We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We quite enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We also had the special offer for a night with evening meal and breakfast at The Gables, Falfield.
It was a gift and we decided to utilise it for our 47th wedding anniversary.
When we booked we were told that we could not book the offer on a Tuesday or Wednesday, the Tuesday being the date of our anniversary. After some "lengthy" discussion they decided to give in as there was nothing whatsoever on their paperwork we had received from them to say that we could not come to the hotel on a Tuesday. Looking at the availability a couple of days before we arrived, there appeared to be plenty of room.
When we arrived, we were greeted pleasantly enough at Reception and given a four poster room with a view of fields across the busy road which runs alongside the hotel. Unlike other reviewers, we could see no problem with either the exterior or the interior of the hotel. It was not pretending to be a 5 star establishment and we have stayed in plenty of those, but it looked OK to us! The room was very nice, the bed clean and comfortable with lovely pillows and we really could not criticise any part of the room, except that it was not double glazed and the road was noisy and my husband was disturbed by the noise of the lorries. There was free wifi in the room and the modern flat screen tv on the wall had quite a few channels.
We were sitting in our room in the afternoon when the recessed light over the bed suddenly flashed and the spring wire holding the bulb shot down on to the bed. What a good job we were not underneath it, it could have gone into an eye! I didn't dare put those lights on again as the bulb was no longer held in place, was hanging out of the socket and I thought that it might drop on us in the night. We forgot to tell them about this, regrettably.

We had booked the time of our table for our evening meal the day before and there seemed to be mainly business people staying and eating in the restaurant. The young girl serving us seemed unsure and very new.. We were asked several times by different staff members whether we wanted to pay any excess at the table or charge it to the room and we chose the former when first asked, but no-one else seemed to know our decision.
We were told that our choice of main, which was black bream, had been taken off the menu as it did not smell good. This was replaced by sea bass on a bed of leaves with citrus sauce. It was OK, but would have benefited from having some new potatoes to make it more interesting.
The starter and desserts we had were fine. We paid the balance we owed at the table as agreed, including coffee and wine, although the bill we were given failed to deduct the £21 each allowance from the deal we had, so we had to mention it again..
After a good full English breakfast the next morning (I think the sausages were vegetarian - as they were very dry - but we did not know as there was nothing to say they were), we went to Reception to book out. We were then asked to pay for the extras we'd had, but we hadn't had any other extras other than the previous evening and we had paid for those.costs the night before. It took three people to check the bills, and the computer (which kept crashing), before they agreed we did not owe anything! I think as we had said at the time of booking that it was our anniversary, that a note of this could have been made; a small gesture of some kind would have been much appreciated. It is little things like that which can make the difference between a good hotel and an excellent hotel.
Having said all this, we did have a pleasant stay, most of the staff and even the cleaners were polite and friendly, there was nothing that would mean we wouldn't return and we were given a voucher to stay again at the same price before November of this year, which we may use if possible. It was an ideal place to stay for visiting the local area and we hope that anyone reading this will not be put off from staying there.

Room Tip: We were given room 217, this was fine apart from the road noise and the light over the bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice and comprehensive view of your stay with us. We are obviously pleased that you were happy with the overall experience, however there are a number of areas you have highlighted where we can obviously improve. Please rest assured that we will use the feedback you have given us to ensure that we continue to move forward with our training and improve our standards and service going forward.
We all hope that you will return to use your voucher very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good experience other then receptionist on check in and check out. Couldn't care less attitude and everything too much trouble. Breakfast was cold and equipment was broken which didn't help but guy serving was pretty good under pressure. Room service was lovely. Food fab. Shame the reception let down the whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.
We are very sorry to note that a member of our Team let down your experience and rest assured we will all work together to raise our levels of performance.
If you are in the area again please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure that your stay is much more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there this weekend (fri - sun), we really enjoyed it. Great service from the beginning to the end. Food was excellent (all locally sourced) breakfast was very tasty. Rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The only issue was my double bed, it was two single bed mounted together this was also two single mattresses put together this made the bed very hard and a bit uncomfortable in the middle, would have been better if the mattress was a double but that's just me being fussy.

We found the trip to be very good for value.

I made great use of the free wi-fi in the rooms, it was great quality. Full bars and a decent speed, was able to stream my sky go on the laptop.

Thank you for a brilliant weekend, if we are back in the area we would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a lovely 5 star review, thank you. Excellent quality and customer service are so important to us and we were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share all your kind comments with the Team here at The Gables. Thank you for your recommendation and we all hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went with a party of colleagues to a Retro Disco Evening. We had a drink in the bar and the staff were very friendly, service good . We then went in for dinner. Unfortunately the food let the evening down. We felt it was a bit like school dinner. Main course was very salty and the roasted veg looked like they had been forgotten about . However the disco lifted our spirits and we had great fun and danced the night away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Isobel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us last week and your attendance at The Retro Evening. I am sorry to note that we did not achieve our usual high standard of food and we will certainly take on board your comments to help us improve in the future. I am pleased to note that the disco helped to finish your experience on a high and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My party of 5 arrived after 11 pm. on a Saturday evening. Check-in was very quick & smooth. Our rooms were clean & extremely comfortable. The buffet style breakfast was plentiful. The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady52Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and a big thank you for the excellent 5 star rating that you have given us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding a Berkeley Castle. The staff were very efficient and signed us in at 11.30am so we could get to the wedding at 12.30 moving our cases to our room for us when it was ready. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and there was a good choice of food. Unfortunately we had to look at a pile of linen/towels in the corridor whilst eating and shut the door to the supplies cupboard ourselves. Only down side to the room was the rather damp, musty smell in the bathroom and a lose connection on one of the lights. The view from the window would have benefited from some colourful planters rather than bare walls. I feel there was just a lack of attention to detail for the 103 we paid, 70 to 80 would have been more appropriate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sally065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to note that you mainly enjoyed your stay with us although we note that some aspects did not meet our usual high standards. Please rest assured that we will take this feedback on board so that we can improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Barney D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
460 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
398 reviews
14.8 mi away
Arnos Manor Hotel
Arnos Manor Hotel
#38 of 39 in Bristol
674 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing