We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Bar Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Salmons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Salmons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Bar Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I drive pass this place almost twice a week, have not been inside for many a year.
We really wanted a bar meal (lunch time) as the The White Hart Llangybi, but they were so busy they could not fit is in for at least an hour, so ended up at Three Salmons, well someone has been "throwing money at it" Tastefully decorated, New carpet, and rather nice.
Lunch Time Bar Meals quite comprehensive, but you couldn't say "an exciting menu" or that's different. Result, we ordered "that time old classic" Fish and Chips, Cod above average quality .......let's give it 7.5 out of 10. For the price 11.95 good wholesome meal.
Now in keep with the majority of the males living in the area, I look forward to a decent well keep real ale, yes they offer Hereford Pale Ale, (which is a favourite of mine) Sorry guys, you need retraining not well kept, flat and needing a little chilling.
Would I go again, yes ...........if the same circumstances arose to have I made this visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PallMallxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    86
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
91
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed with 2 other business colleagues recently. What stood out the most was the quality of the staff, the warmth of the reception and the customer care throughout.
Well done to all those on duty to make our stay so worthwhile.
It's a nice hotel with a rustic feel. It was very clean and the bar offering was excellent.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 5 or 6 they are large doubles with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianO1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel for one night in March. The staff were very nice, professional and courteous. Breakfast was very good a nice selection and alternatives to the standard full English.

The bar stayed open very late and was full, which we liked but I can imagine this could be a nuisance to some guests.

The room we stayed in was nice enough but the furniture was very tatty and worn. It was spotlessly clean but had a very odd smell. The bathroom really needs updating, it felt dirty even though it was clean.

Basically a good hotel but for the price - not really good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the 14th and 15th March and had a double bedroom in the annex which across the road from the main hotel. The bedroom and bathroom was very clean. I really liked the bed topper which made the bed very comfortable. The service from the staff was friendly and efficient. My mates and I had breakfast and dinner on both days and I enjoyed every meal we had. The night porter / barman was great company when he was serving us and was a credit to the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of this small village and is easy walking to other pubs. It is difficult to fault any part of our stay and I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: I was in the annex which was quiet. One of our party was staying in the main hotel and he said that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 173TerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Booked into the Three Salmons in Usk for a Saturday night in February. It didn't start off well when we were informed that they couldn't get a tv reception & therefore couldn't watch the rugby international. We ended up watching it in a pub down the road. Our room number at the 3 salmons was no. 5.... avoid at all costs. We asked for a superior room & possibly it was but on entering it was freezing cold as the heating wasn't working... this was rectified... & the tv reception by this time was intermittent. But the worst thing was that it was above the bar & by 1 in the morning we could take no more of the noise & got dressed, took our belongings and moved into the annex across the road. Next morning not one member of staff thought to offer us their apology or recompense us for the inconvenience. A really disappointing experience & one we definitely won't be repeating.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VonTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalmonsManagement, Manager at Three Salmons Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry about both the poor television reception and your disturbed sleep when you recently stayed with us. The room that you stayed in is one of our superior rooms and has been recently refurbished. We are sorry that the room was cold when you arrived - It would seem that the previous guest turned the heating off, for which we apologise.

The horrendous weather when you stayed with us meant that much of town was suffering with a poor TV signal. Nevertheless we were happy to provide you with a complimentary drink by way of apology.

As you mention in your review, your stay coincided with one of the Six Nations Rugby Internationals. It would seem that some of our residents who attended the match were loud at the end of the evening. As you say, we were able to offer you an alternative room in a quieter part of the hotel. We appreciate that this was not ideal, and this was the reason that we felt that it was appropriate to considerably discount your bill when you checked out in the morning.

Whilst we understand a lot of your disappointment, we would be happy to welcome you back to the Three Salmons so that we can demonstrate to you the high standards of comfort and customer service that are enjoyed by the vast majority of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Right from the beginning of my visit I was impressed by the staff. Throughout my visit they really could not have been more helpful. I don't think I have slept in a more comfortable bed in a hotel anywhere.
The rooms and connected en-suite are a little tired and will soon be in need of renovation, but this should not stop you visiting.
The breakfast was first class with a myriad of choices that the staff help to make you aware of.
I would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel is situated on a fairly busy road junction, so ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel in the beautiful village of Usk. My room was in excellent condition with a high quality bathroom, big fluffy towels & stylish decor. The room was large & the bed very comfortable. What's good to see is that the website was a true representation of the room quality & overall feel of the place. This hotel is perfect for romantic trysts, a gathering of friends or in my case an overnight stay for business. Breakfast was good! Service was personal & it's a shame I was only there for one night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Salmons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Salmons Hotel

Property: Three Salmons Hotel
Address: 57 Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1ZY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Salmons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Salmons is the only 3* Hotel in the town centre of Usk. A 17th Century Coaching Inn, located in the centre of this small historic market town, yet with easy access to Newport, Cardiff, Monmouth and to the M4 and 5. The hotel offer sthe tranquillity and beauty of rural South Wales that you will not find in other Monmouthshire hotels. The river is only 100 metres away from the hotel and the beauty of the Usk valley, with its walks and sightseeing, is only a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Salmons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Salmons Hotel
Three Salmons Usk
Three Salmons Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing