We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went to this hotel over one night for a wedding, on arrival we were met by the friendliest crowd I have seen in a hotel for a long time. Nothing was too much trouble, Food was good and portions were not stingy. Our bedroom (No.31) was fantastic, comfortable and clean, no nasty mould marks in the bathroom and it looked as if it had recently been refurbished. Breakfast was great too and all the butter, marmalade and condiments were NOT in those nasty little packs. A bit pricey but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book 31 you won't be disappointed. Try to get one to the left when you enter the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    50
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
119
139
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We got married at the Glen-Yr-Afon on 14th June 2014. We cannot thank the staff enough for the incredible job they did, to make our wedding so completely and utterly perfect. From booking the venue in 2013, to little hiccups along the way (not due to the hotel I might add) they could not do enough for us.
Carol - the nicest, most helpful person you could wish to co ordinate your wedding. Nothing is too much trouble for this lady, she will do her utmost to help you with anything you can imagine!
Matt - what a little legend! Such a polite, helpful, hard working young guy. He made that much of an impression on my Father and brother that they actually mentioned him in their speeches! He is a massive asset to the Hotel.
Everything on the day ran like clockwork. The staff were incredible, food was fantastic. Our guests were completely overwhelmed by the amount and quality of food, especially at the buffet in the evening. A few guests even said it was the best wedding food they had ever had.
They pay so much attention to detail. Matching colours on tissue boxes, calling you by name not "sir" or "madam", a beautiful engraved photo that they had taken of us presented at the reception, a CD when we got back to the room of the photos they had taken, the digital photo frame of our day in the foyer...the list goes on.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and the bridal suite was beautiful.
Breakfast the following day was lovely.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Glen-yr-Afon as a wedding venue, it's no wonder they have won awards, it is thoroughly deserved.
Thank you once again to you all for making our day completely perfect.
Mr & Mrs Morgan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EleanorJMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

On Thursday 31st July we had our son's wedding. What a day. Service and staff very helpfull. The meal was lovley. The hotel, staff and surroundings where fantastic. Could not fault them on anything. Anyone wishing for a wedding venue would do themself's a favour in giving the Glen yr afon a chance. We did not stay at the hotel, just had the wedding, would recommed it 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cerdav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

On Saturday 26th July my husband and I had a meal in the restaurant at the Glen yr Afon in Usk to celebrate our anniversary. The meal was excellent, the service from the staff especially a young man called Dave was first class, nothing was too much trouble. We were presented with a card wishing us a happy anniversary from the staff, our whole evening was very enjoyable and we were made to feel special. I cannot fault anything and would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went here for afternoon tea last week & it was superb! A lovely selection of sandwiches, wraps & cakes with unlimited tea/coffee. Staff were very helpful and we didn't feel pressured into having to rush our afternoon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MenywTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a one night stay to celebrate my grandmothers 80th and my fathers birthday. We were greeted so warmly at reception upon arrival, considering they were hosting a large wedding party, they took time to get us all checked in swiftly and assisted my grandparents with their bags. We were unsure of where to go for lunch in the town, but reception were most helpful and called ahead a sister hotel to make them aware of our arrival for a bite to eat. We booked the evening meal at the hotel and asked if they could bring out a cake we had made for the occasion with special emphasis on the 80th birthday, they obliged and did a fantastic job of presenting the cake and wished my grandmother such warm birthday regards, the staff really made her day. The evening meal was fantastic, each course was presented beautifully and was absolutely delicious, in fact we were so full and satisfied we didn't even cut the birthday cake! Everything about this stay was wonderful, each member of staff took time to be most accommodating, presenting my grandma with a birthday card and decorating the table. I would recommend this hotel 100 times over to anyone who is looking for a scenic break, beautiful grounds, and a beautiful location. Couldn't recommend more highly! Thank you so so much! You deserve 5 stars for the hotel and service you provide.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Enna0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had our wedding reception here in 1986 and subsequently migrated to Australia. This was our first opportunity to return and we took advantage of the Sunday special of bed& breakfast plus afternoon tea and dinner. The service was excellent, the afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were were fantastic. Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is situated in beautiful grounds, I understand why it's a choice for weddings. It was excellent value and I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloyd055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
3.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
5.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
16.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#5 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Property: Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk
Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing