We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding and Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olway Inn and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nothing could fault the two night stay we had at the Olway Inn. The food and accommodation was exceptional and the staff certainly made our short stay something to remember.

Our short visit and experience of Wales was made all the better with staying at the Olway Inn and it was great to find that Nicola had worked in Perth, Western Australia, where we came from. The food was not typical pub style, but could have been associated with any fine dining restaurant - the full cooked breakfast was huge and pub menu very extensive.

The room we had (at the front of the building) was quite spacious, comfortable, well maintained, clean and with a good sized en-suite. Access to the accommodation is via a small flight of open stairs at the rear of the building, and there is adequate parking at the rear as well.

The Inn is a short 10 min stroll from Usk where a number of other restaurants, pubs and shops can be found, and Usk is nicely located for easy day trips to many sights and attractions in the region.

We would certainly stay at the Olway Inn again should we visit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the front garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    50
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
98
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 2 nights at the Olway Inn and cannot speak highly enough of the food, comfort and attentive service. Rooms, though small, are clean and have thoughtful touches, such as the umbrella, which fortunately was not required on this occasion as the weather was lovely too! Nothing was too much trouble, and if they didn't have something which was asked for, they got it. Hope to visit again when next in Wales.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I were taken here for dinner last night by my parents. The food is absolutely amazing! Served hot and so tasty! We Will definitely be making the 32 mile journey back to The Olway Inn to taste more of the meals here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellejohn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed two nights and loved it. Room was very clean and comfy and the housekeeping excellent - fresh towels both days. Owners and staff are lovely people. we had dinner twice in their restaurant. Food was exceptional - locally sourced and cooked with care and love to perfection by a very talented chef to a very high restaurant standard - not your usual pub food. Full English breakfast was huge and really good. Bar is great and very cosy with a log fire and an Otter Watch camera (sadly no otters seen while we were there). Highly recommended and thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandviv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are just back from dinner at the Olway Inn. All I can say is that all the food was divine. A wonderful way to end Valentines day. This is the third time we have eaten here, we tried a bar meal then Sunday lunch and now dinner in he restaurant. We just cannot fault it, superb food every time. Thank you to all of the staff who were very attentive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wyetapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We can't fault this inn. Room was spotless and comfortable. Rooms are quiet, you don't seem to get the usual banging of doors that you can get in pub B&B's. chef and host are both lovely and do everything to ensure you hav a comfortable stay. We had a evening meal and both meals were cooked to perfection. The chef there is truly gifted. Really yummy food. We used the inn as a halfway stop on our way to camarthen and we are really glad we found this fantastic inn.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -5231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

As new residents of Usk this was our third venue to sample. My husband and I enjoyed a lovely bar meal at a very reasonable price. The food was plentiful and piping hot, a must with me (the piping hot part). We are early birds around 6pm so there was not many customers but gradually the place began to fill up, it looked like a party was forming so we gleaned that this must be a popular venue. Overall we enjoyed the food and the ambiance and felt welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyetapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
6.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing