the rooms were clean, but in need of some redecoration. The private car park was adequate.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was as one would expect, acceptable but not great.

I would recommend the hotel for an overnight stop when travelling, particularly if you book ahead on-line and get a good room rate. It is not great value at the rack rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had long given up staying in Campanile hotels as we have have a history of dirty rooms, poor food and awful service. However "any port in a storm" after the hotel we expected to stay at was closed for no reason!
There had been an attempt to freshen up the look of the rooms which was nice - no tatty, smoky bedcovers and tacky pictures.
The restaurant meal was the best we have ever had in a Campanile and the staff were lovely. I was pleased to see the hotel also had a bar area which I have never seen before in a Campanile. Normally you have to have your drink at the dining table which we do not always wish to do after 7 hours driving! We crave standing up at that point.
The quality of the food and the preparatipj and presentations was very good - almost gourmet. The whole group should model itself on the staff here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was our first stay in a French Budget hotel.....trust me, compared to this hotel, Travelodges are pure, unadulterated luxury!!

Really don't know where to start, suffice to say that both our rooms were smelly, dirty and really unfit for human habitation. If it hadn't been for the fact that we arrived latish, after a 9 hour drive we'd have tried to find somewhere else.

They even managed to say that we'd only booked one room and not two (and were fully booked) until I went round the other side of the counter and pointed out both bookings on their screen.

Stay well clear, there must be much better options out there at 70 euros a night!!

Room Tip: Easy....book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I usually choose to stay in Ibis hotels but for our return journey from Cognac to Calais I planned to stop on the outskirts of Le Mans, close to the car museum and the 24 hour circuit, and this one's location seemed better. However, I was not expecting a motel arrangement with chalet-style rooms on two floors across the small car park from reception. Nor was I prepared for the black, mouldy grout in the bath tiles.

If this had been a "Next Generation" Campanile, (or any Ibis, for that matter) I would have been able to get a snack outside of mealtimes, but it wasn't. Lunch for us, was the biscuits that were with the tea-making facilities in the room.

The voucher for a complimentary drink before dinner was exactly that - one between two adults per double room from a limited choice of aperitifs, Martini not being one of them.

So, having paid more for the rooms, (Ibis is -30% if reserved >30 days in advance) more for dinner and more for breakfast than in the Ibis on our outward journey, would I recommend this hotel? Not likely. I have stayed in some nice Campaniles but this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XF_Jagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Campanile's are Campanile's but this one was welcoming, warm (certainly better than the following night's supposedly more upmarket destination) and pleasant.

Service was excellent, the room adequate and nothing really seemed to be too much trouble! And to top it all I had a chance to watch the F1 before checkout... bliss for one of the most exciting races for a while.

I suspect it's quite popular come 24 hour race weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This is a Campanile, and all Campanile hotels are the same. Therefore if you have been to one before, you will know what to expect.

We stay here as it is very close to the Le Mans/Alain Prost Kart Circuit (5-7 min drive).

The accomodation is ok. All rooms are twin. Lack of air conditioning or decent ventilation can make it quite warm in the rooms if the weather is good. However it is cheap, and the beds are all new.

Breakfast is quite good, with a reasonable selection. The bar is very small, and staffed by the somewhat abrupt reception staff. The beers are very expensive...so go and drink elsewhere!

There is a great lake by the hotel which is very picturesque, and a nice place to stretch your legs with a walk.

Overall, this is a standard hotel, but very useful if you want to go to Le Mans for the car or kart racing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ElishaDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank Jeffguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnage
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Le Mans Sud
B&B Hotel Le Mans Sud
#2 of 5 in Arnage
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brit Hotel Le Cottage
Brit Hotel Le Cottage
#1 of 5 in Arnage
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inn Design
Hotel Inn Design
#4 of 5 in Arnage
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Est Pontlieue
24.3 mi away
Campanile Sable Sur Sarthe - Vion
Campanile Sable Sur Sarthe - Vio...
#1 of 1 in Sable-sur-Sarthe
99 reviews
4.3 mi away
Campanile Le Mans Centre
Campanile Le Mans Centre
#17 of 41 in Le Mans
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage

Address: Bd Pierre Le Faucheux La Gemerie, 72230 Arnage, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Arnage
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arnage
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing