We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted to visit a few attractions in the area and this hotel was central for them. A great experience all round. We had a good sized room with bath and shower, excellent food at dinner and breakfast on two days. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. Everything spotlessly clean and well decorated. The nearby motorway didn't intrude, even with the windows open, and the hotel would make a good overnight stop on a long motorway journey.
There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday but we were barely aware of it, even of the disco in the evening.
We didn't manage to do all we wanted to in the three days available so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We are all delighted that you were pleased with all the facilities and the food throughout your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    257
    106
    29
    18
See reviews for
99
339
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Room was spacious but nothing special. The location isn't great if you don't want to drive. The hotel is a bit isolated with the nearest pub a bit of a walk away on a busy road. We found we had to drive everywhere as the hotel facilities were quite limited. Staff didn't seem overly helpful but no real complaints. Breakfast was very nice and also we had an evening meal there which was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It was kind of you to take the time to provide your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner that you had whilst staying with us.Comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future. I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

good hotel with excellent service from staff. The Breakfast was outstanding along with the restaurant meals. The noise was disturbing whilst sitting outside enjoying a glass of wine. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank robearhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We share all feedback with the Team here at the hotel and they will be delighted at the prospect of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Close to main roads and not far from Slimbridge. I stayed in room at rear of hotel thankfully away from very busy main road at the front. Receptionist knowledgeable about local area. Breakfast as I expected for this type of hotel; the waiter was pleasant and courteous.
The bathroom was a disappointment, to say the least, well below the standard you would expect I mentioned this at the checkout and was there was a plan to refurbish the bathrooms. If I needed to stay there again I would ask for a quiet room with a "new" bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a refurbished bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjaneanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at The Gables. We all appreciate the kind and positive comments regarding the staff and your breakfast experience. We also take on board your comments regarding the bathroom and as you were informed our bathroom refurbishment programme is to commence in July. I do hope that you will find this reassuring and come to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We also had the special offer for a night with evening meal and breakfast at The Gables, Falfield.
It was a gift and we decided to utilise it for our 47th wedding anniversary.
When we booked we were told that we could not book the offer on a Tuesday or Wednesday, the Tuesday being the date of our anniversary. After some "lengthy" discussion they decided to give in as there was nothing whatsoever on their paperwork we had received from them to say that we could not come to the hotel on a Tuesday. Looking at the availability a couple of days before we arrived, there appeared to be plenty of room.
When we arrived, we were greeted pleasantly enough at Reception and given a four poster room with a view of fields across the busy road which runs alongside the hotel. Unlike other reviewers, we could see no problem with either the exterior or the interior of the hotel. It was not pretending to be a 5 star establishment and we have stayed in plenty of those, but it looked OK to us! The room was very nice, the bed clean and comfortable with lovely pillows and we really could not criticise any part of the room, except that it was not double glazed and the road was noisy and my husband was disturbed by the noise of the lorries. There was free wifi in the room and the modern flat screen tv on the wall had quite a few channels.
We were sitting in our room in the afternoon when the recessed light over the bed suddenly flashed and the spring wire holding the bulb shot down on to the bed. What a good job we were not underneath it, it could have gone into an eye! I didn't dare put those lights on again as the bulb was no longer held in place, was hanging out of the socket and I thought that it might drop on us in the night. We forgot to tell them about this, regrettably.

We had booked the time of our table for our evening meal the day before and there seemed to be mainly business people staying and eating in the restaurant. The young girl serving us seemed unsure and very new.. We were asked several times by different staff members whether we wanted to pay any excess at the table or charge it to the room and we chose the former when first asked, but no-one else seemed to know our decision.
We were told that our choice of main, which was black bream, had been taken off the menu as it did not smell good. This was replaced by sea bass on a bed of leaves with citrus sauce. It was OK, but would have benefited from having some new potatoes to make it more interesting.
The starter and desserts we had were fine. We paid the balance we owed at the table as agreed, including coffee and wine, although the bill we were given failed to deduct the £21 each allowance from the deal we had, so we had to mention it again..
After a good full English breakfast the next morning (I think the sausages were vegetarian - as they were very dry - but we did not know as there was nothing to say they were), we went to Reception to book out. We were then asked to pay for the extras we'd had, but we hadn't had any other extras other than the previous evening and we had paid for those.costs the night before. It took three people to check the bills, and the computer (which kept crashing), before they agreed we did not owe anything! I think as we had said at the time of booking that it was our anniversary, that a note of this could have been made; a small gesture of some kind would have been much appreciated. It is little things like that which can make the difference between a good hotel and an excellent hotel.
Having said all this, we did have a pleasant stay, most of the staff and even the cleaners were polite and friendly, there was nothing that would mean we wouldn't return and we were given a voucher to stay again at the same price before November of this year, which we may use if possible. It was an ideal place to stay for visiting the local area and we hope that anyone reading this will not be put off from staying there.

Room Tip: We were given room 217, this was fine apart from the road noise and the light over the bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice and comprehensive view of your stay with us. We are obviously pleased that you were happy with the overall experience, however there are a number of areas you have highlighted where we can obviously improve. Please rest assured that we will use the feedback you have given us to ensure that we continue to move forward with our training and improve our standards and service going forward.
We all hope that you will return to use your voucher very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sennen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good experience other then receptionist on check in and check out. Couldn't care less attitude and everything too much trouble. Breakfast was cold and equipment was broken which didn't help but guy serving was pretty good under pressure. Room service was lovely. Food fab. Shame the reception let down the whole trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.
We are very sorry to note that a member of our Team let down your experience and rest assured we will all work together to raise our levels of performance.
If you are in the area again please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure that your stay is much more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed there this weekend (fri - sun), we really enjoyed it. Great service from the beginning to the end. Food was excellent (all locally sourced) breakfast was very tasty. Rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The only issue was my double bed, it was two single bed mounted together this was also two single mattresses put together this made the bed very hard and a bit uncomfortable in the middle, would have been better if the mattress was a double but that's just me being fussy.

We found the trip to be very good for value.

I made great use of the free wi-fi in the rooms, it was great quality. Full bars and a decent speed, was able to stream my sky go on the laptop.

Thank you for a brilliant weekend, if we are back in the area we would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I, Manager at Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a lovely 5 star review, thank you. Excellent quality and customer service are so important to us and we were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share all your kind comments with the Team here at The Gables. Thank you for your recommendation and we all hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
424 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
149 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel

Property: Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Gables Hotel is situated in rural South Gloucestershire, just half a mile off junction 14 of the M5 and within easy reach of a host of attractions including Bristol, the Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust and Berkeley Castle. There are 46 well equipped comfortable bedrooms and a spacious Brasserie and Bar where you can enjoy a drink, snack, afternoon tea or meal at any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel Falfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing