We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Gorgeous Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Gorgeous Wedding Day”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

21st July 2012 - The venue is superb, the staff are amazing and everything runs like clockwork. Prior to the wedding the help that Carol (wedding coordinator) and the team provide you with is fantastic. Everything is well organised and so professional. On the day itself all our guests could not get over the quality of the food for both the wedding breakfast and the evening hog roast - (optional). Out of this world, our wedding day was everything and more we could have wished for. The wedding packages which are put together by the hotel ensure everything is taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    53
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
146
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We would like to say a huge thank you to everyone at the Glen Yr Afon Hotel for making our day a huge success and the most enjoyable day and evening for all our guests. From the start to finish, there is not one thing I would change about day. We were made to feel like our wedding was the most special and important one that had ever taken place at the hotel! The wedding breakfast room was set up so beautifully, the food was perfect, the staff were amazingly helpful and a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. The feedback from our guests regarding the service at the hotel has been superb! There is even a couple who attended that are now looking to book their wedding reception there too! Thank you so much to every member of staff there who made our day perfect, especially to Carol and Jamie who helped co-ordinate and run the day for us….we are already looking forward to coming back to the Glen Yr Afon on our first anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed in hotel for a recent wedding, Couldnt have gone more smooth. Food was beautiful and staff attended to every need. Hotel was spotless from the rooms to the toilets. The evening music was amazing and catered for all ages. If i had to criticise, it would only to be that the DJ finished playing too early, Other than that, Huge thank you to all for making the stay/wedding such a special day/evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Was very disappointed about our latest stay at the Glan yr Afon! After attending a wedding here previously we booked a room to make our day run smoothly and with a young child this was essential to ensure he was catered for throughout the day. Unfortunately our room was not ready when we tried to check in at 2.15pm despite guests checking in for the wedding the following day being able to walk straight to their room. We were directed to another room with our bags and toddler to change him then made our way back to Reception to wait for our room only to find that there were baby changing facilities on the ground floor! Staff were very young and unable to resolve our issues- we were not even offered a late check out or discount on our room despite not being able to access our room on time. Not off to a good start but service was generally poor throughout the day with the bar staff not knowing what a white wine spritzer was!!! Toilets were not checked throughout the day and were in a terrible mess by the end of the night with glass and toilet tissue everywhere. Grounds are stunning but there is a strong smell of sewerage to the back of the hotel. Very disappointed with our stay- would not recommend this hotel, plenty of lovely bed and breakfasts in the local area for a much better price.

Room Tip: Ring beforehand to ensure room is ready for check in, especially with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janthony7651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TStrong, Owner at Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Janthony7651

Thank you for your recent review of last Saturday. I have now had a chance to discuss your points raised with all staff involved.

Firstly I am very sorry that your room was not quite ready at 2.15pm, we do try our utmost to get our rooms completed by 2pm for guests arriving. I know from your correspondence with us that we did get your room ready by 2.25pm and in the 10 minute period between we did find an alternative twin room in which to change your young child. We didn’t feel that it was appropriate to show you to our ground floor baby changing facilities because you were very specific about access to a bedroom to change you child. Alex the gentleman who spoke to you was doing his very best to be helpful.

The guests checking in for the wedding the following day had different room requirements; which is why we were unable to swap rooms to accommodate you immediately.

Yes, we have a wide mixture of staff and some of them are youthful, but they all have a vast knowledge, experience and are highly regarded by our guests and also the directors of the business. With regard to the bar staff we do often check if guests mean a spritzer with soda or wine and lemonade.

Our toilets are checked several times during the evening, but my apologies if they were messy by the end of the party.

Once again thank you for your feedback, but as regular customers of the Glen-yr-Afon you will appreciate how much effort is put in to provide the best experience – I can assure you that we remain totally committed to our high standards, and trust we can be of service in the future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Tim Strong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and I just cannot fault it.
We attended a wedding in July 2012 and I would urge anyone looking for a venue to snap this place up asap. Even if you are not lucky enough to be invited to a wedding there, try it anyway -if you can get in- you won't be disappointed.
The whole day was wonderful, the food was delicious and everyone we spoke to agreed that it was superb.The staff were highly professional and ensured that the whole day ran like clockwork. Believe me, these people know what they are doing!
The accommodation was lovely (can't understand the reviewer who called it old fashioned) and very comfortable.
All in all we had a fantastic and memorable couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Myself and now husband searched our surrounding area for our perfect wedding venue and once we had visited The Glen-yr-Afon we knew it was the venue for us. It looks beautiful, has wonderful surroundings and the staff and service is second to none. As we had found the venue that we longed for we promptly booked our wedding for August 2012. From that moment on we were continually impressed with the venue. We attended several times for wedding fayres, experience days, food tasting, afternoon tea and Sunday lunch and on each of these occasions we were left feeling more and more excited for our big day.
When the day finally arrived we could not have been happier, everything ran like clock work with outstanding food and service. Each and everyone of my guests has contacted me since the day and commented on the relaxed atmosphere the day had and how smoothly everything had gone. My husband and I have tried to pick fault at the day but fortunately there are no faults. We could not have asked for more. We will be returning to The Glen-yr-Afon for our first anniversary for sure.
Thank you to everyone at The glen-yr-Afon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I got married at the Glen yr afon on the 9th August,
Everything went accordingly and the staff did so much behind the scenes we couldnt thank them enough, they're really wasn't one staff member that doesn't derserve recognition!
Our room was gorgeous, very clean and stunning view! Im 20 weeks pregnant and before the ceremony couldn't fit into my dress, a staff member immediately cae to the rescue and sewed me in! the promtness and professionalism was unbelieveable! We are already booking a room ready for next year! The food, service, location everything was perfect! and I can not say a bad word about this hotel! Spectacular!

Room Tip: We had the Bay room view (Bridal suite) It was absolutely stunning!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing