We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have stayed here previously but this time visiting daughter and family for Christmas. Hotel very conveniently located near to J14 of M5, staff friendly and helpful, rooms are of a good size and are clean and comfortable, buffet style breakfasts means all you can eat, however, we did find the sausages quite mealy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us and we hope you had an enjoyable Christmas visiting your daughter and family. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the friendly staff and good quality rooms and we look forward to your continued custom in the future. We will of course take on board your comments regarding the sausages as we are always trying to improve.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    257
    106
    29
    18
See reviews for
99
339
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Gables over the Christmas break although this was only to be our base for a family occassion and we had very enjoyable stay. We arrived Christmas eve and were made welcome by both Bobby the duty manager and Donna on reception who I have to say were a credit to the hotel. Although this hotel lacks ammenities (ie spa gym ect) it has to be one of the most hospitable and friendly hotels we have stayed in. The Christmas dinner was excellent as was the breakfast and all the staff from housekeeping through to the restaurant and waiting did everything they could to make our stay a most enjoyable one. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for quality, service and a great deal of hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrazYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Many thanks for posting such a glowing 5 star review of your Christmas experience here at The Gables. Your kind comments will be passed on to all concerned and may we take the opportunity to wish you all the best for 2014.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went for a murder mystery dinner which included overnight stay.Good value for money as nice entertainment and no need to worry about driving home! Located just off m5 jct 14 easy to get to. Breakfast included was buffet style and included full English.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Many thanks for posting a review of your stay with us and your experience at our Murder Mystery dinner. We are so pleased you enjoyed the evening and overnight stay and for your information we have now published our dates for our Murder Mystery dinners for 2014.
Best wishes for the coming year and we hope to see you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Travelling up from South Wales to Gloucestershire we needed somewhere to stop for lunch.
Sometime ago we stopped here at The Gables & enjoyed our lunch then, so decieded to stop this time.
It was a quick lunch, so we ate in the bar area as opposed to the restaurant, which was most enjoyable. We had good food & the staff were welcoming & attentative, all in all I can recommend it.
The restaraunt looked inviting also & the hotel had put on a programme of interesting looking events to cover the feastive season, including a Pantomine, carvery & B&B for a very competative price.

Room Tip: Didn't stay therefore cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for posting such an excellent 5 star review of your lunch experience with us on Christmas Eve. We pride ourselves on good customer service here at The Gables and it is good to see that people appreciate the effort and attention to detail.
We hope to welcome you back very soon and in the meantime we wish you a happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed whist on business locally, good location just off the M5 North or South bound, my stay was good value for the price I paid. The only minor complaint was the breakfast service, it was not as good as I would normally expect in a Best Western, the staff did not appear to be able to keep up with the number of people eating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us and the kind comments regarding the good value and convenient location close to the M5. We will certainly take on board your comments regarding the breakfast service as we are constantly trying to improve what we offer our customers.
Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were phoned by the hotel in advance of our stay asking if we would like to go to the disco on friday evening. I said not we wouldn't and please could we put somewhere in the hotel where it wouldn't be noisy. The lady said yes she would put us at the back of the hotel. What she didn't tell us was that was where the disco was! The hotel facilities were very good so just check that there isn't going to be a disco if you want some quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback following you stay with us last Firday night. We are very pleased that you found the hotel facilities to be very good, however please allow me to apologise for not following your instructions regarding your request for a quiet room.
I do hope you will visit us again in the future when we will try to get everything right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
149 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing