We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gables Hotel - visit friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The check in was easy and very quick with a very personable receptionist. The bar was welcoming with a good range of local real ales! The food in the restaurant was very good and well presented and the breakfast fare is superb - you really won't need lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

A big thank you from all of us here at The Gables for the excellent 5 star review you have given us. We are all delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel standard is almost same as Travelodge(which are much cheaper). The rooms although not huge were clean and comfortable but next to major A Road hence very noisy. The wifi in the rooms was patchy and slow. We had a front road side room. I booked special Breakfast (Kippers) but we were charged extra at check out time, whcih was disappointing, it was not mention to us the cost of fish is extra at booking and check in time.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the back room away from A road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ghulam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review as comments from our customers and guests are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future. We are very sorry that your stay was so unsatisfactory given that as you can see from other reviews we have improved so much in the hotel and will continue to do so. We do however appreciate and take on board your comments and will seek to improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night here with a special voucher. We were welcomed at the reception, had a nice cosy room. Bar food great, breakfast plenty of choice. Location great, did not find our room noisy like guests said in a previous comment! Just one comment the lawns needed mowing !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

A very big thank you from all of us here at The Gables for the 5 star review you have given us following your recent stay. We were delighted to note that you found everything to your satisfaction and just to let you know we have mown the lawns today (we were beaten by the weather last week).
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on an Amazon deal and had a wonderful time. We have no complaints at all. The room was clean and pleasant with a very comfortable bed. Shower had plenty of hot water. Evening meal excellent as was the breakfast. All in all a hotel I would definitely visit again. Although I must say we didn't get a voucher for a return visit like a previous reviewer stated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for posting such an excellent 5 star review of your recent stay at The Gables. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. My apologies for not giving you a return visit voucher on departure, however if you would like to contact me directly with your details, I will be pleased to forward one to you ready for your next visit.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted to visit Bristol, Gloucester and Tewkesbury and The Gables is conveniently placed for this, with easy access to the M5. This Amazon Local deal was very good value for the money and the meal in the restaurant was very nice with a good choice. Our room was furthest from the dinning room but was quiet with no noise from the car park. All the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful ... overall a wonderful short break that didn't break the bank.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Banananose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel convenient for touring the Cotswolds and that you found the food to your liking and the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back when in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked this hotel using Amazon Local deal- £119 for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner (value of £21) included on the first night. Situated very close to the motorway which meant easy access to many places of interest. Hotel room was in new part of the hotel. Good, clean and comfortable with tv and tea/coffee making facilities. Staff very friendly and courteous. Extensive choice of hot and cold items at breakfast. Meals in the brasserie were very good. In particular the starters which were huge and nicely presented. Would recommend the baked camembert which came with crunchy celery sticks, tons of warm crusty bread and was accompanied by a lovely tangy pickle. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the hotel convenient, clean and comfortable and great value for money. We pride ourselves in providing good customer care and your kind comments regarding friendly and courteous staff are gratefully received and will be shared with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had originally booked the hotel for my wife's birthday treat in March on a bargain break offered by Amazon. . In fact we had to cancel because of an eye operation being scheduled for the same week. The hotel happily rebooked us for the end of Easter week on the same voucher, and we were impressed by the helpful and welcoming staff. Very good choice of dinner - the sea bass was good with crispy skin and the sticky toffee pudding was clearly "home made" as were all the desserts. Very wide choice of breakfast dishes. With the M5 only about 500 metres from the hotel access to all the local beauty spots is easy and yet the hotel is in a quiet spot on the now empty A38; and one can hear the birdsong not the motorway in the morning . And if you do plan a revisit - if only en route for Cornwall down the old A38.. you will be given a voucher to experience the Gables hospitality again within 7 months - at the same amazing price as the Amazon offer (less than £30 B&B per person a night for FULL breakfast both days and a dinner to a value of £21each on the first night included!!! No wonder the franchise group is called BEST Western!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and for the high rating that you have given us. We of course are delighted that your stay with us met all your requirements and your positive comments regarding the food at dinner and breakfast in particular are much appreciated. We do pride ourselves on excellent customer service and quality food as you will see from previous reviews and we are therefore delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction, even the bird song!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
459 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Arnos Manor Hotel
Arnos Manor Hotel
#38 of 39 in Bristol
660 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
395 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range: £45 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing