We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Me and my partner booked a Sunday saver. For £145 we booked the lodge for our overnight stay (which had its own drive and parking space, garden, two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, bathroom) included in the price was a champagne tea, 3 course Sunday lunch and welsh breakfast. Great value for money. Both me and my partner were blown away by this hotel. the staff (Michael) was extremely friendly and went out of his way to accommodate us. There was a wedding on when we arrived but all the staff had time for us even though they were busy with the wedding party. I simply cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. I have to say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I can not praise the staff enough. So kind and accommodating we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. We would certainly come back again to stay here. Absolutely magnificent.

Room Tip: Choose the lodge :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katamanda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    53
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
146
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Read reviews on T/A so was looking forward to our stay hotel was very nice and housekeeping was spot on staff very polite the only thing that let it down for us was the food which makes your trip memorable might have been having a bad day but we would not stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudnineing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Birthday treat of afternoon tea with family. Such a variety of freshly made wraps ,sandwiches, cakes, scones etc,etc. Couldn't possibly eat it all although we tried very hard. Staff as always second to none in the way we were greeted and served. Thank you again Alex and your team. Last visited for our Ruby Wedding in April, Sunday lunch which was superb. Never been disappointed yet on a variety of occasions. Food and environment always special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We attended a wedding last weekend at this Hotel - it was fab, from start to finish.

The hotel is in a great location and easy to find. The reception room was beautifully decorated and the staff friendly and polite. The food, was probably the best 'mass catered' I have ever had. All courses, fresh, tasty, generous.

We willl definitely consider staying here, the next time we are in the area, to see if the A la carte menu is as good as the wedding one!

Really fab day.

Room Tip: Didnt' stay at the hotel, so sorry cant assist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was a guest at a wedding last Sunday and I was absolutely knocked-out by the quality of just about everything I encountered from start to finish, over the twelve hours we were there!!
We were welcomed by the same excellent people who, subsequently served our (delicious) food; served our drinks; cleared and re-set the room (three times- to accommodate the next 'stage'); adjusted the itinerary (due to the inclement weather) and generally went completely out of their way to satisfy the very last guest.
Service is something I've never been too fussy about and I particularly dislike being called 'Sir' all the time...however I did not object to this once all day; as I felt for once, I was actually being treated like one!
And the food..... Strueth! Catering for 60+ people and delivering really, really fantastic food at the same time and at the same heat (!) must be tough.
These guys were right on-it to the point where I've no idea how the hell they managed it!
If any of you prospective customers are worried about this review, or that it may be false; book it and if you're disappointed on the day; I promise I will refund your money personally.
It's THAT good!
And thanks to Matt; George and just about everyone else!
More importantly Mr and Mrs Bateman got this organised in SIX weeks from scratch with the hotels' help.
You will perhaps not find better!!!
Kevin O'Brien

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I spent our 2nd anniversary at the Glen Yr Afon using their Sunday saver. I would recommend it to others. My husband and I will be booking again.
It cost £72.50 each.
We had champagne afternoon tea.
Dinner in their la carte restaurant.
1 night stay in one of their lovely rooms.
A full welsh breakfast.

The staff make this hotel even more special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have family that live near Usk so decided to stay in the hotel , visit family and look up friends we met a few years ago on holiday.
Both my wife and I were a bit disappointed in the room , it was "compact" to say the least, the shower didn't seem to be able to turn to cool and as the weather was very hot a cool shower was a necessity . Anyway we were given room 14 in the attic , it was clean but as I say, small.
The staff made us welcome from the moment we arrived till the moment we left two days later...I cannot praise them highly enough without doubt they made our stay really enjoyable although the older lady in the breakfast service was rather "dowr" (Scottish for didn't say much and wasn't as pleasant as her colleagues)
All in all a very nice stay in a nice hotel in a lovely part of Wales.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room as the attic room we had was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing