We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was booked mainly as a balloon flight stay and from the moment you drive in, this place will impress you!! The gardens, entrance and atmosphere tells you that the staff love this hotel and the hotel loves it's visitors! Rooms are luxurious, tastefully decorated and spotless. All staff, polite, friendly and welcoming. There was an in-house tribute night whilst we were there including dinner and the quality of the food was superb. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order from plenty of choice. The only disappointment? We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Four poster bed room is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    50
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
119
140
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We can all find some little fault or another with any place, so putting things in perspective, why not put on Trip Advisor the good things and not these silly, trivial complaints.
Just come back from a Golden Wedding lunch at this hotel and can only describe it as perfect.
Every aspect of the meal was well presented and cooked to perfection.
The staff were attentive and efficient.
I cannot comment highly enough......well done for a splendid day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From the moment we visited the Glen Yr Afon and met Carol, the wedding coordinator we knew this was where we wanted to get married. The venue is stunning and this is complimented by the beautiful grounds which are so well maintained.
Throughout the planning process Carol was on hand to answer any question and to put any worries at ease. She seemed to understand exactly what we wanted and that was definitely shown on the day.
We had a number of guests travelling from afar so the majority stayed the night before the wedding. Luckily there was no wedding on the day before so the hotel were able to cater for all 31 of us to have a meal around one big table on that night. A great way to start off the celebrations.
The day of the wedding was brilliant, the staff kept us updated as to the process throughout the day and we never felt rushed and were able to enjoy everything.
They made us feel relaxed throughout the day and nothing was too much trouble.
All the staff throughout the weekend were fantastic and you can see how much work they all put in to make everyone's day special to them.
Can't recommend the hotel enough not just for a wedding venue but for a night away or just a dinner.
All our family and friends couldn't praise the venue, staff and food enough and I'm sure they will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We attended a wedding here on 18th April 2014
Beautiful grounds, a stately home feel, with immaculate decor.
Staff very attentive from the moment we arrived, and nothing was too much trouble.
Outstanding wedding breakfast, of 5 star quality, and plenty of it.
All in all a perfect weddin for Mr and Mrs Cox!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONYJONESREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have just spent the weekend here attending a wedding reception and it was perfect. The Hotel itself is very oldy worldy so if you like mod cons and modern furniture then this place is not for you. However if you are looking for something more quaint and bespoke then look no further. Our room was of good size, beds extremely comfy and the general cleanliness excellent. Our Friends Son wedding reception was here and the atmosphere was great from the moment we arrived. The evening buffet was superb. Although the bar prices are on the normally high for hotels, it wasn't a rip off. The 5 * service you get from ALL the staff is a credit to them all. I have never met a more warm and genuine welcome feeling from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, not that we had to ask for anything in particular apart from a vegetarian sausage at Breakfast! And that was no problem. The only slightly negative I can give is actually over the breakfast... no mushrooms in the full breakfast :( and for a vegi this was slightly disappointing. Im sure if I had asked they would have obliged (Maybe its an English thing lol!) Anyway, 10 out of 10 for our stay, we will definitely be returning hopefully in the summer to enjoy the what looked like Beautiful Gardens and explore a bit more of USK itself. Also to note, its only about 20 minutes away from Cardiff, so if you don't want to stop in the centre of Cardiff I would recommend here :)

Room Tip: We didn't have a view of the gardens and were in room 5, but to be honest I think all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wonderful Hotel with attentive, friendly staff;
Excellent location and lovely food;
It was the prefect start to my husband's 50th Birthday celebration, with amazing friends, our beautiful daughter, and 5 dogs, all of whom the Hotel made extremely welcome and looked after;
The champagne afternoon tea in our private drawing room was a delight;
It was utterly faultless.

Room Tip: Absolutely recommended The family room was perfect for our dogs too - as the room opened onto the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
625 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have stayed her in the past and enjoyed the stay a lot, this time just passing around mid day and went for a ligth lunch. Excellent service and food . Will for sure stay here next time in the area again and can recomend the hotel and restaurant for business as well as holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
16.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing