We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but a tad overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but a tad overpriced.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding a Berkeley Castle. The staff were very efficient and signed us in at 11.30am so we could get to the wedding at 12.30 moving our cases to our room for us when it was ready. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and there was a good choice of food. Unfortunately we had to look at a pile of linen/towels in the corridor whilst eating and shut the door to the supplies cupboard ourselves. Only down side to the room was the rather damp, musty smell in the bathroom and a lose connection on one of the lights. The view from the window would have benefited from some colourful planters rather than bare walls. I feel there was just a lack of attention to detail for the 103 we paid, 70 to 80 would have been more appropriate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to note that you mainly enjoyed your stay with us although we note that some aspects did not meet our usual high standards. Please rest assured that we will take this feedback on board so that we can improve for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    253
    104
    28
    18
See reviews for
99
334
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently had our wedding reception at the gables and the whole experience was outstanding,they knew exactly what we wanted and nothing was too much trouble!
I would highly recommend anyone who is looking for a reception for there wedding!
The attention of the staff on the day was second to none and we could not be more pleased.
They made our already special day even more fantastic a proper fairy tale wedding.
Many thanks to everyone there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knotty2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your special day with us and thank you for posting such an excellent 5 star review. It really was a pleasure to look after you and your guests and we are so pleased that everyone had such an enjoyable day which was completed with your private breakfast on Sunday morning.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Staff were extremely helpful. As well as being disabled I have a "thing" about having a table in the restaurant being against a wall. I hate being seated in the middle of the room. They were extremely accommodating. Many thanks from a fussy customer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay with us. We were more than happy to cater for your personal requirements as we pride ourselves in high levels of customer care and I will certainly share your comments with The Team here at The Gables.
We hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The check in was easy and very quick with a very personable receptionist. The bar was welcoming with a good range of local real ales! The food in the restaurant was very good and well presented and the breakfast fare is superb - you really won't need lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
A big thank you from all of us here at The Gables for the excellent 5 star review you have given us. We are all delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel standard is almost same as Travelodge(which are much cheaper). The rooms although not huge were clean and comfortable but next to major A Road hence very noisy. The wifi in the rooms was patchy and slow. We had a front road side room. I booked special Breakfast (Kippers) but we were charged extra at check out time, whcih was disappointing, it was not mention to us the cost of fish is extra at booking and check in time.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the back room away from A road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ghulam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as comments from our customers and guests are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future. We are very sorry that your stay was so unsatisfactory given that as you can see from other reviews we have improved so much in the hotel and will continue to do so. We do however appreciate and take on board your comments and will seek to improve for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here with a special voucher. We were welcomed at the reception, had a nice cosy room. Bar food great, breakfast plenty of choice. Location great, did not find our room noisy like guests said in a previous comment! Just one comment the lawns needed mowing !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
A very big thank you from all of us here at The Gables for the 5 star review you have given us following your recent stay. We were delighted to note that you found everything to your satisfaction and just to let you know we have mown the lawns today (we were beaten by the weather last week).
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing