We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Son's wedding reception held here. I can only describe everything as perfect. The staff are amazing and are complete professionals, making sure every minor point is right. Food and drink were spot on.......for the wedding breakfast, evening buffet and breakfast the following morning, Accomodation was comfortable. Would highly recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    50
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
136
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pulling off mass catering is an art form, but do you know these guys do it in their stride!
Attended their New Years Eve party, expecting the normal "take it or leave it approach"
but not the expected......excellent service, totally professional, everthing well cooked and presented. (perhaps they should set up as a train school for other local hotels)
What was most noticeable was the service, none of the part time students "earning pocket money"
but full time trained staff on duty.

Room Tip: "book early for 2013"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PallMallxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get married here and what a day!! From start to end everything ran like clockwork, the staff were soo friendly and helpful they made our day perfect. All food was hot and gorgeous very prompt service. All little extra special touches aswell the hotel kept surprising us with was soo lovely. We will definitely be returning soon I hope,the hotel definitely deserve best wedding venue of the year.

Thank you to all the staff for making our day soo perfect

Mr & Mrs Fisher

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We were staying at a B&B in Usk over Xmas for 2 nights and were not overly impressed with the food on offer so decided to eat out at the Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel. This hotel is rated 3 star but our experience was certainly 5 star. Without exception the staff were all very attentive, we couldn't have been looked after any better had we been staying overnight at the hotel. The food was excellent, the service was exceptional and the price fortunately was only 3 star. There was also a wedding reception in full swing in another room but this did not detract from the service we received. If I decide to visit Wales again I may well consider staying at this hotel. Overall a top class experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefighter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Our wedding day was held at the Glen-yr-Afon Hotel on 16th January 2011. We had only 6 weeks to plan the entire day from scratch and we were so lucky to find an available date in such a beautiful venue at such short notice. In hindsight, if I had had ten years to plan my wedding, I wouldn't have chosen anywhere else. This wedding venue was meant to be. Our day was perfect.

The wedding co-ordinator here (Carol) is nothing short of amazing. She is the Mary Poppins of the wedding co-ordination world. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She is such a homely, friendly yet professional lady and I honestly cannot speak highly enough of her.

Along with alot of family and friends, we arrived the day before the wedding for an evening meal together in Clarkes (the hotel restaurant). Wow! Amazing food, professional service, and the head waiter (Im so sorry that I forget his name, but he was italian - I think!) was brilliant. Everyone really enjoyed their food - even my then mother-in-law to be who is a bit of a food connoisseur commented on how nice it was.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious, and the beds comfortable. The honeymoon suite is lovely - very classic in style with a beautiful solid-wood four poster bed. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and the waitresses were lovely.

The whole 'timetable' of the actual wedding day went without a hitch, and again the food was superb. All of our guests were really impressed to have a choice for the wedding breakfast menu, and they are all still raving about the food at our wedding to this day. I only wish that the corset of my dress had been less tight so that I could have eaten more of it!! The room looked beautiful, and the staff were professional at all times. Also, the harpist comes highly recommended - she gave our day that extra bit of magic. Oh, and one young man called Matthew (who I now believe is helping out with the wedding co-ordinating) was amazing too - very polite, freindly and professional, and an asset to you.

We also stayed overnight earlier this year for our one-year anniversary and we had the most delightful experience. I get the feeling that the staff at this hotel are more like close friends and family, than simply people who work together. They seem to have fun at work (without being unprofessional) and this really shows through the amazing job that they all do. Afternoon tea here would give any top London hotel a run for their money - it is worth a visit to the Glen-yr-Afon just to sample this delight alone.

I honestly cannot recommend this highly enough as a both a wedding venue and a hotel. They are well-deserved winners of the Best Wedding Venue in Wales Award 2011 & 2012, and I hope that they continue to be commended for all of their fantastic work for many many years to come.

Thank you all so, so much. You run a truly special place that will always stay dear to our hearts x

Mr & Mrs James Graham

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite is lovely for an extra special treat :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetkittyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed for 1 night prior to attending a friend's funeral nearby. The staff are really helpful (finding me cuff links which I had forgot). The room (3) was large with a big king size bed. Unfortunately the bathroom radiator wasn't working and they couldn't fix it but it wasn't particularly cold.

For dinner I had a delicious butternut squash soup served in an unusual bowl (bread could have been warm), pan fried sea bass with ample vegetables (and a little pot of chips!) ,and creme brûlée followed by liqueur coffee. I also had a half carafe of South African Sauvignon. Total £50 - not cheap but well presented and very tasty.

Breakfast was massive with all the trimmings.

The Christmas decorations around the hotel were fantastic with a revolving Christmas tree! The little table decorations were unusual. Overall a feeling of quality and definitely a family hotel - not part of a chain.

The funeral wake was held in their large function room and again the quality and quantity of food was superb. The staff served mourners coffee and tea on arrival and were constantly topping up wine glasses and looking after people well.

A wonderful pleasant experience for a sad occasion from a 3 star hotel that I only decided to overnight at because the weather was bad!

Room Tip: The grounds are extensive so I should imagine all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

As a member of a local organisation I visit this hotel about once a month for talks. We're always well looked after by the staff. Recent afternoon tea (and talk) was excellent with dainty sandwiches and delicious cakes.
Had planned to meet friends there for a light lunch shortly but the only lunchtime menu available - their Christmas menu - was a little more than we wanted both in quantity and price. Having said that it's probably worth it as the menu looked delicious. I asked if they had a light menu but apparently not at this time of year. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing