We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in South Wales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olway Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights (two couples) in mid-July, and this hotel is really a hidden gem. Nicola and Matthew, the proprietors, are doing a great job in making this inn something extra. The rooms were fairly recently refurbished, and bathrooms were clean and nice. As it is an old house, some rooms are small but adequate. My sister and brother in law had a family room which was very spacious and nicely decorated. I also liked the little touches that add so much to the general impression like complimentary bottles of water & candy (replenished when needed) and the rather high end toiletries that were provided. Nice!

There is also a very child and dog friendly beer garden, where Alfred the pub dog keeps both kids and guest dogs in good order. If I ever were to get a dog for myself, it would have to be an Alfred. Probably the most social and friendly dog I have met so far.

The food at Olway Inn was significantly better than any other food we experienced during our trip around Cotswolds and Wales, thanks to head chef Nicola. Yes, you will find the usual bar menu dishes but they are very well made – great steaks for instance. In addition, I was very glad to find a bit more unusual dishes as well like lambs liver, Jurassic ribs and slow roasted pork belly for example. The pork belly was one of my absolute favourites. In fact, our initial intention was to sample different restaurants in Usk, but the food at Olway Inn was so good that we dined here during our entire stay.

The location in Usk was perfect as a base for exploring the south of Wales and the Brecon Beacons national park as we did.

To conclude, I can warmly recommend this Inn, and we would be very happy to go back some time in the future which we probably will, since we liked Wales a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Blacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    50
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
98
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed one night recently, The quality of the room and decor were very good, the staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent both in quality and presentation. The bar area was rustic but functional, probably could have done with some comfortable sofas in one area. However, for the price paid the package represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

dinner was great we both enjoyed it very much. staff very welcoming and helpful, nothing to much trouble. real ale in the bar. room spotless and with great view. breakfast so big it was scary. had a great time and will certainly go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodmylward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Recently had a big family gathering at the Olway Inn, we had the family room, just lovely, very pretty, four poster double, bunks for the kids, crisp white linen, spotless bathroom, all as you could wish for. The food was great, my steak with sweet potato chips was quite possibly the best steak I've ever eaten! Breakfast was enormous and perfectly cooked and presented. All staff very helpful and friendly. Would happily recommend for anyone who likes excellent food!

Room Tip: Family room a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel last night, the rooms are adequate and they provided a sewing kit, body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, cotton bud, cleansing pads, tea, coffe, biscuits, sweets and even a couple of bottles of water the room was exceptionally clean. The only thing I could say about the room is that the toilet was very close to the bath but might not be the same in all rooms.

FOOD
For a starter I had mushrooms which is the only starter I ever have but these were the best ones ever. For my main I had chicken and I didn't realise chicken could melt In your mouth but this did, my husband had steak pie with large chunks of steak which were so tender. All the food is homemade and I can't imagin anyone ever being able to finish it all.

For breakfast there is cereals, fruit, juice, full English, toast and jam and of course tea and coffee.

Mat, Nicky and of course Alfie the dog could not be any more welcoming and are happy to suggest places to see we spent today at St Fagen Welsh outdoor museum also well worth a visit.

We will defiantly be back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The location of this hotel is great, the staff seemed friendly and keen to please and the breakfast was quite good, but other less pleasant aspects marred our our overall opinion. Firstly, our room wasn't really en-suite, as the bathroom which went with the room was outside in a kind of corridor. The bathroom was the real problem during our stay, as it sometimes smelt of sewage and had no window or ventilation. The room and immediate area around it had various bits of painted hardboard covering up areas fullof junk which was rather off-putting. However, the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean and we slept quite well. At breakfast time we were given no menu and just told we 'could have anything'. The result was an overfull plate with far too much food on it, including white toast and white fried bread for which we had been given no choice and therefore had to leave. I noticed that there was quite a lot of waste food on other diners' plates, too. Nevertheless, the breakfast items were well-cooked, just not presented very well.

Room Tip: Check that the room is really en-suite and that the bathroom has ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwhinberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Visited the Olway in on July 7th and was greeted very warmly. The food was amazing and the service was first class, although it was quite busy we were given fantastic service nothing was ever too much trouble. I would like to thank the staff for a very enjoyable night, and I will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
6.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing