We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”
Review of Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in room 1 at the hotel after a wedding in a large hotel nearby. The cost was half the price of the "posh" hotel and the staff were twice as friendly. We really enjoyed our stay, room very clean, plenty of tea and coffee etc., in the room. Not a speck of dirt anywhere. The room was a bit on the small side, but bearing in mind the cost of the room we couldn't really grumble, even though we were absolutely roasting in there. The hotel had supplied a fan but it was rather noisy and there was nowhere to place it to move any cool breeze around. It was however a very warm evening to say the least. I guess the room would be nice and cosy in the winter. Very good value for money. Breakfast had to be booked the night before so we declined, but we regretted this when we saw other people eating a lovely cooked breakfast when we checked out. There was also a good range of cereals and fruit on offer so would recommend if you stay you pay the extra for the breakfast. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
28
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a night in this wonderful old pub steeped in history. Our bedroom dated back to the 16th centaury with majestic low black beams and painted white walls. Excellent comfortable bed with a small; but more than adequate on- suite.
Our breakfast was English style and plenty of it, enough to keep one going for the day. We were told the ghost was benign, but apt to wondering the corridors at night. My partner swore she heard it, but I slept through it all.
Usk is a delightful friendly, picturesque and historical town with lots of good eating places to suit all tastes, Next time we stay longer at Cross Keys and enjoy the hospitality of our hosts and other pub patrons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been staying at the Cross Keys since Nicola took it over years ago. The rooms are clean, comfy and reasonably priced. The food is great and there's loads of it. There's a true family atmosphere during the day and in the evening there are always a few of the regulars to chat with if you're bored. The breakfast is tremendous and Brian, Nicola, the family and staff always make you welcome.
The Inn has great character and is right on the main street but with plenty of car park space at the back that is chained up overnight.
Would recommend it to anyone whether on business or just wanting to tour the local area which is beautiful.

Room Tip: all the rooms have showers except 5 which has a bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend - Friday, Saturday and Sunday over the Bank Holiday weekend, as we were visiting friends that live in Usk.
It's a lovely old pub, full of character, with ample parking at the back.
The room was lovely, the bathroom perfectly adequate, if a little small.
The only slightly negative comment we would have would be that we found it very noisy at night as our room was directly over the pool table and , like a previous review it sounded as though you had 50 people in the room !! However, we were so shattered every night that it didn't take us long to drift off in the very comfortable bed.
The owners and their staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome, and the breakfasts were huge! Very well done to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 is right above the pool table and gets quite noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahd0rset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed with on a work trip. The family who own it are lovely and very helpful. It is perfectly situated in the town of Usk, which is one of the nicest places. The rooms are clean and comfortable and were just right for what we needed. Will hopefully like to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF UNITED KINGDOM
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding just down the road, what a lovely cosy pub as soon as we walked in we loved it, as we wasnt staying long we didnt find out very much about it but definately will be returning to find out more. anyway when we first arrived we were greeted by a nice warm welcome and smile which was nice and started the day off good because that goes a long way in my opinion, the B&B was clean & tidy. the bedroom was comfortable with Tea & Coffee available and to be honest plenty, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay, Breakfast in the morning was one of the best we ever had. we will certainly be visiting this B&B in the near future. Thank you once again for making us welcome see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONYJONESREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Only just got around to taking pen to paper, keyboard whatever. Having spent the day fishing the river Usk is just stunning. I retired to the bar lots of locals very friendly, Had a great night and super breakfast Bri & Nic thanks very much. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.2 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Property: Cross Keys Inn
Address: 24 Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Cross Keys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Inn Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing