We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for Business Meeting or Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Business Meeting or Lunch!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I regularly meet colleagues at this hotel due to the great location, less than a mile from the M5. Plenty of parking and staff who are used to business people who just want a table top, a power socket for the laptop, wi fi that works and tea and coffee on tap.

I have had lunch here on several ocassions and the food has been lovely. They are also willing to accommodate if you have specific dietary requirements.

I must say I have never stayed here so don't know what the accommodation is like but a great venue that is easily accessible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such excellent feedback about your business meetings here at The Gables. We regularly find that customers find the location convenient for a little get together as we are so close to the M5.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    262
    107
    29
    18
See reviews for
102
343
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

That was the enticing name on the promotion for a heavily discounted night at The Gables. It was accompanied by a picture of mist-shrouded, rolling Cotswold hills and frolicking lambs. This was some discount too. The 'Superior' suite, complete with handsome four-poster, normally cost £152 per night and via the promotion, we were looking at under £100. Wow! We couldn't wait.

Arriving at The Gables, it became immediately apparent that things were not quite as idyllic as we had been led to expect. The building was a bland and faded, 1990s mess of fake character.

We were welcomed at reception by a lady who decided to tell us off for not bringing a printed copy of the promotional voucher. We protested that it clearly stated electronic copies were acceptable. She wasn't having it. She triumphantly read the offered terms and conditions, only to end up reading out the bit about an electronic copy being acceptable. 'Well I needs a paper copy anyhows' (local accent inferred).

She kindly offered that we could print the voucher later - although she did imply it might takes us some time to connect to a printer from their internet pcs. She asked us if we would like to book a table for the night, to which we said yes. She warned us there might be a bit of a wait, because they had a table of 16 that night. Somewhat alarming that a table of 16 was considered a big deal for an establishment of this size.

And then we were off to our 'Superior Suite'. Oh dear.

The room can best be described as Travel Lodge, circa 1998. With a four-poster rammed in it. Musty smelling. Grey sheets. Basically, the sort of room that divorced salesmen kill themselves in and most certainly not the setting for a romantic ''getaway'' in the Cotswolds.

The four-poster was an object of such ugliness. I tried to imagine the design process that could lead to such a utilitarian monstrosity. It was the concept of a four-poster bed rendered industrial with exposed screws and brackets, cheap plastic and half-hearted efforts to mask the grotty divan at it's core. When one thinks of a four-poster bed, one tends to imagine oak carvings and luxurious drapes - it's that idea of pulling the curtains around and creating a cosy, secret place. Here, the drapes hang from 1970s plastic runners and are pointless - barely extending past the pillows. Ghastly.

We didn't unpack. We left. Our friend at reception said, 'I totally understands and thanks for being honests'. She seemed to be familiar with the process.

If this review seems somewhat extreme, it's down to the contrast between the marketed image and the cheap reality. This room would be fine for anyone looking for a cheap and functional room. It's a typical business person's stopover. What got us was the blatantly misleading promotion. This is not a romantic Cotswold's getaway. At the core of the deception was the advertised 'normal' rate. I challenge this establishment to prove it regularly charges £150 + for the 'Superior' rooms. No one would pay that much for one of these tired little units. This is dishonest advertising.

Fortunately, we got in at the nearby Tortworth Court where a fantastic room was only £119. Money was refunded in full by Amazon, so no issue there. We just hope this review helps others to avoid the disappointment of these deceptive promotions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toroll K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.

We are of course are very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and most certainly did not meet the high standards that we all strive so hard to achieve here.

At this stage the whole team would like to convey our sincere apologies to you and would like to assure you that we are addressing the service issues that you experienced.

We are also taking steps to update the room you were given (Rm 224) with new drapes and soft furnishings immediately.

Once again my sincere apologies and I am only sorry that we couldn't persuade you to stay as I am sure the warmth and customer service that other reviewers refer to would have "won you over" had we been able to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freespirit
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Would be happy to stay here again, the staff were all very helpful and pleasant. We were overlooking the road and you can hear the traffic passing so take some ear plugs if that bothers you. We had food in the restaurant one evening and it was served very quickly with a 25% discount, even better, otherwise we might have thought it a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PalmTreesFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and found the staff to be friendly and pleasent as we always place high importance on customer service here at The Gables. It is also good to note that you will will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have been very loyal to the Premier Inn group, but over Christmas could only get into The Gables Inn in Falfield near junction 14 on the M5.

Charged only £60 for a twin room, including breakfast, the room exceeded my expectations in every way. The breakfast was bigger and better than even I could eat.

The tipping point over Premier Inns was the free 24/7 Wifi.

Thank you to all the staff for an excellent stay.

Best regards for 2014

Room Tip: Speak to reception before your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter737187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. It is always good to hear positive feedback regarding the hotel, especially the food and breakfast in particular. It is also good to read that we provided value for money and that you would happily return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fair property in need of some work however. Breakfast food selection fair. Ask for the rooms to the back this I believe are quieter, If on ground floor at The front you are likely to hear other guests arriving/departing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godstonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for posting an honest appraisal of your recent stay with us. We are constantly striving to improve and feedback such as yours always helps in this respect. We are pleased you found the location convenient and hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Gables Hotel from Fri to Mon in January for my Birthday. We had a very enjoyable stay, when we arrived on the Friday the Hotel Mananger asked if we would be going to the Party night on the Saturday they were holding in their function room as a late Christmas party, we decided to take him up on his offer. It was a very good evening, with a three course meal, also a free bottle of wine !! We met with another couple who was dining on their own so joined up our tables. There was a disco so we had a little wiggle on the dance floor !! The staff at the Hotel are all very friendly and helpful when we asked a question, especially about sight seeing places to visit. The only thing I would say is the standard room bed was on the small side and the duvet could have been bigger. All in all a very good stay. Also good place to visit Bristol and Bath, and lots of other interesting places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for your five star rating and for the excellent feedback. We are delighted that your whole experience was so good and that you enjoyed the Party Night on Saturday.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables in the future and thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have stayed here previously but this time visiting daughter and family for Christmas. Hotel very conveniently located near to J14 of M5, staff friendly and helpful, rooms are of a good size and are clean and comfortable, buffet style breakfasts means all you can eat, however, we did find the sausages quite mealy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us and we hope you had an enjoyable Christmas visiting your daughter and family. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the friendly staff and good quality rooms and we look forward to your continued custom in the future. We will of course take on board your comments regarding the sausages as we are always trying to improve.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
432 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
155 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
360 reviews
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing