We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food worth travelling for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Olway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food worth travelling for”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely food, welcoming staff, great atmosphere in the bar, we regularly travel 15
to get there. The mackeral starter I had last week was outstanding. I wish I lived in Usk, I would spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
102
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales uk
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have visited the 'Olway' on a couple of occasions our last visit being Easter Sunday but havn't got around to a review ... so here goes..........
Well in a word ' brilliant' this place is so pretty, very oldy worldly, lovely dining room with white table cloths and beams ( you get the picture ) all the food is of high quality, sourced locally I believe. As a party of 6 we were able to try a number of the dishes .... starters, prawns in breadcrumbs ( home made )
with a wonderful sauce sauce, excellent, fried cambre cheese, delish!!! and wonderful homemade soup........ main course , Lamb, Pork, Beef or all 3...... there was also a choice of fish or vegeterian .. well most of us plummed for the 3 roast with lots of roast root veg and a choice of boiled veg. wonderful...... we were realy full as 'eggs' but 3 of us squeezed in a dessert - ... could'nt fault it. also very good house wines at an affordable price .. Even though all the staff appeared to be very nice we were served by a lovely young dark haired waitress who was available and attentive without being overbearing ...which we appreciated ... the whole place has a lovely ambiance with a rustic bar overlooking the gardens which provides bar meals and drinks...... I understand it also has rooms but have not stayed there as we are fairly local, however, for anyone coming to 'this neck-of-the-woods' you really could not get a better place to stay as it is in situated in wonderful countryside just outside Usk town and valley..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather-beano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hi, myself and my wife have just returned from a 1 night stay from the Olway inn,, From arrival it was very friendly and helpful. The room was very very clean and comfortable with free water, tea, coffee, sweet jar, iron,, hair dryer,, etc,, FOOD HERE IS AMAZING FROM EVENING MEAL TO BREAKFAST,, I can say that we have not seen better anywhere !!! there is a great choice of beers and other drinks and all for a reasonable price. The Olway inn and hotel is run by a very hard working genuine couple and they should be very proud of what they do as this is rarely seen these days!! ( thank you ) I highly recommend you stay here as you won't be disappointed. Thanks Mr and Mrs davies

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Treasures are often hidden and have to be searched for,

Don't expect to find anything commercialised or over sophisticated about this countryside
Inn / B&B

What you see is what you get - stone flagstones and rustic charm. Rooms are available, but I cannot comment on those, because I did not see them.

The lunch menu was tempting, and the chef clearly takes pride in her selection of locally sourced produce and its presentation.

An excellent lunchtime dining experience.

I can recommend The Olway Inn to visitors to this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nothing could fault the two night stay we had at the Olway Inn. The food and accommodation was exceptional and the staff certainly made our short stay something to remember.

Our short visit and experience of Wales was made all the better with staying at the Olway Inn and it was great to find that Nicola had worked in Perth, Western Australia, where we came from. The food was not typical pub style, but could have been associated with any fine dining restaurant - the full cooked breakfast was huge and pub menu very extensive.

The room we had (at the front of the building) was quite spacious, comfortable, well maintained, clean and with a good sized en-suite. Access to the accommodation is via a small flight of open stairs at the rear of the building, and there is adequate parking at the rear as well.

The Inn is a short 10 min stroll from Usk where a number of other restaurants, pubs and shops can be found, and Usk is nicely located for easy day trips to many sights and attractions in the region.

We would certainly stay at the Olway Inn again should we visit the area in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the front garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 2 nights at the Olway Inn and cannot speak highly enough of the food, comfort and attentive service. Rooms, though small, are clean and have thoughtful touches, such as the umbrella, which fortunately was not required on this occasion as the weather was lovely too! Nothing was too much trouble, and if they didn't have something which was asked for, they got it. Hope to visit again when next in Wales.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I were taken here for dinner last night by my parents. The food is absolutely amazing! Served hot and so tasty! We Will definitely be making the 32 mile journey back to The Olway Inn to taste more of the meals here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellejohn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
2.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
6.5 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olway Inn and Hotel

Property: The Olway Inn and Hotel
Address: Chepstow Road, Usk NP15 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olway Inn and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Olway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olway Hotel Usk
The Olway Inn And Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing