We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stopped of a couple of times for 'brunch' at this beautiful hotel on way to my aunts who was ill and sadly has since died.The staff are so lovely , kind and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion .
I cannot comment on staying .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We got married here on the 5th October this year. Carol and the staff were fabulous from the first time we met. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Amazing food, venue and wedding day! Our guest's thoroughly enjoyed the day and we had lots of comments on the high quality of food.
The day ran smoothly thanks to the help of the staff. There were little surprise touches through the day which really do make you you smile. Can't fault Carol and the team for making our day so special. Would highly recommend the Glen yr Afon for anyone looking for a wedding venue!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deluca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had my wedding here 28/11/2013! What a beautiful venue, the staff were fantastic especially carol the wedding planner was amazing from start to finish, the food was beautiful I cannot fault anything all our guests were saying it was the best wedding they had been too! just perfect!! what a beautiful day and night we had! Perfect!
Thank you so much x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were very impressed, right from the initial planning through to the party itself. The room looked lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We had a very good selection of dishes to choose from when planning our menu and were guided through the whole process with kindness and professionalism. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 375BJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful food, as a vegetarian I don't normally get any choice when I eat out....at Glen Yr Afon there are always 4 or 5 vegetarian options, and all of the ones I have tried have been delicious and very generous portions....well worth the money! The staff are the most professional and polite I have ever come across at a hotel or restaurant and nothing is too much trouble! I cannot recommend Glen Yr Afon enough! Love it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel to enquire about holding our wedding here, we were treated really well, every member of staff we met was courtious and extremly freindly, Carol the wedding Coordinater was fabulous just seemed to know exactly what we wanted, which was a small and intimate wedding, we had two more meetings with Carol and it all seemed to be too easy, Come the day 10.10.13, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special nothing was too much trouble for anyone, we actually got married in the library and had a banquet style reception in the restaurant for 25 people, it was amazing the table was set magnificently and looked fabulous as did the library, a Gentleman called Matt aproached my husband Rob and told him he was there to help him throughout the day and he was amazing so attentive without being intrusive, the food was 1st class as was the service by all the waiting and bar staff, Matt took Photo's throughout the day and what a lovely suprise to see them rolling on the TV screen throughout the day, it was all the extra's that we got that also added to our day like the beautiful gift we recieved at the reception so quietly placed in front of me beautifully wrapped, I wont disclose what it was as Im sure this is something they would do for all brides and I dont want to spoil the suprise, but just to say we were delighted and all my guests loved it , also the photo in our room along with some lovely Sparkling wine and all the photos taken by the hotel on discs , I really cannot thank the Glen-yr-Afon Hotel and all the staff enough for making our day the wonderful celebration it was, all my guests commented throughout the day on the amazing day we had there and if anyone reading this is thinking of holding their wedding here please go and chat to Carol and her staff as nothing is too much trouble im sure you like us will be made to feel like yours is the only wedding ever to take place here. Thankyou The Glen-yr Afon Hotel and fingers crossed you get the wedding venue of the year 2013 award because you thoroughly deserve it xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlytopWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We attended a friends wedding here on 12th October 2013 and i just have to say this place is absolutely perfect!! the attention to detail was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for any of the hotels staff. Each and everyone had a smile on their faces from beginning to end. This food was incredible, rooms were clean and well maintained. In our opinion a perfect place to have your wedding. Definately 5stars!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
542 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
933 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: £138 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing