We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Salmons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a family weekend with 25 people staying to celebrate a special birthday. Usk is a lovely country town and the Three Salmons is a wonderful old hotel which is kept in great condition. The food and service were much above its three star rating. The staff really cared and delivered great service. Definitely one to visit again

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a charming old hotel. We opted for a superior room which was large with a lovely bathroom although the extractor didn't seem to be working. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We came across the hotel purely by accident after a cock up with the sat nav, and needing a place to stay for the night. It turned out to be one of the best mistakes I've ever made. The staff were very friendly and we were given a spacious and spotless family room. Yes, I agree some of the decor is a little old fashioned, but this to me adds to the hotel's considerable charm. The breakfast was excellent too. We plan to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for two nights with a number of friends.

The hotel is a little dated but very clean and the beds were particularly comfortable. The rooms are split between the main hotel and the former stables, across the road. Our room was in the stables, on the ground floor. Our shower was very good but our friends in the main hotel and on the first floor of the stables had very slow running showers. I think the hotel should look into this. Our room also seemed to have been decorated more recently.

The best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. We had two breakfasts and two dinners here. The food both in the morning was excellent, with very kind and attentive service.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we took 14 classic cars and 27 people to stay at the Three Salmons and had a wonderful weekend, we had fantastic weather and wonderful scenery which is what we went for, the Three Salmons was absolutely the icing on the cake. Everyone was very happy with their room. We were in the worst room, room 5 and loved it beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. To serve 27 people all at the same time is not easy and the staff did a superb job on all 3 nights. The food beautiful and again everyone was complimentary about the evening meal. Breakfast was really good I had poached eggs twice and they were cooked to perfection. All our expectations were met in spades by a wonderful young staff who could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I drive pass this place almost twice a week, have not been inside for many a year.
We really wanted a bar meal (lunch time) as the The White Hart Llangybi, but they were so busy they could not fit is in for at least an hour, so ended up at Three Salmons, well someone has been "throwing money at it" Tastefully decorated, New carpet, and rather nice.
Lunch Time Bar Meals quite comprehensive, but you couldn't say "an exciting menu" or that's different. Result, we ordered "that time old classic" Fish and Chips, Cod above average quality .......let's give it 7.5 out of 10. For the price 11.95 good wholesome meal.
Now in keep with the majority of the males living in the area, I look forward to a decent well keep real ale, yes they offer Hereford Pale Ale, (which is a favourite of mine) Sorry guys, you need retraining not well kept, flat and needing a little chilling.
Would I go again, yes ...........if the same circumstances arose to have I made this visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PallMallxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed with 2 other business colleagues recently. What stood out the most was the quality of the staff, the warmth of the reception and the customer care throughout.
Well done to all those on duty to make our stay so worthwhile.
It's a nice hotel with a rustic feel. It was very clean and the bar offering was excellent.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 5 or 6 they are large doubles with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianO1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
0.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Salmons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Salmons Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: £98 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Salmons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Salmons is the only 3* Hotel in the town centre of Usk. A 17th Century Coaching Inn, located in the centre of this small historic market town, yet with easy access to Newport, Cardiff, Monmouth and to the M4 and 5. The hotel offer sthe tranquillity and beauty of rural South Wales that you will not find in other Monmouthshire hotels. The river is only 100 metres away from the hotel and the beauty of the Usk valley, with its walks and sightseeing, is only a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Three Salmons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Salmons Hotel
Three Salmons Usk
Three Salmons Hotel Usk, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing