We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    253
    104
    28
    18
See reviews for
99
334
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Staying three nights in total while on business locally, I was received efficiently by most helpful staff at reception and quickly directed to my room. Parking, although not immediately outside the front door, is convenient and spacious with an electric car charging meter provided most impressively and a lot of thought for disabled guests evident, especially with priority parking.
The room is quite standard on first appearance but nothing is missing in terms of the immediate fast access free Wi-Fi, a good desk at which to produce my reports and training reviews, cleanliness and considering the location, adjacent to the A38, just off Junction 14 of the M5, it's fairly quiet and rooms at the rear must be even quieter, mine being right at the front and upstairs above the bar etc..
The room was well cleaned each day and the tea, coffee and chocolate well stocked together with biscuits, information is available for local visits and the establishment has a good restaurant with easy access to many other good local establishments for food. The bed is firm and sleep was made easier by good window blinds & curtains.
The room lighting could have been better but it is adequate, the bathroom is also adequate but the shower curtain arrangement could merit some improvement, perhaps a screen would be better.
The TV reception on BBC1 was not good at times but all else was fine and it's hard to be critical in reality of such an excellent establishment.
The breakfast was good and adequate with hot plates and hot food well prepared and presented and a little wait for the fried eggs, otherwise again it was good and staff are efficient and attentive.
Business-wise the hotel appears to be well founded for conferences and meetings and meeting rooms are excellent and well laid out.
The reception staff assisted by directing me to a local car wash in nearby Thornbury and whatever the guest requires nothing appears to be too much trouble here so it's certainly not an impersonal experience for the traveller.
The bar is well stocked and comfortable with a discreet TV. For a modern traveller and business hotel the Gables is to be commended on achieving something so much better than the standard offering for this kind of establishment.
When on business locally again I would welcome the chance to return here and to recommend it to colleagues who may also have to stay in the area in future. Well worth a short two minute drive from the M5 if you're passing and need good accommodation just north of Bristol anytime.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be at the rear of the hotel - those not facing the A38, which at night is not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Mather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will not hesitate to stay again and recommend us to others. We always try to go "the extra mile" for all our guests and such positive feedback serves as encouragement to us all.
Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A very comfortable hotel with an electric car charger conveniently located at the front of the hotel. The service was excellent with very helpful staff at the reception desk. The breakfast could be better. On the morning we had breakfast the sausages were not especially good and the Danish pastries could have been fresher.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.
We are of course pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that we will take on board your criticisms to help us to improve for the future.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (midweek) and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room we had at the back of the hotel on the ground floor was large, comfortable and very clean. We chose to eat in the restaurant the first evening and although it was no more than half full, we had to wait 45 minutes to get our starters. The restaurant manager said it was because they were busy, I would hate to eat there if they were full!! They meal was not that great (average at best) and the waiting staff seemed to be having to fend off many complaints while we were there. breakfast was much better with a good choice from the buffet. I cannot fault the hotel on value for money for their B & B rates it's just the restaurant that lets it down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC_82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Firstly thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are obviously disappointed that we did not deliver our usual standard of food and service in the restaurant on your first evening. I believe it may have been Tuesday the 18th as we did have an extrmeley busy evening not only in the restaurant. but also in our bar which did cause some delays. Please rest assured that we have taken all comments on board and will use these to improve for the future for the benefit of all our guests.
Once again thank you for taking the time to send your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future when we can strive to offer you a more pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst work was being carried out on my nearby house, and as an alternative to Premier Inn.
I was very impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room, which was comfortable and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom was, likewise, spotless.
Staff were very welcoming, both on arrival and departure.
I certainly won't hesitate to stay here again, and will be pleased to recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank handel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the excellent 5 star rating you have given us. We are delighted that you were so impressed by our cleanliness and the welcoming staff and hope that the work on your house went well.
Now that you have discovered us we hope that we will see you again, if not as an overnight guest then perhaps in our bar or restaurant.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing